LibGuides: Business / Economics: Articles & Databases

Find Journals by Title

Know the title of the journal you are looking for? Use the Journals A-Z search to see if the University Libraries has a copy.

A-Z List of Journals
Find journals by title

Find Articles by Searching Databases

A database is an organized collection of information, data, or citations stored in electronic format. You can use the databases below to search for business and economics resources (newspaper, journal, magazine articles). Hover over the database title to see a description of what each database offers. Since each database includes a different set of journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources, searching more than one database can help you to find additional information. If you need more help, Ask A Librarian.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Good for: Analyzing business trends and company information.
Contains: Articles and reports on advertising, marketing, economics, and more.
Dates covered: 1923-present.
Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
Good for: Researching accounting, tax, and banking information.
Contains: Business journals and official releases.
Article First
Good for: Conducting academic research.
Contains: Citations for journal articles and books.
Book Review Digest Plus
Good for: Finding out where reviews of a book were published.
Contains: Book abstracts and excerpts and citations of book reviews.
Dates covered: 1983-present.

Provides citations and excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. To be indexed in Book Review Digest, a book must have been published or distributed in the United States or Canada. A work of nonfiction must have received reviews in two or more of the periodicals on the Book Review Digest selection list. A work of fiction must have received reviews in at least three of the periodicals. Reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences are excluded.
Cabell's Publishing Directories
Good for: Identifying reputable journals for publishing research in business, education, health, mathematics, nursing, and science.
Contains: Information about journal publishing opportunities.
Chicago Tribune
Good for: Researching news and events in Chicago.
Contains: Full text of the Chicago Tribune.
Dates covered: 1985-present.
Credo General Reference
Good for: Background information to start your research.
Contains: Dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, thesauri, and bilingual dictionaries.

CRSP
The CRSP Database provides access to NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq daily and monthly securities prices, as well as to other historical data related to over 20,000 companies. The data is produced, and updated quarterly, by the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), a financial research center at the Graduate School of Business at The University of Chicago. CRSP is available through Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)

Dissertations and Theses
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Good for: Finding open access journals.
Contains: Over 8500 scientific and scholarly open access journals.
Ebook Central
Good for: Academic books in all subject areas.
Contains: eBooks, reports, and other resources

A free account is required to download books for offline reading or to save highlighted passages and personal notes.
EconLit
Good for: Researching economics.
Contains: Citations and some linked articles, books, working papers, and more.
Dates covered: 1969-present.

Update frequency: Updated monthly
Journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings covering business and public finance; regional and urban economics; economic history, development, and forecasting; and monetary and fiscal theory. Produced by the American Economic Association.
Emerald Library
Good for: Accessing social science and science information.
Contains: Scholarly journals, books, and case studies.

Subjects covered are management, marketing, human resources, production & economics, operations, library & information services, information management, training & education, and engineering.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Good for: Searching newspapers from ethnic, minority, and native communities in the United States.
Contains: Newspaper articles, editorials, and reviews.
Dates covered: 1959-present.
Factiva
Good for: Accessing international news and business information.
Contains: News and business information from major international sources.
Dates covered: 1950s-present.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
Good for: Gaining practical insights into information technology practices and problems.
Contains: Practical overviews.
Historical Annual Reports
Good for: Analyzing historical corporate performance.
Contains: Corporate annual reports.
Dates covered: 1884-2008.

Annual reports for 800 U.S. companies dating from 1884 to 2008 provide information on companies including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Good for: Finding scholarly and trade articles about hotel management, food service, travel, tourism, event management, gaming, and more.
Contains: Scholarly and trade journal articles.
Dates covered: 1960-present.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
IBISWorld Industry Reports
Good for: Accessing industry market research, company reports, and economic reports.
Contains: Industry market research, company reports, and economic reports.
JSTOR
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more. Also includes ARTSTOR collections from museums and collections of historical primary sources from libraries and cultural heritage organizations.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank)
Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Contains: Article text (no images).
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Learning Express Library
Good for: Preparing for standardized tests (e.g. GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, CBEST, Praxis, TOEFL).
Contains: Practice tests and study guides.

Create an account to track progress and bookmark materials.
Los Angeles Times, 1996 - current
Good for: Finding news articles from the Los Angeles Times.
Contains: Articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Market Research.com
Good for: Market profile studies covering industries including consumer goods, food and beverages, demographics, healthcare, technology, media, manufacturing, and many others.
Contains: Market research reports.

MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to a library of 200+ page market profile studies from Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information (SBI) covering industries including consumer goods, food and beverages, demographics, healthcare, technology, media, manufacturing, and many others. Reports include extensive background information, forecasts and analyses on the topic, statistics, charts, graphs and tables. Reports are added to the service within 12 months after they are released to commercial clients.
Mintel Market Research Database
Good for: Accessing international reports on consumer products and industries.
Contains: Market research reports.

Mintel offers hundreds of market research reports covering the U.S. and International consumer marketplaces. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. The database covers cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. All users who register and create a profile must use their university email address.
Simmons Insights
This database name has changed. Please see MRI | Simmons Insights
NBER Working Papers
Good for: Accessing early research findings from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
Contains: Research papers.
Dates covered: 1994-present.
D&B Hoovers
Good for: Researching global company information.
Contains: Current public and private company information, SWOT analyses, market report, company news, financial information, and executive profiles.

Select International Businesses from the drop-down menu or on the column on the left to begin a search.
PAIS International
Good for: Finding information on public policy, social policy, and the social sciences.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1972-present.

From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories. Use it to locate journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content.
Papers First
Good for: Finding citations to papers from conferences and meetings.
Contains: Citations.
Dates covered: 1933-present.
Proceedings First
Good for: Proceedings from conferences and meetings.
Contains: Citations to records for worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, and expositions.
Dates covered: 1993-present.
U.S. Newsstream Collection
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
Scopus
Good for: Researching peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1960-present.

Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Good for: Researching sports, physical education, and sports medicine.
Contains: Journal articles and more.
Dates covered: 1975-present.

An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics.
UNLV Libraries - Gateway to Government Information
Good for: Finding government publications.
Contains: Information on how to find government resources.

Government information resources include Congressional laws and hearings, nutrition, crime, diseases, endangered species, immigration, and much more.
UNLV Libraries Current Journal Holdings
Good for: Discovering and locating journals at UNLV Libraries.
Contains: Availability of online and print journal holdings.
WorldCat
Good for: Searching library holdings worldwide.
Contains: Catalog of library holdings.
Dates covered: 11th century-present.
WRDS
Good for: Accessing financial and economic data.
Contains: CRSP, ISSM, Global Insight (Basic Economics) data, and more. Users must request an account.

Limited to UNLV affiliated users. Users must request an account. Register at this link https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/register/
The Wharton Research Data Service provides World Wide Web access to CRSP, ISSM and Global Insight (Basic Economics).
World Development Indicators Online
Good for: Accessing data on development indicators for countries worldwide.
Contains: Data for over 550 development indicators and time series.
Dates covered: 1960-present.
Value Line Research Center
Good for: Researching stocks, special situation stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertible securities.
Contains: Investment publications.

Publications include The Value Line Investment Survey, The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey, The Value Line Daily Options Survey, The Value Line Special situations Service, The Value Line Convertibles Survey, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs).

Business / Economics

Find Journals by Title

Find Articles by Searching Databases

Locations

Contact