Government Information

A digital library and archive of the Federal Reserve, economic research, and banking history, featuring publications, archival collections, and data.

Provides a gateway to the DOC bureau and agency websites, including the Bureau of Census, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Economic and Statistics Administration, and International Trade Administration. Also provides links to economic growth information, free trade, patent information, and news from the Department.

The International Trade Administration (ITA) covers all areas of import and export in the United States. The website contains information on all areas of trade including laws and regulations, trade statistics, and state export data. Click on the "Trade Information Center" to access resources for even more detailed trade information. The Trade Information Center has tariff and tax information, export resources and trade profiles for other countries.

The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) is the bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce where economic and social change is chronicled, understood, and explained. The ESA Website contains statistics covering all aspects of the U.S. economy.

The Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology reports on research and development in those disciplines of the physical and engineering sciences in which the Institute is active, including physics, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, and computer sciences. Papers cover a broad range of subjects, with major emphasis on measurement methodology and the basic technology underlying standardization.

Official site of the U.S. Census Bureau. Contains an incredible amount of useful statistical data for many areas of business. Also contains individual state information.

The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic data in an objective and cost-effective manner. The BEA web site provides extensive links to national, international, regional, and industrial statistical information.

The Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) promotes growth and competitiveness of the nation's minority-owned businesses. The MBDA web site provides links to management and technical assistance, and education and training resources, as well as links to agency publications.

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) was created to protect investors and maintain the integrity of the securities markets and other key participants in the securities world, including stock exchanges, broker-dealers, investment advisors, mutual funds, and public utility holding companies. The SEC site includes legal resources, information for investors, and SEC filings.

Provides access to submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Not all documents filed with the Commission are available on EDGAR. As of May 6, 1996, all public domestic companies are required to make their filings on EDGAR, except for filings made in paper because of a hardship exemption. Third-party filings, including tender offers and Schedules 13D, are also filed on EDGAR.

The SEC's Office of Investor Education and Advocacy provides a variety of services to address investor problems and questions.

The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, oversees the national monetary and financial system. The site contains current and historical data on interest rates, exchange rates, monetary policy, regulations, and consumer information

The Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector.

The U.S. Department of Labor is charged with preparing the American workforce for new and better jobs and ensuring the adequacy of America's workplaces. It is responsible for the administration and enforcement of over 180 federal statutes. The DOL Website contains information on business law and regulations, wages, workers' compensation, health plans and benefits, etc. The site also includes valuable statistics and government reports on business.

This page contains all of the statistics and data compiled by the Department of Labor.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. This site contains statistics on inflation, wages, productivity, safety and health, demographics and earnings, and much more.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about future career choices. Revised every two years, the Handbook describes earnings, working conditions, expected job prospects, and the training and education needed for a wide range of occupations.

Provides links to the most requested BLS reports, including information on employment and earnings, prices and living conditions, compensation and working conditions, and more.

Iinformation (including statistics) on banks and banking.

This site covers marketplace information for businesses and consumers, including anti-trust/competition, business guidance, and consumer protection. Click on "News Releases, Publications, and Speeches" for more business information.

The U.S. Small Business Administration provides financial, technical, and management assistance to help Americans start, run, and grow their businesses. This site contains valuable information, including research statistics and business plans.

Contains Social Security information for both employers and employees.

NAICS has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. This website provides an explanation of the classification system, as well as links to the 2002 and 1997 NAICS codes.

The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information, including commerce, trade, and banking.

The BEA web site provides extensive links to national, international, regional, and industrial statistical information.

CIR provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity. Includes links to CIRS categorized by subject titles or by NAICS subsector, as well as information on manufacturing profiles and instruction procedures for each CIR.

Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

This annual report provides an extensive annual report of the U.S. economy. Website includes both text and statistical tables in spreadsheet format.

Contains revised estimates of the budget surplus, receipts, outlays, and budget authority for fiscal years 2001 through 2011, as well as other summary information.

Contains regulations, forms, publications, and statistics. Also includes a special section for tax professionals.

Includes business information on corporations, international businesses, and small businesses.

This document allows you to access the complete text of the United States Internal Revenue Code (Title 26 of the U.S. Code (26 USC)) in a variety of ways. Hyperlinks in the Code allow cross-referencing between sections, and a full-text search engine allows you to quickly locate Code sections by content.

The Advisory Commission on Electronic Commerce was created by Congress to initiate recommendations on electronic commerce and tax policy. Click on "Library" to obtain publications related to e-commerce.

Contains digital collections of historical U.S. Government Documents related to banking, manufacturing, transportation, acquiring, supplying services, production, distribution, and consumption.

Provides access to submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Not all documents filed with the Commission are available on EDGAR. As of May 6, 1996, all public domestic companies are required to make their filings on EDGAR, except for filings made in paper because of a hardship exemption. Third-party filings, including tender offers and Schedules 13D, are also filed on EDGAR.

Wage determinations issued by the U.S. Department of Labor, which determines prevailing wage rates to be paid on federally sponsored construction projects. Determinations are browsable by state or most recently modified.

Operated by the International Trade Commission and requiring free registration to use. Among the types of reports that the database can generate are customized lists of imports and exports. The website also has links to reports on international trade topics, as well as current and historical tariff information.

This database contains the forms (Form ADV) filed by investment advisor firms with the SEC and/or the States. The forms cover the firms' operations, their key personnel, and any disciplinary action connected with the firm or personnel. At present, searches can only be performed by firm. Includes an explanatory page with information regarding specific database contents.

Includes a searchable database of decisions (late 1996- present) and non-searchable weekly summaries of action (also late 1996- present).

This site includes extensive information on export promotion, trade finance, trade leads, trade regulations, and more.

Annual guides containing information on the business and economic situations of foreign countries, and the political climate as it affects U.S. business. Guides include investment climate, trade regulation, marketing, and business travel information.

Contains U.S. foreign trade statistics, regulations, and reference materials from the Census Bureau.

This site provides trade data and analysis, industry information, and additional resources and references.

Site provides detailed weekly and annual reports on the exports of agricultural commodities.

The USITC, a nonpartisan federal agency, provides trade expertise to both the legislative and executive branches of government, determines the impact of imports on U.S. industries, and directs actions against certain unfair trade practices, such as patent, trademark, and copyright infringement. The USITC website provides links to reports and publications, investigations, dockets, and an extensive Information Center.