LibGuides: History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic: Atomic tests

Bibliographies - atomic testing

Early Atomic History: A Timeline by Sid Trevethan
Selected quotations and extensive bibliography of key works in the political and technical history of the first generation of atomic research.
Index to Early Atomic History: A Timeline
Subject index of quotations listed in Trevethan's bibliography.

Museums

National Atomic Testing Museum

Nevada Test Site

Nevada Test Site Oral History project
Documenting, preserving and disseminating the remembered past of persons affiliated with and affected by the Nevada Test Site during the era of Cold War nuclear testing.
National Atomic Testing Museum: articles
Nevada National Security Administration Library
Historical Test Films from the NNSA
National Security Archive: The Nuclear Vault
The Atomic Bomb and the Nuclear Age
Exhibit of resources available through the Digital Public Library of America
Technical Report Archive and Image Library
U.S. Dept. of Energy OpenNet System

Primary Sources

Atomic Energy Commission

The National Archives maintains a guide to the Records of the Atomic Energy Commission.

Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board

Recent publications are available online.
Older publications can also be found online at http://www.dnfsb.gov/

Joint Committee on Atomic Energy

The Joint Committee existed from 1946-1977. Stanford University provides access to over 144,000 pages of source materials from the hearings of the committee.

Nuclear Regulatory Commission

To locate documents try the NRC's Documents Collection or search ADAMS Public Documents.

Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board

Reports, correspondence, and other documents are available at the NWTRB web site.

UNLV Libraries

Nevada Test Site Oral History Project

U.S. Dept. of Energy. Nevada Site Office.

The Nevada Site Office Library provides access to reports, fact sheets, photographs, and more.

Databases

America in World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal Accounts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1937-1950
Oral histories, declassified government documents, correspondence, photos and digitized artifacts from the National WWII museum in New Orleans, LA.
Uncover the stories of American military personnel and civilians during the Second World War through their oral histories, correspondence, diaries, photographs, artifacts, and military records. This digital resource offers an insight into the personal experiences of those involved in the conflict, both on the United States home front and on deployment overseas in Europe, the Mediterranean, the Pacific, China, Burma and India.
Military & Government This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1751-present
Government reports, laws, legislative histories, ebooks and selected scholarly articles related to branches of the United States armed forces.
Research government administration of the armed forces along with issues confronting the military on and off the battlefield with access to primary source documents including committee prints, government reports, congressional hearings, legislative hearings, etc. The database also includes books, serials, periodicals and scholarly articles.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1770s-present
Full text resources on military subjects.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database collects periodicals, academic journals, and other content, including the Department of State's Background Notes on Countries of the World, Country Watch Reviews of selected countries, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, selected congressional testimony, and descriptions of aircraft, motorized equipment, and armament.

History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic

Bibliographies - atomic testing

Museums

Nevada Test Site

Primary Sources

Databases

Locations

Contact