LibGuides: Literature: Find streaming video and media

Streaming Video Collections

The UNLV Libraries license a number of streaming video collections that provide access to thousands of titles covering all kinds of disciplines and topics. Some offer tools that allow UNLV users to create, save and share video clips and playlists.

UNLV Licensed Streaming Video

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Ambrose Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos, including the BBC Shakespeare collections and A History of American Indian Achievement.
All of these videos are closed captioned and can be viewed full screen.
Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming feature films and documentaries in Spanish, Portuguese, and 34 other languages, all with English subtitles. Includes collections of Latin American, Cuban, Brazilian, European and French cinema as well as early 20th century animation.
Each film's license includes public performance rights.

Docuseek2
Docuseek2 has exclusive academic streaming for films from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution including, Bullfrog, Icarus and Terra Nova Films, among others.
more...less...
Tip: Click on My Movies in the upper right corner of the Docuseek2 homepage to see the titles that are specifically licensed for UNLV.

Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documentary films reflecting diverse cultures and points of view with relevance across the curriculum.
Award-winning documentaries about topics in international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.

Films On Demand
Features thousands of full-length videos covering the humanities & social sciences, science, business & economics, health, archival films & newsreels.
more...less...
Tip: Users who create their own optional accounts can make and share playlists from video segments.
Kanopy
This streaming video service provides access to thousands of titles in such areas as the arts, humanities, business, sciences, media/communications, education and more. Source producers include Media Education Foundation, BBC, PBS, Kino Lorber, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, among others.
more...less...
Tip: Users can create playlists and clips from Kanopy's content without registering for an account, but accounts make it easier to manage the clips and playlists you create.
Swank Digital Campus
This database features 100+ streaming feature films and documentaries, including recent award-winners and classics, dramas, comedies, musicals and more.
more...less...
Playback requires Microsoft's Silverlight browser plugin. Use Firefox, Safari or Internet Explorer - Chrome no longer supports Silverlight.

Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of theatre productions and documentaries about performance.
Theatre in Video presents online streaming video of complete professional performances of more than 250 well-known plays, together with more than 500 video documentaries. View and bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opera performances on streaming video, including staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Once complete, Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Free Online Streaming Archives

Poets On Screen
Nearly 900 video clips of poets reading their own and other poets’ works.
ReelGood
Free search app (for iOS mobiles and any desktop web browsers) to find where any movie or TV show is available to stream legally for free or rent/buy.
OpenCulture Free Movies Online page
475+ feature films, 1900-present
Moving Image Archive (from Internet Archive)
This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Prelinger Archive
Free online repository of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films in the public domain.

Literature

Streaming Video Collections

Locations

Contact