LibGuides: History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic: The Americas, 1801-1900

Free newspaper archives

All states:

Google News Archive
Independent Voices
Alternative press newspapers focusing on the 1960’s – 1980s.

Western states:

The Americas, Primary Source Collections, 1801-1900

The full text of letters and diary entries, often from works that have been previously published as books containing collections of letters or diaries. Use the Browse indexes to find works about specific historical or life events.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1860-1865
Published memoirs, letters and diaries written about and during the Civil War.
North American Immigrant Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1840-
Personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories about immigrating to the U.S. or Canada.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1770-1950
Diaries, journals, and letters written by famous and not-so-famous North American women.
War Department and Indian Affairs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1824
Handwritten correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, and others.

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1827-1902
African-American newspapers including The Colored American, all of Frederick Douglass’ newspapers, The Freedmen’s Record, and more.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1923
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1828-2016
Includes national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.
American Underworld: The Flash Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1828-1876
Newspapers with sensational coverage of crime, scandal, brothels, gambling and blackmail in New York and eastern U.S. cities. Includes reviews of bawdy theatrical performances and reports on sporting events such as cock-fighting, boxing and horse racing.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1789-1924
Historical newspapers from the Library of Congress, including Nevada newspapers.
Civil War 1860-1865: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1860-1865
Newspaper reports of major events of the Civil War covered by both Union and Confederate sources.

Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama (1861-1865)
- This link opens in a new window

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1808-1980
Newspapers published by Hispanic-American communities primarily in Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas and New York.
Historical Black Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1893-2010
African American newspapers from Atlanta, Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Los Angeles, New York, Norfolk VA., Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender, 1909-2010 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1909-2010
African American newspaper from Chicago, Illinois.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1849-2014
Major daily newspaper from Chicago.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1881-2015
Historical California newspaper.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2020
Historical New York newspaper.
Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune, 1841-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1841-1922
Full text of New York Tribune, 1841-1922.
Historical Newspapers: Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1877-2007
Daily newspaper from Washington, DC.
Historical Newspapers: West Regional Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers including Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009); also includes selected 20th century newspapers from St. George, UT, and Tulare County and Salinas, CA.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
American newspapers including the New York Herald, Lynchburg Virginian, The Hawaiian Gazette, Rocky Mountain News, Southern Illustrated News (VA), Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago), the Milwaukee Sentinel, and many more.
San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1865-1984, 1985-current
Full page images of the daily San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper, through 1984. Text of articles only after 1985.
Women's Suffrage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1849-1913
Newspaper collections deliver an in-depth look at the eighty-year struggle by women to secure the right to vote.
The Lily. 1849-1856
National Citizen and Ballot Box. 1878-1881
The Revolution. 1868-1872
The New Citizen. 1909-1912
The Western Woman Voter. 1911-1913
The Remonstrance. 1890-1913

Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.

African American Historical Serials Collection, 1816-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1816-1922
Newspapers and magazines published by African American churches, educational and service institutions.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society, Part I-V (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1684-1912
Popular magazines, newspapers, and journals published in the United States.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1880-2015
Music, film, broadcasting and theater industry trade publications published before 2015 including Variety, Billboard, Spin, The Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, American Film, Picturegoer and more.
Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1830-1880
American magazine with firsthand information on social, historical and cultural aspects of the 19th century.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1867-
Harper's Bazaar magazine shows changes in American fashion, culture and society.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Researching fashion and culture, including specific garments, accessories or brands.
- Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.
- Dates covered: 1892-present.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1887-2005
North American women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1910-
Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily (WWD), the leading fashion-industry trade paper.

Nineteenth Century Periodicals list
List of freely available 19th C periodicals compiled by Elizabeth Clarke at Marist College.

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

African American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1941
Primary source documents from the National Archives about the lives of African Americans in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1860s-1980s
Primary sources documenting African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all American history archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Combined search of American History, American Indian Histories and Cultures, American West, Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, and Virginia Company Archives.
American Consumer Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850-1990s
Search three archival collections representing 20th century advertising and marketing from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Combined search of Market Research & American Business, 1935-1965, Trade Catalogues and the American Home, J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America
American History (Gilder Lehrman collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1945
Primary sources from the Gilder Lehrman collection about American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1400-1950s
Primary sources for American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books from pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
American Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1820-1922
Pamphlets with advice and opinions about all kinds of 19th century controversies.
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
American West This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1830-1939
Pamphlets, maps, books, ephemeral material and rare printed sources related to the history of the American West.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship and historical sources for Black Studies.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1840-2006
Non-fiction writing, interviews, correspondence and oral histories by leading figures in African American life and culture. Includes the complete run of the Black Panther newspaper and a wide selection of abolitionists' writings from the nineteenth century.
Children's Literature and Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1790s-1930s
Rare books, games, ephemera, and artwork from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries that reveals the socio-cultural history of the United States.
Materials from the Children’s Literature and Graphic Arts collections held by the American Antiquarian Society and the Winterthur Museum, Garden and Library.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1606-1822
British government documents from the CO 5 series about administering the American colonies.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Confidential Print: North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1824-1961
Government and agency records from the British National Archives concerning the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America.
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1920
Primary sources selected to illustrate changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
Everyday Life and Women in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1920
Primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
9th century-2015
Cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and other primary sources revealing the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1650-1920
Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries and government records from Europeans creating colonies in North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Gateway to North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1801-1900
Community histories, atlases, and other primary sources documenting people, places, and organizations of 19th century New York.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-present
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, like women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, family and the body.
The Gilded Age and Progressive Era This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1870-1920
Archived papers of key industrial corporations, charities, influential families, and cultural institutions, including political cartoons, photographs, and ephemera.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-present
Primary source materials that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1884-
Corporate annual reports from 1884 to 2008.
Update frequency: annual
A rich source for scholars in business, economics, and history, this collection of annual reports for 800 U.S. companies dating from 1884 to 2008 provides information on companies, including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1880s-1990s
The J. Walter Thompson Company advertising agency archives include brand case studies and account files about campaigns for Kellogg’s, Kodak, Kraft, Oscar Mayer, Pan Am, the US Marine Corps, and more.
Part of the American Consumer Culture combined search portal.
Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1654-1954
Organizational and personal archival collections including rare printed books and pamphlets from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1960
Primary sources related to Hispanic-American writers and activists in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850-1980
Archival material from the travel agency Thomas Cook, a pioneer of package tourism. Includes periodicals such as the Excursionist magazine, personal accounts from travelers on early Cook’s tours, photographs, advertising brochures, guidebooks, posters and ephemeral items.
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850s-1930s
Primary sources from Crimean War, the American Civil War and the First World War tell the story of medical advances during warfare, including the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918 and the discovery of penicillin in 1927.
Meiji Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850s-1930s
Publications, papers, journals and diaries of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), a polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history – but, perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together.
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1924
Primary sources like personal accounts, correspondence, maps, plans and photos documenting the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1940
Treaties and correspondence between the US government and American Indian tribes; also photos, census rolls, Dawes packets and enrollment cards.
Popular Medicine in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
Advertising pamphlets, trade cards, posters and promotional work by commercial manufacturers of medical aids revealing trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine and hydrotherapy.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1490-2007
Case studies documenting slavery in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba, along with material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

The Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company
- This link opens in a new window
The Scopes Case
- This link opens in a new window

Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850-1950
Primary sources like catalogs, price lists, and brochures reflecting the history of consumer advertising and marketing and life and leisure in America. Includes department store catalogs, cosmetic advertisements, real estate brochures and much more.
Part of the American Consumer Culture combined search portal.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1818-1974
Travel writing in manuscripts, diaries and correspondence as well as drawings, guidebooks and photographs.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe.
- Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys.
- Dates covered: 1779-1930.

War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas
- This link opens in a new window

Women's Suffrage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1849-1913
Newspaper collections deliver an in-depth look at the eighty-year struggle by women to secure the right to vote.
The Lily. 1849-1856
National Citizen and Ballot Box. 1878-1881
The Revolution. 1868-1872
The New Citizen. 1909-1912
The Western Woman Voter. 1911-1913
The Remonstrance. 1890-1913
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1820-present
Primary sources highlighting the voices of colonized women, including in China, Japan, the Philippines, Europe, the Eastern Mediterranean and Balkans, and South Africa. Includes Native American women, also American women in Guatemala and China.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-2000
Books, images, historical documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies which document reform activities by and affecting women.
Women in the National Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1903-1962
Original documents from the National Archives on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories.
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
World’s Fairs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1851-2000s
Official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts about world’s fairs, exhibitions and expos.

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1749-1900
Printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems and other printed items never intended to last.
American Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1820-1922
Pamphlets with advice and opinions about all kinds of 19th century controversies.
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1801-1819
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America between 1801 and 1819.
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1543-1945
Books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1924) book owned and scanned by a library. UNLV users can login with their ACE accounts and download entire "full view" books/documents.
Making of Modern Law (MOML) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
Cross-search five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926

City and Business Directories: Alabama, 1837-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: Arkansas, 1871-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: Florida, 1882-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: Louisiana, 1805-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: Maryland, 1752-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: Mississippi, 1860-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: North Carolina, 1886-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: Tennessee, 1849-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: Virginia, 1801-1929
- This link opens in a new window
City and Business Directories: West Virginia, 1839-1929
- This link opens in a new window
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: California
- This link opens in a new window
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Illinois
- This link opens in a new window
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania
- This link opens in a new window
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Wisconsin
- This link opens in a new window

Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.

United States

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.
Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions 1789-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-present
Contains searchable full text of all U.S. bills and resolutions from 1789 to the present.
Individual bills may be directly accessed or searched via a composite bill profile page that links out to its various versions.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online law journals and full text federal legal materials.
HeinOnline is an image-based, fully searchable database made up primarily of law journals. Newer content is not added until the end of a volume year so the most recent issues are likely a year old. Coverage varies by title, but most sources go back to volume one. In addition to journals, it also contains treaties, the federal register, some classic treatises and some federal legislative materials. Subscription to HeinOnline is sponsored by the Wiener-Rogers Law Library.
Military & Government This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1751-present
Government reports, laws, legislative histories, ebooks and selected scholarly articles related to branches of the United States armed forces.
Research government administration of the armed forces along with issues confronting the military on and off the battlefield with access to primary source documents including committee prints, government reports, congressional hearings, legislative hearings, etc. The database also includes books, serials, periodicals and scholarly articles.
Confidential Print: North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1824-1961
Government and agency records from the British National Archives concerning the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America.
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.

Serial Set Links: U.S. Congressional Documents

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1775-2000
Tables of data related to population, work and welfare, and international relations.
A source for quantitative indicators of American history, this database of almost 2000 tables covers nearly every quantifiable dimension in American history, including population, work and welfare, and international relations from the earliest times to the present. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.
Territorial Papers of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1764-1953
Archival records of each territory of the United States before statehood. Includes Native American negotiations and treaties, correspondence with federal agencies, military records, judicial proceedings, population details, financial statistics, land records, and more.
Official documents include correspondence between territorial officials and federal agencies, details of tribal treaties, accounts of battles and troop movements, petitions for statehood, and records of agricultural and industrial production. Collections also contain firsthand accounts of frontier life via letters and financial documents.

Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals
- This link opens in a new window
Civil War in Words and Deeds
- This link opens in a new window
Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884
- This link opens in a new window

Digitized photos and art images.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Photography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Texts on the invention and early history of photography, collections of photographs, photograph albums, and early books illustrated with photos.
- Contains: Books, photographs
- Dates covered: 1800s-early 1900s
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art digital images and related data.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Images held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress. About 90% of the records are accompanied by one or more digital images. In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those searching outside the Library of Congress because of potential rights considerations.

Life Photo Archive
Millions of news and editorial photographs and other images dating from 1750 to the present. Includes many iconic images, but most were never published.
NYPL Digital Photo Collections
Includes several fashion design collections as well as many historical photos from the NY Public Library.
Smithsonian Photography Initiative
Online database of photographs dating from the 1850s to the present. Subjects cover the arts and literature, culture and society, nature and science, industry and technology, history and geography. Includes both professional photos and amateur snapshots.
UNLV digital photo collections
Search collection of photos of Nevadans and more held in UNLV Libraries Special Collections and Archives.

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

Accessible Archives combined search
- This link opens in a new window
Cross search 19thC American periodicals, newspapers, pamphlets, and clippings.
more...less...
Collections include African American Newspapers, The Civil War A Newspaper Perspective, Godey's Lady's Book, South Carolina Newspapers (colonial), and antislavery and woman suffrage publications.
EBSCO 19th C periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Cross search American Antiquarian Society periodicals with African American Serials, Gateway to North America collections.

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), China and the Modern World, London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement.
Historical U.S. Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1841-2000 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2000)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. West, including Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009)
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1922
Combined search of American historical newspapers (1690-1922), printed books (1639-1819), and pamphlets and ephemera (1749-1922).
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).

History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic

Free newspaper archives

The Americas, Primary Source Collections, 1801-1900

Locations

Contact