The National Transportation Safety Board is an independent federal agency charged by Congress with investigating every civil aviation accident in the United States, as well as significant accidents in the other modes of transportation (railroad, highway, marine, and pipeline), and with issuing safety recommendations aimed at preventing future accidents. The searchable NTSB website provides links to accident descriptions, full-text publications, public hearings, and more.
The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information, including transportation.
Includes an extensive amount of transportation statistical data, including airport activity statistics and airline on-time statistics, as well as full-text links to the BTS's Issue Briefs and the Journal of Transportation and Statistics.
Website for transportation researchers and analysts, aimed at providing "one stop shopping for transportation data." It includes a searchable index of over 100 transportation-related databases, online data documentation, interactive analytical tools, interactive mapping, and a mapping center.
The STSI website provides traffic safety information and data on a state by state basis. Includes statistics on total fatalities, the economic cost of motor vehicle crashes, motorcycle rider deaths, and several other statistical categories.
The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is the U.S. government entity with primary responsibility for the safety of civil aviation. The FAA website provides a searchable gateway to information about aviation safety, regulations, space transportation, and traveler briefings.
An agency of the DOT, the FHWA is responsible for the safety of U.S. highways. This site provides links to FHWA offices in every state, as well as information about various highway programs. Additionally, the Electronic Reading Room contains a wealth of full-text resources and research reports related to highway transportation.
The NHTSA website provides information on highway safety programs and issues, such as child car seats, vehicle recalls, airbags, crash tests, and automobile injury prevention, as well as links to regulations and safety-related publications.