LibGuides: History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic: 1650-1800

Primary Source Collections, 1650-1800

The full text of letters and diary entries, often from works that have been previously published as books containing collections of letters or diaries. Use the Browse indexes to find works about specific historical or life events.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-1900.
Searchable collection of women's letters and diaries.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1770-1950
Diaries, journals, and letters written by famous and not-so-famous North American women.
Women’s Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized diaries and oral histories of lesser-known women of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales providing narratives that reveal personal perspectives on race, gender, class, disability, sexuality, aging, and more.

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1923
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1732-1950
National and regional British newspapers representing different political and cultural views.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1789-1924
Historical newspapers from the Library of Congress, including Nevada newspapers.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1603-1800
Newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and newsbooks from the British Library.
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1672-1737
British newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets from the Bodleian Library.
South Carolina Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1732-1775, 1777-1780
The South Carolina Gazette published news and details of life and trade in America during the years prior to independence.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1785-2019
The Times (London) newspaper.

Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, part I: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
Magazines revealing British life in the Victorian age and the events, lifestyles, values, and ideas that shaped their world.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, part II: Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
Magazines by and for British imperial colonizers, settlers, missionaries, and travelers.
Gale Primary Sources
African American Historical Serials Collection, 1816-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1816-1922
Newspapers and magazines published by African American churches, educational and service institutions.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society, Part I-V (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1684-1912
Popular magazines, newspapers, and journals published in the United States.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.
British Periodicals Collection I and II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1681-1920
Popular British periodicals mostly from the 19th century.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1685-1835
Literary, satirical, political, religious and theatrical magazines and newspapers from Britain, Ireland, Scotland, India and the Caribbean.

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

African American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1941
Primary source documents from the National Archives about the lives of African Americans in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1420-1920
Primary sources like manuscripts, maps and illustrated documents, diaries and ship logs recording the experiences of Europeans as they explored trade routes, colonized the Americas and Australasia, and raced to the North and South Poles.
Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all American history archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Combined search of American History, American Indian Histories and Cultures, American West, Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, and Virginia Company Archives.
American History (Gilder Lehrman collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1945
Primary sources from the Gilder Lehrman collection about American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1400-1950s
Primary sources for American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books from pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
China Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-1980
Primary source documents like printed books, pamphlets, paintings, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals offer evidence of Chinese life and culture over the past 300 years
Combined search of: China, America and the Pacific, China: Culture and Society, and China: Trade, Politics and Culture.
Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1965 (mainly 1940-1955)
Primary source historical documents from the archives of Winston Churchill, British Prime Minister during and after World War II.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1606-1822
British government documents from the CO 5 series about administering the American colonies.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1624-1832
Colonial Office files from the National Archive U.K. about British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean from 1624-1872 trace the rise and decline of trade in enslaved peoples, from transportation through trade and shipping to the rise of the abolition movement.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1920
Primary sources selected to illustrate changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
Early Modern England This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-1700
Records, correspondence and manuscript collections support research into early modern governance, the networks of prominent families, the organization and dissemination of knowledge in health and medicine, humanities and the sciences, and material cultures.
Includes correspondence, diaries, essays, family papers, and church, legal, government and tax records.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1599-1947
British government records from the India Office chart the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1737-1824.
Archive of plays submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824, as well as diaries, playbills, theatre records and correspondence.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
9th century-2015
Cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and other primary sources revealing the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1650-1920
Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries and government records from Europeans creating colonies in North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-present
Primary source materials that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
The Grand Tour This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1550-1850
Firsthand travel accounts of British tourists visiting Europe.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1615-1947
Documents recording the history of South Asia between the initial involvement of the East India Company and Indian and Pakistani independence.
Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1654-1954
Organizational and personal archival collections including rare printed books and pamphlets from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1554-2007
Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1940
Treaties and correspondence between the US government and American Indian tribes; also photos, census rolls, Dawes packets and enrollment cards.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Politics and Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary sources about the development of urban centers and of the restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain.
- Contains: Government and archival collections
- Dates covered: 1750-1916
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1490-2007
Case studies documenting slavery in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba, along with material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe.
- Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys.
- Dates covered: 1779-1930.
Virginia Company Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Researching the Atlantic world and early Colonial period.
- Contains: Archival collection (Ferrar Papers).
- Dates covered: 1590-1790.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-2000
Books, images, historical documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies which document reform activities by and affecting women.

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

Sabin Americana: History of the Americas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1749-1900
Printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems and other printed items never intended to last.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1800
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America before 1800.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1801-1819
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America between 1801 and 1819.
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1475-1700
Books on all subjects published in England between 1475 and 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1701-1800
Books on all subjects published in English between 1701 and 1800.
Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1543-1945
Books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1924) book owned and scanned by a library. UNLV users can login with their ACE accounts and download entire "full view" books/documents.
Making of Modern Law (MOML) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
Cross-search five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.

Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.

United States

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.
Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions 1789-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-present
Contains searchable full text of all U.S. bills and resolutions from 1789 to the present.
Individual bills may be directly accessed or searched via a composite bill profile page that links out to its various versions.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online law journals and full text federal legal materials.
HeinOnline is an image-based, fully searchable database made up primarily of law journals. Newer content is not added until the end of a volume year so the most recent issues are likely a year old. Coverage varies by title, but most sources go back to volume one. In addition to journals, it also contains treaties, the federal register, some classic treatises and some federal legislative materials. Subscription to HeinOnline is sponsored by the Wiener-Rogers Law Library.
Military & Government This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1751-present
Government reports, laws, legislative histories, ebooks and selected scholarly articles related to branches of the United States armed forces.
Research government administration of the armed forces along with issues confronting the military on and off the battlefield with access to primary source documents including committee prints, government reports, congressional hearings, legislative hearings, etc. The database also includes books, serials, periodicals and scholarly articles.
Territorial Papers of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1764-1953
Archival records of each territory of the United States before statehood. Includes Native American negotiations and treaties, correspondence with federal agencies, military records, judicial proceedings, population details, financial statistics, land records, and more.
Official documents include correspondence between territorial officials and federal agencies, details of tribal treaties, accounts of battles and troop movements, petitions for statehood, and records of agricultural and industrial production. Collections also contain firsthand accounts of frontier life via letters and financial documents.

Great Britain

Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1606-1822
British government documents from the CO 5 series about administering the American colonies.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Routledge English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
476 -1914
Primary sources with editorial commentary representing significant British historical documents, like treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings and more.
Making of Modern Law (MOML) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
Cross-search five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.

Digitized photos and art images.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art digital images and related data.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.

English cartoons and satirical prints 1320-1832, in the British Museum
Check online first!! An Online Index provides access to much of this collection and related digitized collections. Materials from this collection are identified with a call number beginning PC1. Online Index to English Cartoons at the Library of Congress
more...less...
This 21 reel collection contains the political and personal satirical prints in the British Museum. Each print is numbered. Full text description of each print can be found on microfilm (NE55.L7 A3 1984, Catalogue of prints and drawings in the British Museum Division I). Finding Aids: Catalogue of prints and drawings in the British Museum Division I on microfilm (NE55.L7 A3 1984).

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), China and the Modern World, London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement.
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1922
Combined search of American historical newspapers (1690-1922), printed books (1639-1819), and pamphlets and ephemera (1749-1922).
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).

History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic

Primary Source Collections, 1650-1800

Locations

Contact