LibGuides: History: Finding streaming video

Licensed Streaming Video Collections

The UNLV Libraries license a number of streaming video collections that togther provide access to thousands of titles covering all kinds of disciplines and topics. Some offer tools that allow UNLV users to create, save and share video clips and playlists.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Ambrose Videos This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos, including the BBC Shakespeare collections and A History of American Indian Achievement.
All of these videos are closed captioned and can be viewed full screen.
Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming feature films and documentaries in Spanish, Portuguese, and 34 other languages, all with English subtitles. Includes collections of Latin American, Cuban, Brazilian, European and French cinema as well as early 20th century animation.
Each film's license includes public performance rights.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 is a portal for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documentary films reflecting diverse cultures and points of view with relevance across the curriculum.
Award-winning documentaries about topics in international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 14,000 full length educational videos from Films Media Group covering humanities & social sciences, science, business & economics, health, archival films & newsreels.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This streaming video service provides access to thousands of titles in such areas of the arts, humanities, business, sciences, media/communications, education and more.
Source producers include Media Education Foundation, BBC, PBS, Kino Lorber, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, among others.
Sage Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video provides access to nearly 550 videos and 115 hours of Education content including case studies, tutorials, interviews, documentaries, footage of practitioners in real-life professional contexts, and quick-reference definitions.
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1918-1990
Documentaries, newsreels and feature films that reveal the 20th century world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers.
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital movies is a collection of streaming feature films available to the UNLV community.
The titles vary by semester. The movies are streamed through a dedicated movie server using Microsoft Silverlight software. Silverlight is available through a free download and is compatible with both Macs and PCs. Please visit the following page to get Microsoft Silverlight: www.microsoft.com/getsilverlight/
Symptom Media This link opens in a new window
Films for mental health education and training includes the DSM 5 Guided Collection.

History

Licensed Streaming Video Collections

Locations

Contact