LibGuides: History: Las Vegas newspapers

Las Vegas Newspapers

Las Vegas Age

Las Vegas Age, 1905-1947
Browse by date using the list of years at the bottom of the page - the search box at the top will not search within the text of the issues.
Las Vegas Times, 1905-1906
Las Vegas Age & Las Vegas Times
1905-1947
Browse by date using the list of years at the bottom of the page - the search box at the top will not search within the text of the issues.
Las Vegas Age (via Chronicling America)
As of July 2023 Chronicling America has select Saturday issues only.

Las Vegas Sun

Las Vegas Sun (Access Nevada)
- This link opens in a new window
1996-current. Includes occasional issues from 1950-1995.
Las Vegas Sun (website)
1995-current
Las Vegas Sun (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
2010 - current
Las Vegas Sun (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
10/1/2006 - 9/28/2010
Las Vegas Sun (Ebsco)
12/19/2010 -09/11/2018

Las Vegas Review Journal

Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.

Las Vegas Review Journal (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
12/2/1990 - 12/29/2012

Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.

Las Vegas Review Journal (PressReader)
- This link opens in a new window
Complete page images for the most recent 60 days. Includes Las Vegas Sun as a supplement under the LVRJ title.
Las Vegas Review Journal, current

Las Vegas Sentinel-Voice

Las Vegas Sentinel-Voice
includes Las Vegas Voice (1963-1974); Las Vegas Sentinel (1980-1982); Sentinel Voice (1982-2014)

UNLV Student Newspaper

Online Access to Las Vegas Newspapers - summary by date

most recent 2 months. Page images for the Las Vegas Review Journal and Las Vegas Sun in PressReader. (both included under the title Las Vegas Review Journal)
9/29/1996 - present. Full-text articles (no images) for the Las Vegas Review Journal in Access Nevada.
2/19/1996 - present. Full-text articles from the Las Vegas Sun, 2/19/96 -current in Access Nevada. Also includes scattered issues from 1973-1995 and a single issue from 1957.
3/30/1929 - 12/31/1996. Searchable page images for the Las Vegas Review Journal in Access Nevada.
12/2/1990 - 12/31/2012. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Review Journal in ProQuest US Newsstream.
10/1/06-9/28/10. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Sun in ProQuest US Newsstream.
1995 - present. Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Sun on their web site.
1962-66, 1968-70, 1975-1977 Full-text articles for the Las Vegas Sun are available online via Las Vegas-Clark County Library's subscription to NewspaperArchive.com - you must have an LVCCLD card or visit a branch for online access.
1905-1947. Page images for the Las Vegas Age. Selected issues are also searchable online via the Library of Congress' Chronicling America project and Las Vegas-Clark County Library's subscription to NewspaperArchive.com - you must have an LVCCLD card or visit a branch for online access.
1905-1905. Page images for the Las Vegas Times.

Indexing for Las Vegas Newspapers

1983 - 1990 Citations only microfiche index to Las Vegas Review Journal and Las Vegas Sun available at UNLV Lied Library.
1972 - 1982 Citations only to Las Vegas Review Journal and Las Vegas Sun available in NNI Nevada Newspaper Index on UNLV Lied Library microfilm scanning computers. Instructions on how to use. Part of of this database is also online in PDF in Nevada Newspaper Index.
1930 - 8/1968. Las Vegas Review Journal index (citations only) available on index cards at the Cahlan Research Library inside the Nevada Historical Society and Museum, which is located in Springs Preserve. Contact them or call ahead at 702-486-5205 to make an appointment to use the index.
1905 - 1940. Las Vegas Age index (citations only) available on index cards, also at the Cahlan Research Library.

Las Vegas newspapers on microfilm at UNLV
List of microfilmed newspapers with date ranges.
Las Vegas newspapers - current issues
Links to view today's newspaper articles via library subscriptions and your ACE account.

Residents with a Las Vegas - Clark County Library District card can access the following online newspaper archives.

Las Vegas Review-Journal historical collection - 1929-1996 (Newsbank)

Las Vegas Review Journal, 1996-present - (Newsbank)

Las Vegas Sun, 1962-1977 available in NewspaperArchive.com

Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Newspapers (1933-1942)

Want to try fancy Boolean search operators to search the newspaper collections more precisely?

Newsbank Help Documentation
The manual for searching the LVRJ archive and other papers on the Newsbank platform.
more...less...
Not all fields are implemented in the historical archive - if fielded search doesn't work, use the All Text option.

AND, OR, NOT	AND narrows searches by returning only content that includes both key terms. Any number of words can be joined by the AND operator. OR will show results for either or both keywords. NOT narrows a search by eliminating specific aspects of a search. Use NOT to: Include one term, and not the other, such as palms NOT tree. Eliminate irrelevant articles, such as Mexico NOT "New Mexico."
(parentheses)	(cat AND dog) OR mouse will find articles that contain cat and dog OR those that contain the word mouse, regardless of whether they contain cat and dog. (cat) AND (dog or mouse) will find articles that contain the words cat and dog OR cat and mouse.
"exact phrase"	Use quotation marks to search an exact phrase - "Cashman Field" finds Cashman Field, not James Cashman or Cashman Elementary.
*, ?	Wildcards: danc* will find dancers, dancing, dance; wom?n will find items containing woman or women. Wildcards cannot be used within quotations or with proximity operators.
NEARx	x=number of words. Showroom NEAR5 Frontier finds sentences mentioning both a showroom and the Frontier Hotel (or Last Frontier, or Nissan Frontier).
ADJx	ADJ finds terms adjacent. Lee ADJ2 Oswald will return results for both Lee Oswald and Lee Harvey Oswald. Note that x equals the number of words between the two terms.

Nevada Digital Newspaper Project
Details about digitized papers, interactive map of Nevada newspapers, and historical essays about cities and their newspapers