Crowdsourced Transcription Projects
Volunteers are trained to read and transcribe online handwritten documents.
Good for: Learning about working with primary sources in history.
Contains: Essays, videos, how-to guides, and case studies.
These subscription collections use handwriting recognition technology to let you keyword search through handwritten documents. There are no transcriptions of the documents at this time.
Good for: Primary source evidence of the British administration of the American colonies.
Contains: British government documents from the Colonial Office (CO 5).
Dates covered: 1606-1822.
Good for: Researching British trade and colonial rule in the Indian subcontinent.
Contains: British government records from the India Office.
Dates covered: 1599-1947.
Good for: Exploring the evolution of food and drink.
Contains: Cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and other primary sources.
Dates covered: 9th century-2015.
Good for: Documents revealing the history of the book trade and printing/publishing community.
Contains: Primary sources from the Stationers Company in London.
Dates covered: 1554-2007.
Good for: Learning about the everyday lives of ordinary British people who participated in social science research.
Contains: Personal diaries, surveys, questionnaires, photos, and printed research analysis.
Dates covered: 1937-1960.
Good for: Studying historical medical advances during warfare.
Contains: Primary sources.
Dates covered: 1850s-1930s.
North America
U.K.
European languages
