History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic

Good for: Exploring perspectives from journalism serving religious, ethnic, and cultural groups in the U.S.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 2005-present.

Good for: Finding primary source records of Native American and indigenous groups in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

Contains: Manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books.

Dates covered: 1400-1950s.

Good for: Finding national periodicals, local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.

Contains: Newspaper pages.

Dates covered: 1828-2016.

Good for: Records of interactions between Native Americans and the US government representatives and agencies.

Contains: Primary source collections.

Dates covered: 1809-1971.

Good for: Examining primary sources collected to document the history of the American West.

Contains: Pamphlets, maps, books, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources.

Dates covered: 1830-1939.

Good for: Searching newspapers from ethnic, minority, and native communities in the United States.

Contains: Newspaper articles, editorials, and reviews.

Dates covered: 1959-present.

Good for: Studying European colonization in North America, Africa, and Australasia.

Contains: Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries, and government records.

Dates covered: 1650-1920.

Good for: Understanding and analyzing Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.

Contains: Research tool with data on Native American migration and resettlement.

Dates covered: 1789-2016.

Good for: Searching a range of sources about government administration of the armed forces along with issues confronting the military on and off the battlefield. 

Contains: Government reports, laws, legislative histories, ebooks, and scholarly articles. 

Dates covered: 1751-present.

Good for: Evidence of the relationship between the U.S. government and Native American individuals and communities.

Contains: Treaties, correspondence, photos, census rolls, Dawes packets, and enrollment cards.

Dates covered: 1792-1940.

Good for: Primary sources representing aspects of the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples, as told by the individuals who lived through them.

Contains: Biographies, oral histories, personal papers, images, and audio files. 

Dates covered: 1784-2006.

Good for: Primary sources recording the history of U.S. territories before statehood.

Contains: Archival records. 

Dates covered: 1764-1953.

Good for: Researching interactions between the U.S. government and American Indian tribes.

Contains: Handwritten correspondence.

Dates covered: 1800-1824.

Good for: Searching multiple American history primary source collections.

Contains: Archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.

Dates covered: 1493-1975.

Good for: Searching across historical newspapers and books for primary sources about American life and culture.

Contains: American historical newspapers, printed books, pamphlets, and ephemera.

Dates covered: 1639-1922.

Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.

Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.

Dates covered: 1500-1926.