Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.
Good for: Finding newspaper reports about life, culture and historical events published in England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Wales, and Scotland.
Contains: National and regional newspapers representing multiple political and cultural views.
Dates covered: 1732-1950.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Ireland.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1859-2022.
Good for: Finding articles from The Times (London).
Contains: The Times newspaper.
Dates covered: 1785-2019.
Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.
Good for: Searching articles in magazines about British culture and society.
Contains: Popular British periodicals, mostly from the 19th century.
Dates covered: 1681-1920.
Good for: Reading articles with perspective on historical events and trends from The Economist magazine.
Contains: Issues of The Economist.
Dates covered: 1843-2015.
Good for: Reading essays, letters, poems, and articles from the London Times Literary Supplement.
Contains: Essays, letters, poems, and articles.
Dates covered: 1902-2013.
Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.
Good for: Studying the history of South Africa's apartheid regime.
Contains: British government files.
Dates covered: 1948-1980.
Good for: Researching LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
Contains: Primary sources.
Dates covered: 1940-present.
Good for: Studying the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia, and Afghanistan.
Contains: Correspondence, intelligence reports, diaries, minutes, maps, newspaper excerpts, and other primary sources from British Foreign Office Files.
Dates covered: 1834-1922.
Good for: Researching international affairs from a British perspective.
Contains: Commentary, speeches, and analysis from a nonprofit NGO.
Dates covered: 1920-2008.
Good for: Studying China's relations with the West in the 19th and early 20th century.
Contains: Academic and literary journals and missionary periodicals in English about China.
Dates covered: 1817-1949.
Good for: Researching China and its relations with the West during the late Qing and Republican periods.
Contains: Official correspondence, dispatches, reports, memoranda, and records of the Maritime Customs Service of China.
Dates covered: 1858-1949.
Good for: Exploring Chinese life and culture over the past 300 years.
Contains: Primary source documents like printed books, pamphlets, paintings, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers, and periodicals.
Dates covered: 1750-1980.
Good for: Researching the life and career of Winston Churchill, British Prime Minister during and after World War II.
Contains: Primary sources including personal papers and official records.
Dates covered: 1690-1965 (mainly 1940-1955).
Good for: Understanding the perspective of Anglican missionary administrators and workers on cultural encounters around the world.
Contains: Newspapers, journals, and reports.
Dates covered: 1804-2009.
Good for: Evidence of changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
Contains: Primary sources like correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents.
Dates covered: 1500s-1920.
Good for: Researching British trade and colonial rule in the Indian subcontinent.
Contains: British government records from the India Office.
Dates covered: 1599-1947.
Good for: Exploring colonial history, politics, culture and society from British and European perspectives.
Contains: Primary sources from archival collections.
Dates covered: 1492-1969.
Good for: Studying American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Contains: Primary sources like periodicals, pamphlets and books.
Dates covered: 1800-1920.
Good for: Studying personal experiences, propaganda, visual perspectives, and narratives of the First World War.
Contains: Archival collections, films, and oral histories.
Dates covered: 1900-1950.
Good for: Exploring the evolution of food and drink.
Contains: Cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and other primary sources.
Dates covered: 9th century-2015.
Good for: Primary sources documenting British Foreign Office involvement in Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, and the Philippines.
Contains: Correspondence, reports, maps, and other primary source evidence.
Dates covered: 1963-1980.
Good for: Studying European colonization in North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Contains: Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries, and government records.
Dates covered: 1650-1920.
Good for: Studying the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, like women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, family and the body.
Contains: Primary sources like personal papers, diaries, and organizational records.
Dates covered: 1800-present.
Good for: Examining primary sources that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Contains: Archival collections.
Dates covered: 1500-present.
Good for: Studying the history of South Asia between the initial involvement of the East India Company and Indian and Pakistani independence.
Contains: Primary sources from colonial government and archival collections.
Dates covered: 1615-1947.
Good for: Studying the history of tourism.
Contains: Archival material from Thomas Cook travel agency.
Dates covered: 1850-1980.
Good for: Documents revealing the history of the book trade and printing/publishing community.
Contains: Primary sources from the Stationers Company in London.
Dates covered: 1554-2007.
Good for: Studying 19th-century London street culture.
Contains: Primary sources like ballads, slang dictionaries, brothel guides, and posters.
Dates covered: 1800-1910.
Good for: Learning about the everyday lives of ordinary British people who participated in social science research.
Contains: Personal diaries, surveys, questionnaires, photos, and printed research analysis.
Dates covered: 1937-1960.
Good for: Studying historical medical advances during warfare.
Contains: Primary sources.
Dates covered: 1850s-1930s.
Good for: Studying migration from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe, and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
Contains: Personal accounts, correspondence, maps, plans, and photos.
Dates covered: 1800-1924.
Good for: Studying fringe political movements.
Contains: Campaign materials, periodicals, propaganda, government records, oral histories, and ephemera.
Dates covered: 1900-2000.
Good for: Studying popular culture in the US and Britain through music and alternative publications.
Contains: Primary sources.
Dates covered: 1950-1975.
Good for: Documenting social conditions in Victorian England.
Contains: Archival records from philanthropic organizations and the British government.
Dates covered: 1834-1930.
Good for: Studying signals intelligence reports and government policy and strategy from the British government.
Contains: Documents from The National Archives, U.K.
Dates covered: 1873-1953.
Good for: Exploring the story of World War II through newspapers for members of the armed forces.
Contains: Newspapers.
Dates covered: 1939-1948.
Good for: Exploring changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities, and sexual behaviors.
Contains: Archival research collections.
Dates covered: 1800s-2010s.
Good for: Viewing documentaries, newsreels, and feature films from a socialist perspective.
Contains: Films by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers.
Dates covered: 1918-1990.
Good for: Exploring travel writing and its history.
Contains: Manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, drawings, guidebooks, and photographs.
Dates covered: 1818-1974.
Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe.
Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys.
Dates covered: 1779-1930.
Good for: Documents recording the experiences of colonized women.
Contains: Primary sources.
Dates covered: 1820-present.
Good for: Primary sources about woman suffrage and women’s roles in Britain and its territories.
Contains: Archival collection, finding aid for women’s studies in the National Archives U.K.
Dates covered: 1903-1962.
Good for: Primary sources collected from world's fairs, exhibitions, and expos.
Contains: Official records, monographs, publicity, artwork, and artifacts.
Dates covered: 1851-2000s.
Good for: Investigating the lives of lesser-known UK women.
Contains: Diaries and oral histories.
Dates covered: 1600-1968.
Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.
Good for: Reading primary sources that document the evolution of feminist consciousness and the women's rights movement.
Contains: Books and periodicals.
Dates covered: 1543-1945.
Good for: Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1929) book owned and scanned by a library.
Contains: Digitized books.
Good for: Researching historical legal materials.
Contains: Treatises, primary sources, trials, and foreign, comparative, and international law.
Dates covered: 1600-1926.
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926.
Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.
Great Britain
Good for: Understanding Britain's role in political, social, economic, and foreign policy arenas through records of Parliament.
Contains: Bills, reports, correspondence, and command papers.
Dates covered: 1801-2000.
Good for: Searching a large collection of British government and agency records.
Contains: Government and agency records.
Dates covered: 1833-1981.
Good for: Primary sources documenting European colonization of the African continent from the British government’s perspective.
Contains: Government records from the British Colonial Office and Foreign Office.
Dates covered: 1834-1966.
Good for: Primary sources recording the British perspective on Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.
Contains: Government and agency records.
Dates covered: 1833-1969.
Good for: Primary sources about British involvement in the Levant, the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.
Contains: Government and agency records.
Dates covered: 1839-1969.
Good for: Primary sources generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices about events in the United States, Canada, and the English-speaking Caribbean.
Contains: Government and agency records.
Dates covered: 1824-1961.
Good for: Primary sources documenting British relations with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.
Contains: British Foreign Office files.
Dates covered: 1919-1980.
Good for: Primary sources documenting the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan from the viewpoint of British officials.
Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office and Dominions Office.
Dates covered: 1947-1980.
Good for: Primary sources documenting Japanese imperialism, the War in the Pacific, the Occupation of Japan, and Japan's rise to great power status from the perspective of British diplomats.
Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office.
Dates covered: 1919-1952.
Good for: Understanding the events in the Middle East during the 1970s, such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution.
Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office.
Dates covered: 1971-1981.
Good for: Records of British Prime Minister Harold Macmillan’s government and selected policy committees.
Contains: Archival collection.
Dates covered: 1957-1963.
Good for: Researching historical legal materials.
Contains: Treatises, primary sources, trials, and foreign, comparative, and international law.
Dates covered: 1600-1926.
Good for: Studying Arab-Israeli relations through documents from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers.
Contains: Primary source documents.
Dates covered: 1917-1970.
Good for: Researching the Nixon presidency and impeachment from the perspective of the British Foreign Office.
Contains: Archival collection of British government records.
Dates covered: 1969-1974.
Good for: Examining records of humanitarian aid for displaced persons and refugees after World War II.
Contains: Records from the National Archives of the UK.
Dates covered: 1945-1950.
Good for: Studying significant British historical documents.
Contains: Primary sources like treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, plus editorial commentary.
Dates covered: 476-1914.
Good for: Studying signals intelligence reports and government policy and strategy from the British government.
Contains: Documents from The National Archives, U.K.
Dates covered: 1873-1953.
Digitized photos and art images.
Good for: Texts on the invention and early history of photography, collections of photographs, photograph albums, and early books illustrated with photos.
Contains: Books, photographs.
Dates covered: 1800s-early 1900s.
Good for: Finding and using digital images for research and teaching.
Contains: Art digital images and related data.
Good for: Finding images held by the Library of Congress.
Contains: Images.
These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.
Good for: Searching across all primary source collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Contains: Archival collections.
Good for: Searching all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously.
Contains: Newspapers.
Dates covered: 1841-2014.
Good for: Searching historical periodicals.
Contains: Magazine and journal articles.
Dates covered: 1740-1940 with some more recent.
Good for: Searching across historical newspapers and books for primary sources about American life and culture.
Contains: American historical newspapers, printed books, pamphlets, and ephemera.
Dates covered: 1639-1922.
