Good for: Finding editorial contact information for journals in modern languages and literature.
Contains: Editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
Good for: Finding information about serials published worldwide.
Contains: Directory of periodicals.
Literary criticism published in books and journals
Good for: Locating scholarly resources focused on literary interpretation or critical theory.
Contains: Citations to literary criticism in journal articles, book chapters, books, and more.
Dates covered: 1926-present.
Good for: Researching literature, literary criticism and theory, and finding interviews with authors and book reviews.
Contains: Poetry, drama, prose, literature criticism journals, e-books, and key reference resources.
Good for: Finding literary criticism.
Contains: Scholarly articles, overviews, and literary reference works.
Journal articles from many different academic disciplines
Good for: Researching humanities and social sciences topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals and e-books.
Dates covered: 1995-present.
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Search for criticism by line of text (for some canonical texts)
Good for: Creating reading lists or consulting overviews of topics to identify significant scholarship.
Contains: Annotated bibliographies focused on areas of study within a discipline.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Good for: Gathering background information about literary authors and their works.
Contains: Biographical overviews of literary authors.
Good for: Finding the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words.
Contains: Authoritative, researched historical dictionary entries.
Good for: Finding editorial contact information for journals in modern languages and literature.
Contains: Editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
Good for: Reviews of important contemporary literary works published yearly since 1976.
Contains: Book reviews and essays.
Good for: Theatre history research.
Contains: Reference texts, posters, playbills, photos, architectural images, floor plans, and ephemera.
Good for: Finding plays published in anthologies or searching for plays by subject or size and gender of cast.
Contains: Index of plays published in anthologies.
Good for: Background information to start your research.
Contains: Dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, thesauri, and bilingual dictionaries.
Good for: Finding scholarship about English language and literature, literary authors, critical theory, and bibliographic studies.
Contains: Citations to literary criticism published in books, journal articles, and collections of essays.
Good for: Identifying how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to discover the most influential scholarship on a topic.
Contains: Bibliographic information and cited references.
Dates covered: 1975-one week ago.
Good for: Finding scholarship on the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
Contains: Index of secondary sources.
Dates covered: 400-1700.
Good for: Finding articles in popular magazines published before 1983.
Contains: Index to articles.
Dates covered: 1890-1982.
Good for: Finding publications about science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural and weird fiction.
Contains: Citations to articles, chapters, and books.
Good for: Finding scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare’s plays.
Contains: Index of scholarship, performance reviews, recorded performances, and more.
Dates covered: 1966-present.
For reviews of literary works or monographs (=books of criticism & scholarship, usually by one author on a particular topic), try searching some of these databases.
Good for: Researching literature, literary criticism and theory, and finding interviews with authors and book reviews.
Contains: Poetry, drama, prose, literature criticism journals, e-books, and key reference resources.
Good for: Finding literary criticism.
Contains: Scholarly articles, overviews, and literary reference works.
Good for: Creating reading lists or consulting overviews of topics to identify significant scholarship.
Contains: Annotated bibliographies focused on areas of study within a discipline.
Good for: Finding book recommendations based on various criteria.
Contains: Book summaries, professional reviews, and read-alike recommendations.
Good for: Finding out where reviews of a book were published.
Contains: Book abstracts and excerpts and citations of book reviews.
Dates covered: 1983-present.
Good for: Reading essays, letters, poems, and articles from the London Times Literary Supplement.
Contains: Essays, letters, poems, and articles.
Dates covered: 1902-2013.
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Good for: Finding articles in popular magazines published before 1983.
Contains: Index to articles.
Dates covered: 1890-1982.
