LibGuides: Literature: Early modern sources, 1550-1800

Online Reference Books

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
Lexicons of Early Modern English This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1480-1702
Explore word histories in this compilation of over 150 dictionaries from the early modern period
Compiles over 150 monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries and glossaries from the early modern period in which either source or target language is English, as well as linguistic treatises, and encyclopedic or topical works. A half-million word-entries devised by contemporary speakers of early modern English describe the meaning of words, and their equivalents in languages such as French, Italian, Spanish, Latin, Greek, Hebrew, and other tongues encountered then in Europe, America, and Asia.

Short title catalogues

Short Title Catalogs are indexes that provide basic bibliographic information about and abbreviated titles for early printed materials. Many important STCs cover printed materials from the early modern and medieval periods of several European regions:

English Short Title Catalog (ESTC) - Covers printed materials from the beginning of printing in the British Isles, about 1472, to 1700.

Incunabula Short Title Catalog (ISTC) - Covers materials printed in Europe before 1500. This catalog has over 29,000 titles listed.

Universal Short Title Catalog (USTC) - Covers all books published in Europe between the invention of printing and 1600.

Microfilm Research Collections

The history of England during the reigns of K. William, Q. Anne, and K. George I. : with an introductory review of the reigns of the royal brothers, Charles and James ; in which are to be found the seeds of the revolution.
English state trials, 1163-1858
Records of an English village : Earls Colne, 1400-1750
Witchcraft in Europe and America.
BF1566 .R48 1983
This 104 reel collection spans the 15th to the 20th century concentrating primarily on the 16th to the 18th centuries. In addition to the classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists (those who administered torture), legal and church documents, exposes of persecutions, philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms. Included are the pronouncements of advocates of witch persecution - Binsfield, Boguet, Del Rio, Remi- which can be compared and contrasted to the courageous wanting of Bekker, Loher, Loos, Scot, Spee- who doubted the validity of witch believers and witch trials. The majority of texts are in Latin, English, and German.

UNLV Libraries Microform Collection Finder This link opens in a new window
Discover microform research collections at UNLV Libraries.
Browse or search brief descriptions of the research collections available on microform at Lied Library. Use a very broad search term (for example, try "women and history" instead of "Seneca Falls Women's Rights Convention") because this tool searches short summaries of very large microfilmed collection. The Microform Collection Finder does not search the microfilm itself.

Databases: Primary Source Collections, 1550-1800

Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1475-1700
Books on all subjects published in England between 1475 and 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1701-1800
Books on all subjects published in English between 1701 and 1800.

African American Poetry
1746-1900
3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Novels, plays, poetry, traditional African folk materials and non-fictional accounts of African culture and history.

American Drama 1714-1915
1714-1915
1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century.
American Poetry
1740s-1920s
40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, drawn from over 1,200 printed sources.

Black Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1200 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.

Canadian Poetry
1700s-1920s
19,000 poems by 177 poets drawn from over 700 printed sources, many of them rare and inaccessible outside Canada.

Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1920
Primary sources selected to illustrate changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Play scripts and scholarly works from Faber and Faber and Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints.
Over 1000 full text plays, from Aeschylus to the present day, including modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Edward Bond, Harold Pinter, Brian Friel, John Osborne, April De Angelis, and David Hare; contemporary writers include Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.

Early English Prose Fiction
1500-1700
200 novels, prose romances, popular jest books and specimens of rogue literature published in England.

Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1737-1824.
Archive of plays submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824, as well as diaries, playbills, theatre records and correspondence.

Eighteenth Century Fiction
1700-1780
96 works of English prose fiction by writers from the British Isles.
English Drama
1300-1900
3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth.
English Poetry
700-1900
160,000 poems by more than 1250 poets from the British Isles.
English Poetry, second edition
700-1900
Poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, representing more than 2,700 poets. The newly-added works illuminate both the literary heritages of Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries and the poetic legacies of English writers only recently brought back to scholarly attention.

The Grand Tour This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1550-1850
Firsthand travel accounts of British tourists visiting Europe.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-
Memoirs, letters, and essays by Latin American women.
Literary Manuscripts: The Berg Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Victorian literary manuscripts, including unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings, and early print editions.
Literary Manuscripts: the Brotherton Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1660-1830
Manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1554-2007
Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1200s-1500s
Manuscripts from journeys to central Asia and the Far East by European ambassadors, missionaries, and merchants like Marco Polo, Prester John, Sir John Mandeville, and Ruy Gonzalez de Clavijo.
New Oxford Shakespeare Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A new edition of Shakespeare's plays with both modern spelling editions for reading or performing and a critical reference edition with original spelling for literary research.
The authorship companion provides essays about methods and case studies illustrating Shakespeare's collaborations with other authors.
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1770-present
Plays written by women in the United States and Canada.
Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. Plays are also included in North American Theatre Online.
Perdita Manuscripts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1600s
Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary manuscripts, art, letters, diaries, maps and more from Romantic writers including Wordsworth, Coleridge, DeQuincey and more.
Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
Shakespeare in Performance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library for performances of Shakespeare's plays between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Includes digital reproductions of the Folger Library's prompt book collection, predominantly from British and American performances from the late 17th century to 1970. Also includes supporting materials (ephemera, photographs, correspondence, etc.) for 17 selected plays.

Plays

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Play scripts and scholarly works from Faber and Faber and Bloomsbury's Methuen Drama and Arden Shakespeare imprints.
Over 1000 full text plays, from Aeschylus to the present day, including modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Edward Bond, Harold Pinter, Brian Friel, John Osborne, April De Angelis, and David Hare; contemporary writers include Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.
New Oxford Shakespeare Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A new edition of Shakespeare's plays with both modern spelling editions for reading or performing and a critical reference edition with original spelling for literary research.
The authorship companion provides essays about methods and case studies illustrating Shakespeare's collaborations with other authors.

Production details

Performance Design Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos about design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more.
Shakespeare's Globe Archive: Theatres, Players & Performance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1997-2016
Material from the performance and architectural archives of the modern reconstruction of Shakespeare’s 1599 Globe Theatre.
The performance archive shows how productions at the reconstructed Globe and Sam Wanamaker Playhouse were conceived, rehearsed, dressed, marketed, sound tracked, how props were used, how the audiences behaved and the theatre history and performance lessons that were observed and learned. The architectural archive contains material on how the reconstruction of the theatre was designed and planned and some of the conversations and debates that informed construction decisions. In addition, there is also material on the theatre’s annual reports, communications to its supporters and oral histories detailing some of the early history of the reconstructed theatre.
Shakespeare in Performance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library for performances of Shakespeare's plays between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Includes digital reproductions of the Folger Library's prompt book collection, predominantly from British and American performances from the late 17th century to 1970. Also includes supporting materials (ephemera, photographs, correspondence, etc.) for 17 selected plays.

The Shakespeare Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Over 200 prompt books (annotated working texts of stage managers and company prompters) from the 17th to 20th centuries, the extensive diaries of Shakespeare enthusiast Gordon Crosse documenting 500 UK performances from 1890 to 1953, the First Folio and Quartos, editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works from the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, more than 80 works Shakespeare is thought to have been familiar with, as well as works composed by Shakespeare's contemporaries.
Shakespeare Documented
Selected contemporary accounts of plays drawn from the Folger Shakespeare Library
Henslowe-Alleyn Digitisation project
Manuscripts of actor Edward Alleyn (1566-1626). This archive includes his personal and professional papers and those he inherited from his father-in-law Philip Henslowe (d. 1616).
REED: Records of Early English Drama Online
Search through the surviving records of drama, secular music, and other popular entertainment in England from the Middle Ages until 1642.

Bibliography & reference

JSTOR Understanding Shakespeare
Pick a play. Click a line. Instantly see articles on JSTOR that reference the line.

Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1737-1824.
Archive of plays submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824, as well as diaries, playbills, theatre records and correspondence.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1554-2007
Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Annotated citations of scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.
Books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, information about theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, and electronic media

Streaming video

Ambrose Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos, including the BBC Shakespeare collections and A History of American Indian Achievement.
All of these videos are closed captioned and can be viewed full screen.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Hollow Crown series, the Globe on Screen series, LA Theatre Works audio plays and more.
Over 1000 full text plays, from Aeschylus to the present day, including modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Alan Bennett, Caryl Churchill, Edward Bond, Harold Pinter, Brian Friel, John Osborne, April De Angelis, and David Hare; contemporary writers include Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Live from Stratford-Upon-Avon series, Shakespeare series (from LA, 1980s), and related workshop and interpretation videos.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of theatre productions and documentaries about performance.
Theatre in Video presents online streaming video of complete professional performances of more than 250 well-known plays, together with more than 500 video documentaries. View and bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples.

The full text of letters and diary entries, often from works that have been previously published as books containing collections of letters or diaries. Use the Browse indexes to find works about specific historical or life events.

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-1900.
Searchable collection of women's letters and diaries.
Early Modern England This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-1700
Records, correspondence and manuscript collections support research into early modern governance, the networks of prominent families, the organization and dissemination of knowledge in health and medicine, humanities and the sciences, and material cultures.
Includes correspondence, diaries, essays, family papers, and church, legal, government and tax records.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1770-1950
Diaries, journals, and letters written by famous and not-so-famous North American women.

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1690-1923
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1732-1950
National and regional British newspapers representing different political and cultural views.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1789-1924
Historical newspapers from the Library of Congress, including Nevada newspapers.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1603-1800
Newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and newsbooks from the British Library.
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1672-1737
British newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets from the Bodleian Library.
South Carolina Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1732-1775, 1777-1780
The South Carolina Gazette published news and details of life and trade in America during the years prior to independence.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1785-2019
The Times (London) newspaper.

search tips

Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.

American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society, Part I-V (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1684-1912
Popular magazines, newspapers, and journals published in the United States.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-present
Publications documenting the Hispanic culture of the United States - history, literature, political commentary, and culture. Written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
British Periodicals Collection I and II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1681-1920
Popular British periodicals mostly from the 19th century.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1685-1835
Literary, satirical, political, religious and theatrical magazines and newspapers from Britain, Ireland, Scotland, India and the Caribbean.

Looking for a particular magazine? Search for the title in the A-Z list to see if it is available in any database.

A-Z list of journals
Find out if UNLV subscribes to a specific journal or search within the contents of any single journal.

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

African American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1941
Primary source documents from the National Archives about the lives of African Americans in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Age of Exploration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1420-1920
Primary sources like manuscripts, maps and illustrated documents, diaries and ship logs recording the experiences of Europeans as they explored trade routes, colonized the Americas and Australasia, and raced to the North and South Poles.
Americana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all American history archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Combined search of American History, American Indian Histories and Cultures, American West, Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975, Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, and Virginia Company Archives.
American History (Gilder Lehrman collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1945
Primary sources from the Gilder Lehrman collection about American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1400-1950s
Primary sources for American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books from pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
China Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1750-1980
Primary source documents like printed books, pamphlets, paintings, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals offer evidence of Chinese life and culture over the past 300 years
Combined search of: China, America and the Pacific, China: Culture and Society, and China: Trade, Politics and Culture.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1606-1822
British government documents from the CO 5 series about administering the American colonies.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500s-1920
Primary sources selected to illustrate changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.
Early Modern England This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-1700
Records, correspondence and manuscript collections support research into early modern governance, the networks of prominent families, the organization and dissemination of knowledge in health and medicine, humanities and the sciences, and material cultures.
Includes correspondence, diaries, essays, family papers, and church, legal, government and tax records.
East India Company This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1599-1947
British government records from the India Office chart the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship and the Stage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1737-1824.
Archive of plays submitted for license in England between 1737 and 1824, as well as diaries, playbills, theatre records and correspondence.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1492-1969
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1650-1920
Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries and government records from Europeans creating colonies in North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1500-present
Primary source materials that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
The Grand Tour This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1550-1850
Firsthand travel accounts of British tourists visiting Europe.
India, Raj and Empire This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1615-1947
Documents recording the history of South Asia between the initial involvement of the East India Company and Indian and Pakistani independence.
Jewish Life in America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1654-1954
Organizational and personal archival collections including rare printed books and pamphlets from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
Literary Print Culture: The Stationers Company Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1554-2007
Collection of primary source documents related to the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1940
Treaties and correspondence between the US government and American Indian tribes; also photos, census rolls, Dawes packets and enrollment cards.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Politics and Society This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary sources about the development of urban centers and of the restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain.
- Contains: Government and archival collections
- Dates covered: 1750-1916
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1490-2007
Case studies documenting slavery in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba, along with material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe.
- Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys.
- Dates covered: 1779-1930.
Virginia Company Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Researching the Atlantic world and early Colonial period.
- Contains: Archival collection (Ferrar Papers).
- Dates covered: 1590-1790.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-2000
Books, images, historical documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies which document reform activities by and affecting women.

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1923
PDFs of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America, including most books published between 1639-1819.
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1749-1900
Printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems and other printed items never intended to last.
American Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1820-1922
Pamphlets with advice and opinions about all kinds of 19th century controversies.
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1800
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America before 1800.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1801-1819
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America between 1801 and 1819.
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1475-1700
Books on all subjects published in England between 1475 and 1700.
EEBO/Evans/ECCO Text Creation Partnership combination search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1475-1800
Simultaneous search of selected books published between 1475-1800 in England and America.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1701-1800
Books on all subjects published in English between 1701 and 1800.
Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1543-1945
Books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1924) book owned and scanned by a library. UNLV users can login with their ACE accounts and download entire "full view" books/documents.
Making of Modern Law (MOML) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
Cross-search five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926

Digitized photos and art images.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art digital images and related data.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1493-1975
Search all archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), China and the Modern World, London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement.
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1639-1922
Combined search of American historical newspapers (1690-1922), printed books (1639-1819), and pamphlets and ephemera (1749-1922).
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).

Web Sources

18thConnect
Unified search of online 18th century sources and scholarship
English Broadside Ballads Archive
1600-1700
EBBA has made broadside ballads from many different holdings easily and fully accessible: gathered together on one site as ballad sheet facsimiles, facsimile transcriptions, text transcriptions, and recordings, and extensively catalogued.
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles
Entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies.
Poetess Archive
Poetess Archive Database now contains a bibliography of over 4,000 entries for works by and about writers working in and against the “poetess tradition,” the extraordinarily popular, but much criticized, flowery poetry written in Britain and America between 1750 and 1900

Citing Your Sources and Creating a Bibliography

UNLV Libraries citation guide
Get help and resources on creating citations and bibliographies.
ZoteroBib automatic citation formatter
Enter a URL, DOI, ISBN or title to autocreate a citation.
more...less...
No login required so make sure that you save your bibliography by copy/pasting, exporting or making a link!

Mendeley This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliography manager that saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This bibliography manager lets you quickly link to online articles, organize your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
On Oct 31, 2024, UNLV Institutional Edition accounts will be downgraded to 2 GB of free storage and will encounter limits on the number of shared groups they can create. See the Mendeley guide for more information.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.

Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.

Literature