LibGuides: History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic: Latinx history and culture

Latinx history databases

Access U.S. News: Ethnic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2005-
Newspapers serving religious, ethnic and cultural groups in the US.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1400-1950s
Primary sources for American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books from pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
American Indians and the American West This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1809-1971
Primary source collections from the US National Archives and other sources, including 20th century Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
See research guide describing full contents.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-present
Publications documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States - history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-present
Primary source documents, archival collections, films, and ephemera describing events and lives of displaced people, refugees, undocumented and unauthorized migrants and victims of human trafficking at significant border areas from the 19th to 21st centuries.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1650-1920
Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries and government records from Europeans creating colonies in North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1808-1980
Newspapers published by Hispanic-American communities primarily in Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas and New York.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-
Indexes academic journals with content about Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Update frequency: monthly
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is the source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1960
Primary sources related to Hispanic-American writers and activists in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1872-
Novels, short stories and poems, and plays written by Americans of Spanish or Latin American heritage.
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It currently contains over 106,000 pages of poetry.
Territorial Papers of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1764-1953
Archival records of each territory of the United States before statehood. Includes Native American negotiations and treaties, correspondence with federal agencies, military records, judicial proceedings, population details, financial statistics, land records, and more.
Official documents include correspondence between territorial officials and federal agencies, details of tribal treaties, accounts of battles and troop movements, petitions for statehood, and records of agricultural and industrial production. Collections also contain firsthand accounts of frontier life via letters and financial documents.

Latinx Heritage-Related Resources in Special Collections and Archives

Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada and other collections in Special Collections and Archives

Latin American migrants in the Las Vegas Valley : civic engagement and political participation / John P. Tuman
Call Number: F850.S75 T86 2009 (Special Collections, 3rd floor, Lied Library)
A history of Hispanics in southern Nevada / M.L. Miranda
Call Number: F850.S75 M57 1997 (Special Collections, 3rd floor, Lied Library)
Hispanic profiles in Nevada history: 1829-1991 / by Thomas Rodriquez and M. L. (Tony) Miranda
Call Number: E184.S75 H57 1991 (Special Collections, 3rd floor, Lied Library)
The Forgotten Contributions of Mexican labor in the Construction of Nevada's Railroads and the Harvesting of its Crops / by M.L. (Tony) Miranda
Call Number: F850.M5 M57 1992 (Special Collections, 3rd Floor, Lied Library)

Online Collections

Onda Latina
The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
From University of Arizona Libraries, digitized historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Calisphere
includes Latino/a Cultural Heritage Digital Archives, 50+ other collections of online primary sources on a variety of topics
Latino Cultural Heritage Digital Archives
Archival collections about 20th century and present-day Latino communities
Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier
a bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries.

History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic

Latinx history databases

Latinx Heritage-Related Resources in Special Collections and Archives

Online Collections

Locations

Contact