Good for: Evidence about the lives of African Americans in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Contains: Government records of individuals including military service records, court documents, and emancipation and manumission papers.
Dates covered: 1792-1941.
Good for: Studying African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and North Carolina.
Contains: Primary sources.
Dates covered: 1860s-1980s.
Good for: Searching periodicals published by African American churches, educational and service institutions.
Contains: Newspapers and magazines.
Dates covered: 1816-1922.
Good for: Searching 19th-century African American newspapers.
Contains: African-American newspapers.
Dates covered: 1827-1902.
Good for: Understanding the Civil War through personal accounts.
Contains: Previously published memoirs, letters, and diaries.
Dates covered: 1860-1865.
Good for: Primary sources useful for historical African American studies including oral histories and government, FBI and organizational records.
Contains: Collections of primary source documents.
Good for: Global newspaper coverage of the African American experience.
Contains: Newspapers, with an emphasis on those serving African American communities.
Dates covered: 1704-current.
Good for: Primary sources from the civil rights movement in the United States.
Contains: Official publications and primary source material including records of the NAACP, papers from presidential administrations, and relevant records from the FBI and other federal agencies.
Dates covered: 1901-2000.
Good for: Scholarly articles, reference and historical sources for Black Studies.
Contains: Journal articles, historical newspapers, and essays.
Good for: Reading firsthand accounts of African American life and culture.
Contains: Non-fiction writing, interviews, correspondence and oral histories.
Dates covered: 1840-2006.
Good for: Reading newspaper reports of major events of the U.S. Civil War.
Contains: Clippings from Union and Confederate sources.
Dates covered: 1860-1865.
Good for: Searching newspaper articles by and for the African American communities in Atlanta, Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Los Angeles, New York, Norfolk VA., Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1893-2010.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about African American life and culture in Chicago.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1909-2010.
Good for: Studying the history of the NAACP, discrimination against African Americans, and the civil rights movement.
Contains: Selected primary source documents from the NAACP archives.
Dates covered: 1913-1965.
Good for: Studying the fight for civil rights.
Contains: Speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses.
Dates covered: 1943-1970.
Good for: Researching the trade in enslaved people in America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba using material examining European, Islamic, and African involvement in the slave trade.
Contains: Case studies and primary source documents.
Dates covered: 1490-2007.
Good for: Primary sources recording the history of U.S. territories before statehood.
Contains: Archival records.
Dates covered: 1764-1953.
Good for: Studying women's reform activities.
Contains: Books, images, historical documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.
Dates covered: 1600-2000.
Good for: Studying blues, jazz, spirituals, and other forms connected with Black American musical expression.
Contains: Encyclopedia entries, liner notes and album art.
Good for: Studying plays by Black playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Contains: Playscripts.
