Government Information

Offers statistics, news, consumer fact sheets, and other resources on diseases.

Contains digitized collections of Federal and State documents, including materials related to current and historical public health projects.

Developed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services together with other federal agencies. Recognized as a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet.

Healthcare information from the National Library of Medicine.

Website focuses on workplace safety and health resources.

The NIDDKD web site offers an extensive range of information centering on diabetes, digestive, and kidney diseases. In addition to links to clinical research and Congressional reports, the site also provides links to specific diseases, nutrition, and statistical information.

Provides resources and research focusing on mental illness and behavioral disorders.

Resources for students, teachers, parents, researchers, and professionals focusing on drug abuse and prevention.

Provides health resources, links to grants and funding opportunities, and extensive scientific resources.

USDA site that provides access to all online federal government information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety. Covers food facts, lifecycle issues, health management, food assistance, research statistics, and other resources.

Contains official reports, conference and workshop reports, and proceedings from the Office of the Surgeon General.

SAMHSA is the federal agency charged with improving the quality and availability of prevention, treatment, and rehabilitative services related to substance abuse and mental illnesses. The SAMHSA website provides links to information about the agency, SAMHSA programs, and resources and publications focusing on mental health and drug abuse prevention issues.

Government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services. Website provides resources concerning medical research, drug abuse, food and drug safety, substance abuse research and prevention, and mental health, as well as resources for low-income families, children, and the elderly.

Provides information and resources about food, cosmetics, medicines, and medical devices.

The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information, including health and human services.

Learn more about the best ways to find health information from the government.

Public health data from the Centers for Disease Control.

Provides U.S. statistics on diabetes, including links to special populations.

Site provides U.S. statistical information on specific digestive diseases.

Site provides U.S. statistics about kidney and urologic diseases.

The data in the weekly MMWR are provisional, based on weekly reports to the CDC by state health departments.

Extensive U.S. health data on specific populations, subgroups, and regions.

BioMedSearch is an enhanced version of the NIH PubMed search that combines MedLine/PubMed data with data from other sources to make the most comprehensive biomedical literature search available. BioMedSearch also provides advanced account features that allow saved searches, alerts, saving documents to portfolios, commenting on documents and portfolios, and sharing documents with other registered users. Registering for BioMedSearch is free.

Provides regularly updated information about federally- and privately-supported clinical research in human volunteers.

The Specialized Information Services (SIS) Division of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) is responsible for information resources and services in toxicology, environmental health, chemistry, HIV/AIDS, and specialized topics in minority health. The SIS web site contains the following information:

Toxicology & Environmental Health
Provides databases and other resources related to toxicology and environmental health.
Chemical Information
Provides databases and other resources to help users search for information by chemical name or structure.
HIV/AIDS Information
Provides links to journal literature, clinical trials, and scientific and consumer-related resources related to HIV/AIDS.

This site provides a pathfinder to the National Library of Medicine's (NLM ) health sciences databases, bibliographic citations, full-text articles (when available), archival collections, and images.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

PMC is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to PMC is free and unrestricted.