Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's and Young Adult Literature: Walter Award for Outstanding Children's Literature

This guide is a starting place for exploring children's and young adult literature

Walter Award for Outstanding Children's Literature

The Walter Dean Myers Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature, also known as “The Walter,” celebrates the legacy of author Walter Dean Myers (1937-2014). Myers served as the third National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature (2012-2013), authored over a hundred titles, and won countless awards, including two Newbery Honors, five Coretta Scott King Awards, the first-ever Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature, and was a three-time National Book Award finalist. Throughout his prolific, lauded career, Myers was a life-long champion of diversity in children’s and young adult books. The We Need Diverse Books™  organization established The Walter award in 2016. 

The Walter Award Winner - Young Readers Category

The Walter Honor Books - Young Reader Category

The Walter Award Winner - Teen Category

The Walter Honor Books - Teen Category

Collection Status

ESSENTIAL TDRL AWARD/LIST: Collect and Retain All Titles.

Link Audit Project (monthly)

  • Link Audit:

  • 2020, 2019, 2018, 2017, 2016

Award Labels (monthly)

  • Stickers: 

  • Note 1: 

  • NOS: 

© University of Nevada Las Vegas