LibGuides: History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic: World History, 1900-2000

World Primary Source Collections, 20th century

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.

British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1732-1950
National and regional British newspapers representing different political and cultural views.
Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post, 1903-2001 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1903-2001
English-language Hong Kong daily newspaper.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1785-2019
The Times (London) newspaper.

Google News Archive
Mostly American and Canadian papers, 19th and 20th century.

Access World News: Research Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from 7,400 + sources, including 50 Nevada titles.
Local, in-state, national and international news sources, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires, news blogs, news web-only content and video.

RetroNews (French)
1631-1950
Newspapers from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1420-1920
Primary sources like manuscripts, maps and illustrated documents, diaries and ship logs recording the experiences of Europeans as they explored trade routes, colonized the Americas and Australasia, and raced to the North and South Poles.
Apartheid South Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1948-1980
British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices documenting the history of South Africa's apartheid regime.
Archives Direct (all) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1833-1981
Government and agency records from the British National Archives.
Collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive. Subsets are: Apartheid South Africa, Confidential Print: Africa, Confidential Print: Latin America, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Foreign Office Files for China, Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, Foreign Office Files for Japan, Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, The Nixon Years, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Women in The National Archives, Kew.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1940-present
Primary sources from more than 35 countries related to LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-present
Primary source documents, archival collections, films, and ephemera describing events and lives of displaced people, refugees, undocumented and unauthorized migrants and victims of human trafficking at significant border areas from the 19th to 21st centuries.
Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1834-1922
Correspondence, intelligence reports, agents’ diaries, minutes, maps, newspaper excerpts and other materials from the British Foreign Office Files about the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s.
Chatham House Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1920-2008
Commentary, speeches and analysis on international affairs from a British non-profit NGO.
China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1817-1949
Academic and literary journals, journals of sinology, and missionary periodicals in English about China.
China and the Modern World: Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China, 1854-1949 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1858-1949
Primary source collection for the study of China and its relations with the West in the late Qing and Republican periods.
China Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-1980
Primary source documents like printed books, pamphlets, paintings, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals offer evidence of Chinese life and culture over the past 300 years
Combined search of: China, America and the Pacific, China: Culture and Society, and China: Trade, Politics and Culture.
Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1965 (mainly 1940-1955)
Primary source historical documents from the archives of Winston Churchill, British Prime Minister during and after World War II.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1804-2009
Newspapers, journals and reports offering the perspective of Anglican missionary administrators and workers on cultural encounters and historical events.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1606-1822
British government documents from the CO 5 series about administering the American colonies.
Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1834-1966
Primary source documents about African colonies generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices of the British government between 1834 and 1966.
Confidential Print: Latin America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1833-1969
Government and agency records from the British National Archives concerning Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.
Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1839-1969
Government and agency records from the British National Archives concerning the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1920
Primary sources selected to illustrate changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1599-1947
British government records from the India Office chart the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
First World War Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1900-1950
Primary sources including documents, films and oral histories themed around personal experiences, propaganda and recruitment, visual perspectives and narratives, and the global conflict.
Foreign Office Files for China This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1919-1980
British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1947-1980
Archival collection from the British Foreign Office focused on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
Foreign Office Files for Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1919-1952
Archival collection from the British Foreign Office focused on Japan: sections on Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945; Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952; and Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930.
Foreign Office Files for South East Asia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1963-1980
Correspondence, reports, maps and other primary source evidence of British Foreign Office involvement in Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and the Philippines.
What's included
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1971-1981
Archival collection from the British Foreign Office focused on the Middle East in the 1970s.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1650-1920
Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries and government records from Europeans creating colonies in North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-present
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, like women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, family and the body.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-present
Primary source materials that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1615-1947
Documents recording the history of South Asia between the initial involvement of the East India Company and Indian and Pakistani independence.
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850-1980
Archival material from the travel agency Thomas Cook, a pioneer of package tourism. Includes periodicals such as the Excursionist magazine, personal accounts from travelers on early Cook’s tours, photographs, advertising brochures, guidebooks, posters and ephemeral items.
Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850s-1930s
Primary sources from Crimean War, the American Civil War and the First World War tell the story of medical advances during warfare, including the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918 and the discovery of penicillin in 1927.
Meiji Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850s-1930s
Publications, papers, journals and diaries of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), a polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history – but, perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together.
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1917-1970
Primary source documents from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-1924
Primary sources like personal accounts, correspondence, maps, plans and photos documenting the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
Political Extremism and Radicalism: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe and Australia in the Twentieth Century (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Campaign materials, periodicals, propaganda, government records, oral histories, and ephemera from fringe political movements on the right and the left.
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1945-1950
Records from the National Archives of the UK reveal challenges facing Displaced Persons, refugees and humanitarian aid organizations in the aftermath of World War II.
Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1873-1953
From The National Archives, U.K., documents encompass signals intelligence reports and government-directed policy and strategy from the period of Appeasement right through to the early Cold War.
British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953, with the majority of files dating from the 1930s and 1940s, across four major conflicts – the Spanish Civil War, the Second World War, the early years of the Cold War and the Korean War.
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1939-1948
The story of World War II as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 200 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1490-2007
Case studies documenting slavery in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba, along with material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1918-1990
Documentaries, newsreels and feature films that reveal the 20th century world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers.
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and primary source documents from government agencies of colonial and early post-colonial India, many from the Bengal region and some from the wider sub-continent. Also film booklets!
Substantial runs of more than 200 journals in a range of subjects published from India and South Asia, including early journals such as Asiatic Researches (first published in 1788), Indian Review, Modern Review and Calcutta Gazette. There is also an array of vernacular journals such as: Bharatbarsha, Prabasi, Manasi, and Sachitra. Also includes Indian Film Booklets, 1930 – 1949. A significant proportion of the collection is in English, but thirty percent of the documents are written in various vernacular languages of the period/region(s).
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1818-1974
Travel writing in manuscripts, diaries and correspondence as well as drawings, guidebooks and photographs.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1820-present
Primary sources highlighting the voices of colonized women, including in China, Japan, the Philippines, Europe, the Eastern Mediterranean and Balkans, and South Africa. Includes Native American women, also American women in Guatemala and China.

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-1926
Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas (North, Central, South and the Caribbean) from 1492 to the mid-1800s.
Primary sources that offer original accounts of exploration, settlement, military actions, Native Americans, westward expansion, European relations with Latin America and more. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.
Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1543-1945
Books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1924) book owned and scanned by a library. UNLV users can login with their ACE accounts and download entire "full view" books/documents.
Making of Modern Law (MOML): Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
The Gale Primary Sources interface allows cross-searching of five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and primary source documents from government agencies of colonial and early post-colonial India, many from the Bengal region and some from the wider sub-continent. Also film booklets!
Substantial runs of more than 200 journals in a range of subjects published from India and South Asia, including early journals such as Asiatic Researches (first published in 1788), Indian Review, Modern Review and Calcutta Gazette. There is also an array of vernacular journals such as: Bharatbarsha, Prabasi, Manasi, and Sachitra. Also includes Indian Film Booklets, 1930 – 1949. A significant proportion of the collection is in English, but thirty percent of the documents are written in various vernacular languages of the period/region(s).

Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.

Archives Direct (all) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1833-1981
Government and agency records from the British National Archives.
Collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive. Subsets are: Apartheid South Africa, Confidential Print: Africa, Confidential Print: Latin America, Confidential Print: Middle East, Confidential Print: North America, Foreign Office Files for China, Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, Foreign Office Files for Japan, Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, The Nixon Years, Macmillan Cabinet Papers, Women in The National Archives, Kew.
Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1834-1966
Primary source documents about African colonies generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices of the British government between 1834 and 1966.
Confidential Print: Latin America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1833-1969
Government and agency records from the British National Archives concerning Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.
Confidential Print: Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1839-1969
Government and agency records from the British National Archives concerning the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.
Confidential Print: North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1824-1961
Government and agency records from the British National Archives concerning the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1599-1947
British government records from the India Office chart the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
Foreign Office Files for China This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1919-1980
British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1947-1980
Archival collection from the British Foreign Office focused on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
Foreign Office Files for Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1919-1952
Archival collection from the British Foreign Office focused on Japan: sections on Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945; Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952; and Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930.
Foreign Office Files for the Middle East This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1971-1981
Archival collection from the British Foreign Office focused on the Middle East in the 1970s.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online law journals and full text federal legal materials.
HeinOnline is an image-based, fully searchable database made up primarily of law journals. Newer content is not added until the end of a volume year so the most recent issues are likely a year old. Coverage varies by title, but most sources go back to volume one. In addition to journals, it also contains treaties, the federal register, some classic treatises and some federal legislative materials. Subscription to HeinOnline is sponsored by the Wiener-Rogers Law Library.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1615-1947
Documents recording the history of South Asia between the initial involvement of the East India Company and Indian and Pakistani independence.
Making of Modern Law (MOML): Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
The Gale Primary Sources interface allows cross-searching of five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1917-1970
Primary source documents from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1945-1950
Records from the National Archives of the UK reveal challenges facing Displaced Persons, refugees and humanitarian aid organizations in the aftermath of World War II.
South Asia Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and primary source documents from government agencies of colonial and early post-colonial India, many from the Bengal region and some from the wider sub-continent. Also film booklets!
Substantial runs of more than 200 journals in a range of subjects published from India and South Asia, including early journals such as Asiatic Researches (first published in 1788), Indian Review, Modern Review and Calcutta Gazette. There is also an array of vernacular journals such as: Bharatbarsha, Prabasi, Manasi, and Sachitra. Also includes Indian Film Booklets, 1930 – 1949. A significant proportion of the collection is in English, but thirty percent of the documents are written in various vernacular languages of the period/region(s).

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), China and the Modern World, London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement.
Historical U.S. Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1841-2000 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2000)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. West, including Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009)
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1922
Combined search of American historical newspapers (1690-1922), printed books (1639-1819), and pamphlets and ephemera (1749-1922).
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.

History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic

World Primary Source Collections, 20th century

Locations

Contact