Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

Latinx Voices Research : Library Guides

A guide to researching resouces on the Latinx community in Las Vegas in Special Collections

Oral Histories

 

Search Tips:  Input "Latinx Voices" in quotes and hit search. When your results come back refine the results using tools on the right hand side - hit "REFINE MY RESULTS " and make sure you select "digital objects" so that you are retrieving oral history transcripts that are online. To search for particular ethnic groups, for example input "Latinx Voices" AND Mexico. Or "Latinx Voices" AND Cuba. Ensure that AND is in all caps for your search. 

Books

Head of Special Collections & Archives Public Services

Manuscript Collections

Frank Romero Restaurant

Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Community Collection (MS-00935)

Abstract

The Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Community Collection (approximately 1973-2019) consists of memorabilia, ephemera, event fliers, and event photographs donated by members of the Latinx community in Las Vegas, Nevada and collected by staff members of the Oral History Research Center at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV). Materials were donated and collected as part of the Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada oral history and community engagement project hosted by UNLV University Libraries. Some of the materials in this collection are related to oral history interviews for Lidia Bonilla, Horacio Lopez, and Gustavo Ramos. This collection also includes fliers and posters advertising events in the Latinx community, campaign signs for Latinx candidates running for office, and Spanish language campaign signs.

Finding Aid - PDF( MS-00935.pdf)

Scott Henry Photographs of the Las Vegas, Nevada Latinx Community (PH-00442)

Abstract

The Scott Henry Photographs of the Las Vegas, Latinx Community (approximately 1983-2000) consist of 42 photographic prints depicting members of the Latinx community in Las Vegas, Nevada. Thirty-eight of the prints were used as part of a collaborative project between Scott Henry, photographer and editor for the Las Vegas Review-Journal, and Thomas Rodriguez, a prominent member of the Latinx community in Las Vegas, for an exhibit of the Las Vegas Latinx community. Henry and Rodriguez together planned who to photograph for the exhibit. The photographs demonstrate the impact that the Latinx community has on the region's political, economic, and social growth and development. A number of the photographs show early members of the League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), including John Mendoza, Delia Martinez, Tom Rodriguez, Bob Agonia, Corrine Gutierrez, Nick Flores, Grace Salazar, and Gus Ramos.

Finding Aid - PDF PH-00442.pdf

Thomas Rodriguez Professional Papers (MS-01017)

Abstract

The Thomas Rodriguez Professional Papers (1974-2020) document Rodriguez's years of work and achievements in the political, educational, and social advancement of the Latinx community in Southern Nevada. The collection contains research files on the Latinx community of Las Vegas, Nevada, newspaper articles and manuscripts written by Rodriguez, and materials from his many years of involvement and work with local organizations including the Latin Chamber of Commerce, League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC), the Hispanic Educators Association of Nevada, and the Latino Youth Leadership Conference. Materials include conference proceedings, symposium and event programs, as well as newspaper articles, correspondence, and administrative files gathered by Rodriguez over the years of researching and working within the community.

Finding Aid - PDF MS-01017.pdf

Latino Youth Leadership Conference Publications (MS-00914)

Abstract

The Latino Youth Leadership Conference publications (1994-2018) is comprised of digitized copies of conference programs for the Latino Youth Leadership Conference (LYLC) that is held annually in Las Vegas, Nevada. LYLC is a three-day annual conference that is aimed towards increasing college attendance rates and leadership skills among Latinx high school seniors in Clark County, Nevada.

Finding Aid - PDF MS-00914.pdf

Arturo Amaya Papers (MS-00915)

Abstract

The Arturo Amaya Papers (1994-2017) are comprised of photographs and periodicals representing Amaya's involvement with the Latinx community in Las Vegas, Nevada. In particular, the photographs document activities of the Las Vegas Peruvian Cultural Heritage Association that Amaya founded. The collection includes issues of local magazines Amaya was involved with as a creator, publisher, and writer including: El Heraldo Latino, Lesgabit, and Ultimahora. Photographs in this collection document activities of the Las Vegas Peruvian Cultural Heritage Association, parades at Las Vegas Centennial Park, activities at the East Las Vegas Community Center, anniversaries of the Independence of Peru celebrated at Sunset Park and on Fremont Street, and the International Food Folklife Festival for Clark County.

Finding Aid - PDF MS-00915.pdf

Celia Rivero Grenfell Family Photographs (PH-00052)

Abstract

The Celia Rivero Grenfell Family Photographs depict the Rivero Family in Las Vegas, Nevada from 1917 to 1950. The photographs depict Celia Grenfell’s parents Francisco and Margarita Rivero as well as their children and relatives. The photographs also depict businesses in Las Vegas, including Frank Romero’s restaurant and the Elko Rooms hotel.

Finding Aid - PDF PH-00052.pdf

© University of Nevada Las Vegas