LibGuides: History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic: Mining

Catalogs

Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850-1950
Primary sources like catalogs, price lists, and brochures reflecting the history of consumer advertising and marketing and life and leisure in America. Includes department store catalogs, cosmetic advertisements, real estate brochures and much more.
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1749-1900
Printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems and other printed items never intended to last.

Strawbridge & Clothier Quarterly (1883)
first mail order clothing catalog
Sears Roebuck (1897)
COPA Commercial Patterns Archive
The Commercial Pattern Archive database, CoPA, provides a unique tool for researchers and designers to recreate or date clothing from 1868 to 2000. There are several collections from the States, Canada and the UK represented in the database which functions like a Union Catalog of pattern collections.
more...less...
pfinley
unlvCOPA

from UNLV Digital Collections

Photograph of miners inside the Techatticup Mine (Nev.), 1900-1925 by Lyra Mills, from Nevada State Historical Society Photo Collection, published as part of Southern Nevada: The Boomtown Years, Special Collections and Archives, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, http://special.library.unlv.edu/boomtown

Image reference for mining camps in Nevada

UNLV Libraries digital collections: miners
Digital Public Library of America
Online Archive of California
PastPerfect
Search digital objects from museum and cultural heritage collections.
Nevada State Museum online photos: mining

Narratives

Books

"Facts" about Goldfield, Nev., the greatest gold camp in the world
1905 prospectus

The gold fields of Alaska; how to reach and operate them. by Wellington, John L.
Publication Date: 1896
Bodie and Esmeralda, being an account of the revival of affairs in two singularly interesting and important mining districts by Wasson, Jos.
Publication Date: 1878
Digging gold among the Rockies, or, Exciting adventures of wild camp life in Leadville, Black Hills and the Gunnison country by G. Thomas Ingham.
In miners' mirage-land by Idah Meacham Strobridge
Publication Date: 1904
Many of these sketches originally appeared in the Los Angeles "Times" and the San Francisco "Chronicle".

Trade Magazines

General Magazines

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society, Part I-V (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1684-1912
Popular magazines, newspapers, and journals published in the United States.
EBSCO version offers subject indexing. Also searchable via Gale or Gale Primary Sources combined search portal.

Government Reports

Nevada Mining Reports 1893 - 1931
State of Nevada Mineralogist Reports 1867 - 1879
Comprehensive reports on the State of Nevada's early mining activity and mineral deposits within the nearly 150 mining districts.

Scholarship

In Pursuit of Gold by Sue Fawn Chung
Call Number: Lied Library Book Stacks F847.E4 C47 2011
ISBN: 9780252036286
Publication Date: 2011
The Bonanza Trail by Muriel Sibell Wolle
ISBN: 9780253033277
Publication Date: 2018
Gambling on Ore by Kent Curtis
ISBN: 9781607322344
Publication Date: 2013

Historical newspapers online

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1923
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1789-1924
Newspapers from the Library of Congress, including Nevada newspapers.

Cooperative Libraries Automated Network Digital Collections
Reese River Reveille May 23, 1863 to December 31, 1887; January 1, 1907 to December 26, 1908.
Daily Territorial Enterprise This collection contains fully searchable newspapers dating from January 2, 1883 through December 30, 1900.
White Pine News, January 1, 1881 through December 12, 1906.
Goodsprings Gazette, a limited number of newspapers published in 1916, 1917, 1918, and 1919.
The Wadsworth Dispatch, January 4, 1893 through December 30, 1893.
The Free Press, January 2, 1885 through December 28, 1901.
Virginia Evening Bulletin July 06, 1863 through May 16, 1864.
Virginia Evening Chronicle: Virginia City Nevada 1872-1927
Lovelock tribune. : (Lovelock, Nev.) 1898-1912
Marden Historical Research
Discover Humboldt County's Historical Legacy! J.P. Marden's historical articles were researched through microfilm of Humboldt County Newspapers dating back to the 1800's. These articles cover exciting and interesting history including Chinatown, robberies, mines, railroad, fires and more. The original newspaper and date is noted at the bottom of each article.

San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1865-1984, 1985-current
Full page images of the daily San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper, through 1984. Text of articles only after 1985.
Nevada Newspapers on Microfilm at UNLV Libraries This link opens in a new window
Use this tool to find what Nevada newspapers are available in the University Libraries on microfilm.
Search for newspapers by city, title and county. The Nevada Newspaper listing does not index the contents of individual newspapers. Ask for assistance at the Research & Information Desk for help using microform newspaper collections.

Nevada Newspaper Indexes
List of all Nevada newspaper indexes available in museums and libraries throughout the state.

Special Collections and Archives

UNLV University Libraries Collection on Nevada Mining.
Finding aid for collection available for viewing in Special Collections, 3rd floor Lied Library.
Digitized photos related to mining from UNLV Libraries Special Collections
Records describing individual photos - use Link to Resource link to view photos.

History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic