The School of Medicine Library's digital first collection with approximately 97% coverage in electronic resources including journals, ebooks, and databases. The current collections budget is set at $1.5M and supports the collections scope specific to the needs of the Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine faculty, staff, medical students, residents and fellows.
Print Collections
The School of Medicine Library also carries three print collections to support the curricular needs and leisure reading for the Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine faculty, staff, medical students, residents and fellows. Those collections are:
Our commitments:
Provide resources supporting the learning of undergraduate and graduate medical education:
The SOML remains committed to supporting the curricular needs of the Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine and the continued learning of physician trainees and faculty. Below is a list of resources we offer for both undergraduate and graduate medical education:
Provide resources supporting research and scholarly capacity:
As an R1 institution it is critical for SOML to help fund resources that address research and scholarly capacity. Two of the ways we do this as through the SOML Open Article Fund, a pilot program that provides limited funding to cover the cost of article publication charges (APCs). These APCs are fees that authors typically pay to make their articles immediately available for others to read.
And also, by providing a subscription to EndNote to aid in evidence synthesis research. Please email medlib@unlv.edu to request access to this software.
Provide resources supporting diversity, equity, and inclusion:
The SOML strives to add resources that support diversity, equity, and inclusion topics within biomedicine and health. In addition to our digital and print collections, Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine faculty, staff, medical students, residents and fellows have full access to the entire UNLV Libraries collection which includes both in print and digital works within this area. The ability to access the university's vast collection is what sets our library apart from other medical libraries where such access may be restricted. Below are a curated list of resources, however, the full scope of titles can be found by visiting the library's central catalog.
Supporting Academic Health Resources:
The School of Medicine Library and Lied Library are committed to ensuring that funds are utilized as efficiently as possible across collections. One of the ways in which SOML and Lied work together to stretch collections dollars is by cost sharing subscription fees for journal packages. Below is a list of journals and the current cost-sharing percentages.
A cost-sharing exercise was conducted in Spring 2023 between SOML and Lied Library. The following 9 journal packages percentage splits will take place starting in FY24:
Suggest a Subscription Purchase
The SOML welcomes suggestions for purchase of subscription resources, however, we cannot guarantee that items will be added to the collection as cost and budget allotment impact what resources we can subscribe to. If you have a recommended item that serves a curricular or research capacity need, be sure to share this resource in the form below:
Suggest a One-time Purchase
If you are a medical student or faculty that primarily teach medical students and would like to make a suggestion for a one-time purchase such as a print book, please email kathryn.houk@unlv.edu
If you are a resident/fellow or program director, program coordinator, or faculty that primarily teach residents and fellows and would like to make a suggestion for a one-time purchase such as a print book, please email ana.corral@unlv.edu