Literature

Good for: Researching the lives of women in Great Britain and Ireland.

Contains: Women's letters and diaries.

Dates covered: 1500-1900.

Good for: Reading letters about medieval family life, business, relationships, trade, politics, and community. 

Contains: Archive of correspondence. 

Dates covered: 1400-1500.

Good for: First hand accounts of European exploration, trade and colonization worldwide using primary sources.

Contains: Manuscripts, maps, illustrated documents, diaries, and ship logs.

Dates covered: 1420-1920.

Good for: Searching multiple American history primary source collections.

Contains: Archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.

Dates covered: 1493-1975.

Good for: Exploring primary sources related to American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.

Contains: Archival collections of correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork, and maps.

Dates covered: 1493-1945.

Good for: Finding primary source records of Native American and indigenous groups in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

Contains: Manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books.

Dates covered: 1400-1950s.

Good for: Evidence of changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.

Contains: Primary sources like correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents.

Dates covered: 1500s-1920.

Good for: Exploring colonial history, politics, culture and society from British and European perspectives.

Contains: Primary sources from archival collections.

Dates covered: 1492-1969.

Good for: Examining primary sources that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits. 

Contains: Archival collections.

Dates covered: 1500-present.

Good for: Exploring firsthand travel accounts of British tourists in Europe before 1850.

Contains: Travel accounts.

Dates covered: 1550-1850.

Good for: Documents revealing the history of the book trade and printing/publishing community.

Contains: Primary sources from the Stationers Company in London.

Dates covered: 1554-2007.

Good for: Reading letters about medieval family life, business, relationships, trade, politics, and community. 

Contains: Archive of correspondence. 

Dates covered: 1400-1500.

Good for: Studying journeys to central Asia and the Far East. 

Contains: Manuscripts from European travelers. 

Dates covered: 1200s-1500s.

Good for: Researching the trade in enslaved people in America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba using material examining European, Islamic, and African involvement in the slave trade. 

Contains: Case studies and primary source documents. 

Dates covered: 1490-2007.

Good for: Researching early English literature and culture.

Contains: Most extant printed books in English published before 1700.

Dates covered: 1475-1700.

Good for: Reading primary sources that document the evolution of feminist consciousness and the women's rights movement.

Contains: Books and periodicals.

Dates covered: 1543-1945.

Good for: Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1929) book owned and scanned by a library.

Contains: Digitized books.

Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.

Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.

Dates covered: 1500-1926.

Good for: Finding and using digital images for research and teaching.

Contains: Art digital images and related data.

Good for: Finding scholarship on the Middle Ages and Renaissance.

Contains: Index of secondary sources.

Dates covered: 400-1700.

Good for: Searching across all primary source collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.

Contains: Archival collections.