Provides a browsable and searchable dictionary of military terms, as well as links to acronyms, abbreviations, and "NATO Only" terms. "All approved joint definitions are contained in Joint Publication 1-02, 'DOD Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms.'"
"The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) is the central facility for the collection and dissemination of scientific and technical information for the Department of Defense (DoD)." The DTIC website is a searchable gateway to finding DoD-related information. The site also gives users an extensive A-Z listing of resource links and publications.
The VA site provides links to online applications for veterans' compensation and pension, education, health, vocational rehabilitation, and employment services. It also provides links to topics such as minority veterans, homeless veterans, and women veterans.
This site contains a variety of historical U.S. Government documents including maps, miltary history, The America at War (1941-1945) collection, the Florida and the Civil War collection, various papers, and military periodicals.
The Foreign Military Studies Office (FMSO) researches, writes, and publishes from unclassified sources about the military establishments, doctrines and strategic, operational and tactical practices of selected foreign armed forces. The FMSO web site contains full-text publications, book reviews, and research links on government, institutional, and foreign topics. Provides full-text articles on military topics by region or subject, and includes an extensive set of links to Internet resources.
This is the repository of health and medical records of discharged and deceased veterans from all branches of the armed services. "Information from the records is made available upon written request (with signature and date) to the extent allowed by law."