The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) website contains a wealth of information on research, statistics, and fact sheets that focus on family assistance, child support, child care, child welfare, and other programs relating to children and families.
Head Start and Early Head Start are comprehensive child development programs that serve low-income children from birth to age 5, as well as pregnant women and their families. Website provides extensive links to research and statistics, publications, grant information, and more.
The HHS Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) undertakes a variety of research and evaluation projects regarding issues affecting children. This website provides an extensive array of links to publications and research focusing on early childhood, children and welfare, and teen pregnancy.
OFA oversees the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Program, created by the Welfare Reform Law of 1996. This website provides links related to TANF history, laws, Congressional reports, and other information.
The AoA website is designed to provide a comprehensive overview of a wide variety of topics, programs, and services relating to aging, including information for elders and their families, information for professionals, and links to grant programs.
The Special Committee on Aging serves as a focal point in the Senate for discussion and debate on matters related to older Americans. The site contains links to hearings, help with prescriptions, legislation tracking, and publications.
Statistical Sources Related to Families, Children, and Aging
This is the official website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child & Family Statistics. The site provides easy access to federal and state statistics on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, health, and environmental and educational data.
Population data by age and geographic area. Includes international statistics, as well as U.S., state, and county levels. Also includes special studies on specific groups, such as the elderly and baby boomers.
This collection contains a wide variety of historical state and federal data related to the social sciences. Collections include: Children's Bureau publications, Rural Development Perspectives, and select historical demographic data.
The CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information, including child protection, housing, and health.