Bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and others. Electronic records begin with 1970; some have links to full text.
Update frequency: daily
Indexes current acquisitions of the National Agricultural Library, including books, serials, pamphlets, government documents, research reports, FAO and USDA publications,conference proceedings, and translations, patents, audiovisuals and technical reports. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture (USDA) and distributed by the National Technical Information Service of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce.
Provides charts and maps on the following agricultural categories: Livestock (including cattle and poultry), crops (including field crops and fruits), economics (including farm labor and grazing fees), and research (including interactive Census data and micromaps).
The Census of Agriculture is the only source of uniform, comprehensive data on agricultural production and operator characteristics for each county and state, and for the U.S..
FAOSTAT consists of online and multilingual databases focusing on international statistics in the following areas: Agriculture, fisheries, nutrition, forestry, and food quality control.
The mission of the NDL is to develop authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile, and disseminate composition data on foods available in the United States. The NDL web site provides links to datasets regarding food composition products, such as the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference and Nutrient Lists.
CIR provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity. Includes links to CIRS categorized by subject titles or by NAICS subsector, as well as information on manufacturing profiles and instruction procedures for each CIR.
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Contains revised estimates of the budget surplus, receipts, outlays, and budget authority for fiscal years 2001 through 2011, as well as other summary information.
CenStats is a collection of statistical resources offered by the U.S. Census Bureau. Topics include building permits, county business patterns, and demographic and economic data for states and counties.
Site provides links to key demographic statistics from various federal agencies including the Administration for Children & Families, Food & Nutrition Service, and the National Science Foundation, just to name a few.
The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information, including census and demographic information.
Website contains data concerning the following: Crime trends from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports, homicide trends and characteristics by state and local agencies, law enforcement management, and administrative statistics
Criminal victimization statistic reports. Reports include victim characteristics such as female victims, elderly victims, teenage victims. Crime characteristics types of crime, victim/offender relationship, weapon use, place of occurrence, cost of crime.
A summary of U.S. statistics about drug-related crimes, law enforcement, courts, and corrections from Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and non-BJS sources.
The BJS website containing data on crime and victims, law enforcement, prosecution, criminal offenders, and corrections. Additionally, the Publications menu features full-text publications about drugs, gun violence, capital punishment, and more.
According to its website, "UCR is a city, county, and state law enforcement program which provides a nationwide view of crime based on the submission of statistics by law enforcement agencies throughout the country." Some of the statistical categories include homicide, robbery, burglary, and aggravated assault.
Education-Related Statistics and Research Databases
ERIC is a national information system funded by the U.S. Department of Education to provide access to education literature and resources. The ERIC database contains education-related journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and more. The ERIC clearinghouses focus on brief and in-depth publications, directories, and virtual libraries.
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. The NCES website features new publications; data search tools; and elementary, secondary, and postsecondary education data.
NCES website provides access to school districts' geographic and demographic data useful for describing and analyzing characteristics of school districts, children, and K-12 education.
Statistics and information on the worldwide supply, demand, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, protection of the environment, and national security.
State chapters from the Minerals Yearbook (Volume II. -- Area Reports: Domestic) are designed to provide statistical data and information for mineral commodities on a state-by-state basis.
Searchable site provides links to data from the National Water Information System Website (NWISWeb) and WaterWatch (current water resources conditions), as well as information on water usage, acid rain, and several other water-related topics.
Includes an extensive amount of transportation statistical data, including airport activity statistics and airline on-time statistics, as well as full-text links to the BTS's Issue Briefs and the Journal of Transportation and Statistics.
Website for transportation researchers and analysts, aimed at providing "one stop shopping for transportation data." It includes a searchable index of over 100 transportation-related databases, online data documentation, interactive analytical tools, interactive mapping, and a mapping center.
A virtual library that includes a searchable digital collection of nearly over 9,000 full-text documents, as well as an extensive list of online transportation reference sources.
The STSI website provides traffic safety information and data on a state by state basis. Includes statistics on total fatalities, the economic cost of motor vehicle crashes, motorcycle rider deaths, and several other statistical categories.
This site provides access to formal reports produced by the NTSB focusing on aviation, highway, railroad, hazardous materials, marine, and pipeline accidents and studies.
From the U.S. Department of Transportation, this site contains statistical information on local and long distance travel by citizens of the United States .
This link opens in a new window