LibGuides: Literature: Getting Started

Find a database or journal

All Library Databases
Select Literature from the subject drop-down menu to filter the list to just databases relevant to literary scholars.
A-Z list of journals
Find out if UNLV subscribes to a specific journal or search within the contents of any single journal.

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library LLB1187

(702) 895-2132

Subjects: English, Film Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Theater Arts, World Languages and Cultures

Recommended Resources

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text

1926-
Literary criticism published in journal articles, book chapters, books and more.

Gale Literature

Literary criticism in articles and overviews. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, Something About the Author, and Twayne's Authors.

ProQuest One Literature

English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Oxford Handbooks Online

Scholarly research reviews on major authors, literary movements, and critical approaches.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Substantial biographical overviews of literary authors.

Recommended resources

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1926-
Literary criticism published in journal articles, book chapters, books and more. Video tutorial for MLAIB
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Poetry, drama and prose; also literature criticism journals, ebooks, and key reference resources.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary criticism in articles and overviews. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series, Something About the Author, and Twayne's Authors.

Careers

Chronicle of Higher Ed Jobs
MLA Job Information List
Alt-Ac: Alternative Academic Careers for Humanities Scholars
Calls for Papers
Announcements of upcoming conference and publication opportunities in literary studies from the CFP e-mail list.

Publishing

Scholarly Communication
Learn about open access, author's rights, copyright and fair use in this guide for the UNLV community.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Editorial contact information as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines for 7100 journals in modern languages and literature.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on serials published throughout the world, including whether or not they are peer reviewed.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world, including whether or not they are peer reviewed. It covers all subjects and includes information about publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Cabell's Publishing Directories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to information about journal publishing opportunities for business, education, health, mathematics, nursing and science.

The resource includes journal acceptance rates, review descriptions, number of external reviewers, publication guidelines and submission processes.

Grants and other funding

Pivot
- This link opens in a new window
Pivot provides information about funding sources for researchers in virtually all fields. Pivot is available for all UNLV faculty, staff, researchers, research administrators and students.
more...less...
campus use only

Nevada Grant Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Limit: 5 simultaneous users Nevada Grant Watch is a database that lists over 200 relevant grants for the State of Nevada in the area of NGOs, education, religious, community organizations, government agencies and businesses that offer grants.
Grant Forward This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of grants, fellowships and scholarships for individuals and institutions.
Over 9,000 funding opportunities in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities can be located in this resource. Advanced and basic search features are offered as well as links to the websites of the funding organization. The database has an alert service that allows users to be notified of relevant funding. An expertise service allows individuals to create a profile by institution for others to view their activities. Please use a UNLV e-mail address to create a Grant Forward account.

Grants.gov
Clearinghouse of federal funding opportunities, including programs originating from the 2009 stimulus act.

Grants, Funding and Grant Writing - A Subject Guide This link opens in a new window
Provides links to general and education specific resources for grant writing help and funding sources.
Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans (SFL) profiles over 8,900 scholarships, fellowships, loans, internships, work study, and other education-related financial aid available to high school students, undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, and professionals.

Literature