Government Information

Searchable site focusing on Department of Interior programs and offices, including collaborative conservation efforts, mineral resources and statistics, National Parks, wildlife refuges, and public lands.

Provides links and information to National Parks, historical resources, learning tools for teachers and students, and more.

Searchable site with information on environmental contaminants, invasive species, endangered species, the National Wetland Inventory, and more.

The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) administers 261 million surface acres of America's public lands, located primarily in 12 Western States. The searchable BLM website provides information on BLM programs and activities, links to public land statistics, BLM publications, and more.

The Office of Surface Mining is responsible (in cooperation with the states and Indian tribes) for protecting citizens and the environment during mining and reclamation, and to reclaim mines abandoned before 1977. The searchable site provides an abundance of information on laws and regulations, statistics, publications, and many more topics related to surface mining.

The Minerals Management Service is national in scope, and includes two major programs: Offshore Minerals Management and Minerals Review Management. The site provides information on onshore and offshore mineral production, especially oil and gas resource areas.

Searchable site with information on earth sciences and the environment. Contains resources on natural contaminants, ecosystems and management, energy and environment, global change, and policy and guidance. Also includes educational resources for cartography, geography, and related disciplines.

The U.S. Bureau of Reclamation (USBR) manages, develops, and protects water and related resources. The searchable site provides information about the agency, links to resources and publications, and information about USBR programs and activities.

Science.gov contains reliable information resources selected by U.S. government science agencies as their best science information. Two major types of information are included: Selected authoritative science websites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Searchable gateway to DOE publications, news, offices, and information.

NREL is the only federal laboratory dedicated to the research, development, commercialization and deployment of renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies.

Gateway to EPA resources. Site is searchable, and offers full-text access to a large number of agency publications, including the EPA Journal (click on Information Sources).

Searchable site focusing on Department of Interior programs and offices, including collaborative conservation efforts, mineral resources and statistics, National Parks, wildlife refuges, and public lands.

The Federal government's home for comprehensive environmental stewardship and compliance assistance information.

A "bottom up" approach to making the Federal government greener and more sustainable. See the initial results report and join to contribute your ideas on how to promote green sustainablity.

Searchable site features news and events; links for kids, students, educators, and the media; and links to popular topics such as the Space Shuttle, the solar system, and stars and galaxies.

The NOAA web siteprovides extensive resources and research focusing on weather, oceans, satellites, fisheries, and climate.

A division of the National Institute of Health. Site is searchable and includes answers to health related questions, fact sheets, and pamphlets. Also connects to the homepages of specific NIEH programs such as the National Toxicology Program and the Environmental Genome Project.

This U.S. Department of Agriculture site links to a variety of databases, fact sheets, and NRCS publications. Includes information on soils, water quality, buffers, wetlands, and grazing lands.

Contains digitized collections of Federal and State government documents including soil surveys, maps, Enviornmental Impact Statments, water reports, and other historical information.

he CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information, including science and technology.

Website provides air pollution data for the entire U.S.

Site provides links to Public Land Statistics from 1996-present.

Site provides reports and statistics and more.

Annual coal production statistics from 1994-present.

Statistics and information on the worldwide supply, demand, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, protection of the environment, and national security.

Site contains annual reviews designed to provide timely statistical data on mineral commodities in various countries.

State chapters from the Minerals Yearbook (Volume II. -- Area Reports: Domestic) are designed to provide statistical data and information for mineral commodities on a state-by-state basis.

Searchable site provides links to data from the National Water Information System Website (NWISWeb) and WaterWatch (current water resources conditions), as well as information on water usage, acid rain, and several other water-related topics.

Department of Energy (DOE) and Government Printing Office (GPO) collaboration that provides access to full-text DOE research and development reports in physics, chemistry, biology, environmental cleanup, energy technologies, and more.

A searchable EPA site that provides descriptive information (metadata) for data sets, databases, documents, models, projects, and spatial data. Some resources can be downloaded directly from EIMS.

Searchable site with information on the earth sciences and the environment. Contains resources on natural contaminants, ecosystems and management, energy and environment, global change, and policy and guidance. Also includes educational resources for cartography, geography, and related disciplines.

Open-File Reports of earthquake and aftershock data collected by the United States Geological Survey (USGS) General Earthquake Observation System (GEOS) project in Menlo Park, California.

The Licensing Support Network (LSN) contains documents relating to the Yucca Mountain licensing proceeding conducted by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. The LSN is the single place where the parties and potential parties to the licensing hearing can search and access fulltext materials relating to Yucca Mountain repository licensing information. Closed September 30, 2011.

A division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, this site includes full-text fact sheets and brochures, and the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report Series.

"NCEI is the world's largest active archive of weather data." Site is searchable by city, keyword, or station name. Users can also browse by data type (including Satellite, Radar, and Climate). Site also offers an extensive guide to climate resources and statistics.

Searchable site with information on environmental contaminants, invasive species, endangered species, the National Wetland Inventory, and more.

for Android, iPhone, or iPad.