LibGuides: History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic: LGBTQ history

LGBTQ History Databases and collections

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1940-present
Primary sources from more than 35 countries related to LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an index to the world's literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for 55 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 full-text monographs/books.
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection devoted to LGBT interests offers primary source access to periodicals focused on LGBT history and culture from the 1950s to recent times, including The Advocate, Gay News, and The Pink Paper.
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1920
Primary sources selected to illustrate changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-present
Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, like women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, family and the body.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Key works and archival documentation of LGBT political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day, including published texts, letters, periodicals, speeches, interviews, and ephemera from several archives.
Sex & Sexuality This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800s-2010s
Archival research collections exploring changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors and investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
Please be aware that this resource contains material of a sexually explicit nature. Includes official records of pressure groups and community organizations, anonymous qualitative surveys, diaries, correspondence, periodicals, photographs, erotic fiction and visual erotica, papers of sexologists, newsletters, reports, pamphlets and ephemera.

In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994
- This link opens in a new window

Free online collections

UNLV Special Collections

GLBT Manuscript Collections in UNLV SCA

History: Primary Sources by Era or Topic

LGBTQ History Databases and collections

Free online collections

UNLV Special Collections

Locations

Contact