LibGuides: Literature: Browse or publish creative writing

Produced in Nevada

Black Mountain Institute

Interim
Interim is an international literary journal that publishes poetry, translation, criticism, reviews, and hybrid texts by emerging and established writers.
Witness
Witness blends the features of a literary and an issue-oriented magazine to highlight the role of the modern writer as witness to his or her times.

UNLV Department of English

Wordriver
a journal, strictly for adjunct instructor submissions, produced by the University of Nevada Las Vegas Department of English

Southern Nevada & regional

Las Vegas Review of Books
Literary News from the Entertainment Capital of the World
Helen: A Literary Magazine
Presenting a venue for fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, spoken word, and artwork, reflecting diverse cultural communities in the spirit of Southern Nevada.
High Desert Journal
Witness to the West, an online literary and fine arts magazine. A voice for the people and the landscape of the interior West.
Neon Geyser, Porcelain Sky
Poetry Journal published by Zeitgeist Press available for download.
Red Rock Review
College of Southern Nevada. Print copies available in UNLV Periodicals, 2nd floor, PS 501 .R435x

Inspiration

Views from the Loft by Daniel Slager
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 1282784897

Publication Date: 2010
Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott
Call Number: Lied Library Book Stacks PN147 .L315 1995

ISBN: 0385480016

Publication Date: 1995
Vivid and Continuous by John McNally
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 1609381572

Publication Date: 2013

UNLV MFA programs

UNLV MFA Creative Writing
UNLV / BMI programs
Opportunities for graduate students
UNLV MFA Writing for Dramatic Media

Reviews

Comparable works & reading recommendations

NoveList Plus
Good for: Finding book recommendations based on various criteria.
Contains: Book summaries, professional reviews, and read-alike recommendations.
Gale Books and Authors
Good for: Getting reading recommendations, searching for fiction by genre or theme, and identifying comparable works of fiction or popular nonfiction.
Contains: Book summaries and book reviews.

Book Reviews

ProQuest One Literature
Use Book Reviews content type filter on results page for current or historical book reviews
Magill's Literary Annual
Good for: Reviews of important contemporary literary works published yearly since 1976.
Contains: Book reviews and essays.
Book Review Digest Plus
Good for: Finding out where reviews of a book were published.
Contains: Book abstracts and excerpts and citations of book reviews.
Dates covered: 1983-present.

Provides citations and excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. To be indexed in Book Review Digest, a book must have been published or distributed in the United States or Canada. A work of nonfiction must have received reviews in two or more of the periodicals on the Book Review Digest selection list. A work of fiction must have received reviews in at least three of the periodicals. Reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences are excluded.

Data

VIDA count (Women in Literary Arts)
Annual data count lets you see the diversity of authors whose work is published in specific publications - tables include gender, race, sexuality, disability and more.
Post45 Data
Datasets based on NYT Fiction bestseller lists, major literary prizes, and Iowa Writers Workshop participants

Literary Magazines

A-Z List of Journal Titles
Search this list to find out if UNLV Libraries offers access with your ACE account.
AGNI
American Poetry Review
Antioch Review
Beloit Poetry Journal
BOMB
Boulevard
Carolina Quarterly
Chicago Review
Colorado review
Ecotone: reimagining place
Georgia Review
Harper's
Harvard Review
Hudson Review
Iowa Review
Kenyon Review
LitMag
Missouri Review
Mosaic
New Criterion
New England Review
New Yorker
North American Review
The Oxford American
Parnassus
Ploughshares
Review of Contemporary Fiction
Sewanee Review
Southwest review
Subtropics
TriQuarterly
Virginia Quarterly Review
West Branch
Witness
Yale Review

Online Literary Journals
List of free-to-read literary journals that accept poetry submissions maintained by University of Arizona Poetry Center.
American Short Fiction
Conjunctions
Copper Nickel
Déraciné
The Forge
Helen: A Literary Magazine
Interim
Jacket
Kenyon review online
Longleaf Review
McSweeney's
Narrative magazine
Neon Geyser, Porcelain Sky
Poetry
swamp pink
Taco Bell Quarterly

Granta
PN2 .G68
New Letters
PS501 .N47
Paris Review
AP4 .P245
Witness

Directories

AAUP Subject Area Grid
Annually updated diagram of areas of focus of university presses.
CLMP Directory of Independent Literary Publishers
Links, editorial contact information, and scope of literary periodicals and presses from Community of Literary Magazines and Presses.
Duotrope
Subscription-based ($5/month or $50 year) searchable database of over 4,250 active publishers, with statistics on publishers' response times, acceptance-rejection ratios, etc. and the ability to track all your submissions in your own submissions tracker.
TellTell Poetry Blog Where to Submit lists
MUSE-FEED
Contests, markets, book recommendations & publishing tips for emerging writers.
Newpages Guide to Independent Publishers & University Presses
NewPages.com is news, information, and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, alternative periodicals, indie bookstores, writing contests, and more.
Poets and Writers literary magazines database
Connect your poems, stories, essays, and reviews to the right audiences by researching over twelve hundred literary magazines in our database. Here, you’ll find editorial policies, submission guidelines, contact information—everything you need to direct your work to the publications most amenable to your vision.
Submittable
Search thousands of opportunities from grants to writing to film; track your submissions and get notified when you’re selected.
best places to submit poetry, 2019
by MEIMEI XU, the Adroit Journal, 2019
Erika Krouse’s Ranking of 500 Literary Magazines for Short Fiction
Isabel Rae McKenzie's (@birdpoems) badass, inclusive indie lit mag directory
Paying markets for emerging poets - Trish Hopkinson
Includes A Selfish Poet spreadsheet: Poetry Magazine/Journal Ratings for Emerging Poets with Paying Markets

Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2023 : The Best Advice on How to Write and Get Published
ISBN: 9781472991300

With over 4,000 industry contacts and over eighty articles from a wide range of leading authors and publishing industry professionals, the latest edition of this bestselling Yearbook is packed with all of the practical information, inspiration and guidance you need at every stage of your writing and publishing journey.
Novel and Short Story Writer's Market by Amy Jones (Editor)
ISBN: 9780593332085

Publication Date: 2021

The 40th edition of NSSWM features hundreds of updated listings for book publishers, literary agents, fiction publications, contests, and more. Each listing includes contact information, submission guidelines, and other essential tips.
Poet's Market 34th Edition : The Most Trusted Guide to Publishing Poetry by Robert Lee Brewer
ISBN: 9780593419090

Publication Date: 2021
Writer's Market 100th ed. by Robert Lee Brewer (Editor)
Call Number: UNLV Reference PN161 .W83

ISBN: 9780593332085

Publication Date: 2021

Thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, including listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents--as well as new playwriting and screenwriting sections. These listings feature contact and submission information to help writers get their work published. Beyond the listings, you'll find articles devoted to the business and promotion of writing. Discover 20 literary agents actively seeking writers and their writing, how to develop an author brand, and overlooked funds for writers. This edition also includes the ever-popular pay-rate chart and book publisher subject index!
Guide to Literary Agents 30th Edition by Robert Lee Brewer
ISBN: 9780593332108

Publication Date: 2021

MLA Directory of Periodicals
Good for: Finding editorial contact information for journals in modern languages and literature.
Contains: Editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Good for: Finding information about serials published worldwide.
Contains: Directory of periodicals.

Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world, including whether or not they are peer reviewed. It covers all subjects and includes information about publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Literature in Translation

Words without Borders campus
Contemporary literature in translation from Mexico, Japan, China, Russia and Egypt.

Literature

Produced in Nevada

Inspiration

UNLV MFA programs

Reviews

Literary Magazines

Directories

Literature in Translation

Locations

Contact