Skip to Main Content

Children's and Young Adult Literature: E.B. White Read Aloud Award

This guide is a starting place for exploring children's and young adult literature

E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards

The E.B. White Read-Aloud Awards, established in 2004, honor books that reflect the universal read aloud standards that were created by the work of the author E.B. White in his classic books for children: Charlotte's Web, Stuart Little, and The Trumpet of the Swan. In the first two years of the award, a single book was selected. In 2006, in recognition of the fact that reading aloud is a pleasure at any age, the award was expanded into two categories: Picture Books, and Middle Readers. Books are nominated for their universal appeal as “terrific” books to read aloud.

The E.B. White Read Aloud Award is presented by the American Booksellers Association (ABA).

Picture Book - Winner

Picture Book - Honor Books

Middle Readers - Winner

Middle Readers - Honor Books

© University of Nevada Las Vegas