History

Good for: Searching 19th-century African American newspapers.

Contains: African-American newspapers.

Dates covered: 1827-1902.

Good for: Accounts of life, culture and historical events reported in newspapers from every U.S. state.

Contains: Historical newspapers.

Dates covered: 1690-1923.

Good for: Finding national periodicals, local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.

Contains: Newspaper pages.

Dates covered: 1828-2016.

Good for: Finding newspaper reports about life, culture and historical events published in England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Wales, and Scotland.

Contains: National and regional newspapers representing multiple political and cultural views.

Dates covered: 1732-1950.

Good for: Researching historical events through American newspapers, including Nevada newspapers.

Contains: Historical newspapers. 

Dates covered: 1789-1963.

Good for: Reading newspaper reports of major events of the U.S. Civil War. 

Contains: Clippings from Union and Confederate sources. 

Dates covered: 1860-1865.

Good for: News and commentary by and for Hispanic American communities in Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas and New York.

Contains: Newspapers.

Dates covered: 1808-1980.

Good for: Searching newspaper articles by and for the African American communities in Atlanta, Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Los Angeles, New York, Norfolk VA., Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh. 

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1893-2010.

Good for: News and commentary by and for the African-American community in Georgia.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1931-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles from African American reporters reporting from Baltimore and around the world.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1893-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about African American life and culture in Chicago.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1909-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1849-2015.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events from a newspaper known for covering world events.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1908-2007.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles from a newspaper that championed African American political participation. self-reliance and solidarity.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1934-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles from the oldest and largest African American newspaper in the West.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1934-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1881-2016.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about African American culture, history, politics, and the arts in Detroit.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1939-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles from the largest black community weekly in the United States.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1922-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about national and international news and events.

Contains: Newspaper pages.

Dates covered: 1851-2021.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about historical events before 1922.

Contains: Newspaper pages.

Dates covered: 1841-1922.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles with in-depth coverage of news and events by and for African Americans in Virginia.

Contains: Newspapers.

Dates covered: 1916-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles from the oldest continuously published Black newspaper in the US.

Contains: Newspapers.

Dates covered: 1912-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles from a prominent Black newspaper with a large circulation.

Contains: Newspapers.

Dates covered: 1911-2010.

Good for: Finding newspaper coverage of news and events in Asia from English speaking reporters in Hong Kong.

Contains: Newspapers.

Dates covered: 1903-2001.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Washington, D.C. and beyond.

Contents: Newspaper pages.

Dates covered: 1877-2007.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles in Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009); also includes selected 20th century newspapers from St. George, UT, and Tulare County and Salinas, CA.

Contains: Newspaper pages.

Dates covered: 1876-2010.

Good for: Researching historical news in Las Vegas. 

Contains: Page images of the Las Vegas Review-Journal. 

Dates covered: 1929-1996.

Good for: Finding articles from American newspapers of the 19th century. 

Contains: Newspapers. 

Dates covered: 1800-1900.

Good for: Searching for articles in the San Francisco Chronicle newspaper.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: Page images for 1865-1984; article text only for 1985-present.

Good for: Researching British essays, news and events from the 17th and 18th centuries. 

Contains: Newspapers, pamphlets, proclamations, and newsbooks. 

Dates covered: 1603-1800.

Good for: Researching British essays, news and events from the 17th and 18th centuries. 

Contains: British newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsheets. 

Dates covered: 1672-1737.

Good for: Learning about life and trade in colonial America.

Contains: The South Carolina Gazette newspaper.

Dates covered: 1732-1775; 1777-1780.

Good for: Finding articles from The Times (London). 

Contains: The Times newspaper. 

Dates covered: 1785-2019.

Good for: Searching periodicals published by African American churches, educational and service institutions.

Contains: Newspapers and magazines.

Dates covered: 1816-1922.

Good for: Searching articles published in popular 19th century magazines, newspapers, and journals in the United States.

Contains: Periodicals.

Dates covered: 1684-1912.

Good for: Searching American magazines and journals published mostly before 1900.

Contains: Magazines and journals.

Dates covered: 1740-1940.

Good for: Studying Hispanic culture in the United States.

Contains: Publications in Spanish and English.

Dates covered: 1750-present.

Good for: Searching articles in magazines about British culture and society.

Contains: Popular British periodicals, mostly from the 19th century.

Dates covered: 1681-1920.

Good for: Reading articles with perspective on historical events and trends from The Economist magazine. 

Contains: Issues of The Economist. 

Dates covered: 1843-2015.

Good for: Finding out about 18th-century British and Irish culture through magazines and newspapers. 

Contains: Literary, satirical, political, religious and theatrical publications from England, Ireland, Scotland, India and the Caribbean. 

Dates covered: 1685-1835.

Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries. 

Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.

Dates covered: 1880-2015.

Good for: Reading firsthand accounts of 19th-century American society, history and culture.

Contains: PDF images and scanned text of articles from the popular magazine.

Dates covered: 1830-1898.

Good for: Studying changes in American fashion, culture, and society. 

Contains: Harper's Bazaar magazine. 

Dates covered: 1867-present.

Good for: Magazine articles about 20th century celebrities and the popular music and film industries.

Contains: Film industry and fan publications.

Dates covered: 1903-1995.

Good for: Gaining insights into British home life and leisure reading in the Victorian age. 

Contains: Magazines. 

Dates covered: 1800-1900.

Good for: Evidence of the activities and interests of British imperial colonizers, settlers, missionaries, and travelers. 

Contains: Magazines. 

Dates covered: 1800-1900.

Good for: Researching colonial and early post-colonial India. 

Contains: Journals, books, primary source documents, and film booklets.

Good for: Reading essays, letters, poems, and articles from the London Times Literary Supplement. 

Contains: Essays, letters, poems, and articles. 

Dates covered: 1902-2013.

Good for: Researching fashion and culture.

Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.

Dates covered: 1892-present.

Good for: Searching North American women's magazines and their historical context. 

Contains: Women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence. 

Dates covered: 1887-2005.

Good for: Studying fashion industry history and trends.

Contains: Trade publication Women’s Wear Daily.

Dates covered: 1910-present.

Good for: Evidence about the lives of African Americans in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Contains: Government records of individuals including military service records, court documents, and emancipation and manumission papers.

Dates covered: 1792-1941.

Good for: Studying African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and North Carolina.

Contains: Primary sources.

Dates covered: 1860s-1980s.

Good for: First hand accounts of European exploration, trade and colonization worldwide using primary sources.

Contains: Manuscripts, maps, illustrated documents, diaries, and ship logs.

Dates covered: 1420-1920.

Good for: Learning about World War II from personal perspectives.

Contains: Oral histories, government documents, correspondence, photos, and digitized artifacts.

Dates covered: 1937-1950.

Good for: Searching multiple American history primary source collections.

Contains: Archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.

Dates covered: 1493-1975.

Good for: Searching historical product catalogs and exploring advertising and marketing campaigns.

Contains: Archival records of ad agencies, marketing campaigns and catalogs.

Dates covered: 1850-1990s.

Good for: Exploring primary sources related to American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.

Contains: Archival collections of correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork, and maps.

Dates covered: 1493-1945.

Good for: Finding primary source records of Native American and indigenous groups in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

Contains: Manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books.

Dates covered: 1400-1950s.

Good for: Examining primary sources collected to document the history of the American West.

Contains: Pamphlets, maps, books, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources.

Dates covered: 1830-1939.

Good for: Studying the history of South Africa's apartheid regime.

Contains: British government files.

Dates covered: 1948-1980.

Good for: Searching a large collection of British government and agency records.

Contains: Government and agency records.

Dates covered: 1833-1981.

Good for: Researching LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.

Contains: Primary sources.

Dates covered: 1940-present.

Good for: Searching across many collections of historical primary source documents.

Contains: Collections from government archives, libraries, museums, and cultural heritage organizations.

Good for: Primary sources from the civil rights movement in the United States. 

Contains: Official publications and primary source material including records of the NAACP, papers from presidential administrations, and relevant records from the FBI and other federal agencies. 

Dates covered: 1901-2000.

Good for: Scholarly articles, reference and historical sources for Black Studies.

Contains: Journal articles, historical newspapers, and essays.

Good for: Studying the history of displaced people, refugees, and undocumented or unauthorized migrants.

Contains: Primary source documents, archival collections, documentary films, and ephemera.

Dates covered: 1800-present.

Good for: Researching international affairs from a British perspective.

Contains: Commentary, speeches, and analysis from a nonprofit NGO.

Dates covered: 1920-2008.

Good for: Studying China's relations with the West in the 19th and early 20th century. 

Contains: Academic and literary journals and missionary periodicals in English about China. 

Dates covered: 1817-1949.

Good for: Researching China and its relations with the West during the late Qing and Republican periods. 

Contains: Official correspondence, dispatches, reports, memoranda, and records of the Maritime Customs Service of China. 

Dates covered: 1858-1949.

Good for: Exploring Chinese life and culture over the past 300 years. 

Contains: Primary source documents like printed books, pamphlets, paintings, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers, and periodicals. 

Dates covered: 1750-1980.

Good for: Researching the life and career of Winston Churchill, British Prime Minister during and after World War II. 

Contains: Primary sources including personal papers and official records. 

Dates covered: 1690-1965 (mainly 1940-1955).

Good for: Understanding the perspective of Anglican missionary administrators and workers on cultural encounters around the world. 

Contains: Newspapers, journals, and reports. 

Dates covered: 1804-2009.

Good for: Primary source evidence of the British administration of the American colonies. 

Contains: British government documents from the Colonial Office (CO 5). 

Dates covered: 1606-1822.

Good for: Primary sources documenting European colonization of the African continent from the British government’s perspective.

Contains: Government records from the British Colonial Office and Foreign Office.

Dates covered: 1834-1966.

Good for: Primary sources recording the British perspective on Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.

Contains: Government and agency records.

Dates covered: 1833-1969.

Good for: Primary sources about British involvement in the Levant, the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.

Contains: Government and agency records.

Dates covered: 1839-1969.

Good for: Primary sources generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices about events in the United States, Canada, and the English-speaking Caribbean.

Contains: Government and agency records.

Dates covered: 1824-1961.

Good for: Evidence of changing views about gender, themed around conduct, domesticity, consumption and leisure, education, and the body.

Contains: Primary sources like correspondence, advice literature, periodicals, ephemera and government documents.

Dates covered: 1500s-1920.

Good for: Researching British trade and colonial rule in the Indian subcontinent.

Contains: British government records from the India Office.

Dates covered: 1599-1947.

Good for: Examining scripts of plays submitted for license in England before 1824.

Contains: Archive of plays, diaries, playbills, theatre records, and correspondence.

Dates covered: 1737-1824.

Good for: Exploring colonial history, politics, culture and society from British and European perspectives.

Contains: Primary sources from archival collections.

Dates covered: 1492-1969.

Good for: Studying American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Contains: Primary sources like periodicals, pamphlets and books.

Dates covered: 1800-1920.

Good for: Studying personal experiences, propaganda, visual perspectives, and narratives of the First World War. 

Contains: Archival collections, films, and oral histories. 

Dates covered: 1900-1950.

Good for: Exploring the evolution of food and drink.

Contains: Cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and other primary sources.

Dates covered: 9th century-2015.

Good for: Understanding the history of food and culture. 

Contains: Archival materials, images, secondary works, documentaries, series, and visual ephemera. 

Dates covered: 1900-present.

Good for: Primary sources documenting British relations with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.

Contains: British Foreign Office files.

Dates covered: 1919-1980.

Good for: Primary sources documenting the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan from the viewpoint of British officials.

Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office and Dominions Office.

Dates covered: 1947-1980.

Good for: Primary sources documenting Japanese imperialism, the War in the Pacific, the Occupation of Japan, and Japan's rise to great power status from the perspective of British diplomats.

Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office.

Dates covered: 1919-1952.

Good for: Understanding the events in the Middle East during the 1970s, such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution.

Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office.

Dates covered: 1971-1981.

Good for: Studying European colonization in North America, Africa, and Australasia.

Contains: Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries, and government records.

Dates covered: 1650-1920.

Good for: History of 19th century New York City.

Contains: Community histories, atlases, and other primary sources.

Dates covered: 1801-1900.

Good for: Studying the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, like women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, family and the body. 

Contains: Primary sources like personal papers, diaries, and organizational records. 

Dates covered: 1800-present.

Good for: Researching the Gilded Age and Progressive Era in America through collections from key industrial corporations, charities, influential families, and cultural institutions.

Contains: Archival collections.

Dates covered: 1870-1920.

Good for: Examining primary sources that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits. 

Contains: Archival collections.

Dates covered: 1500-present.

Good for: Exploring firsthand travel accounts of British tourists in Europe before 1850.

Contains: Travel accounts.

Dates covered: 1550-1850.

Good for: Analyzing historical corporate performance. 

Contains: Corporate annual reports. 

Dates covered: 1884-2008.

Good for: Understanding key human rights issues and atrocities of the twentieth century.

Contains: Primary and secondary sources, including television footage, photographs, presidential archives, government documents, NGO and court documentation, maps, and reference entries.

Good for: Studying the history of South Asia between the initial involvement of the East India Company and Indian and Pakistani independence.

Contains: Primary sources from colonial government and archival collections.

Dates covered: 1615-1947.

Good for: Studying 20th-century American advertising through the archives of a prominent ad agency.

Contains: Primary sources like brand case studies and account files.

Dates covered: 1880s-1990s.

Good for: Exploring American Jewish history through organizational records and archival collections. 

Contains: Archival collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. 

Dates covered: 1654-1954.

Good for: Studying the works of Hispanic-American writers and activists.

Contains: Primary sources.

Dates covered: 1800-1960.

Good for: Studying the history of tourism. 

Contains: Archival material from Thomas Cook travel agency. 

Dates covered: 1850-1980.

Good for: Reading narratives from seafarers in journals, memoirs and court records from the Anglo-American maritime world.

Contains: Primary research collection.

Dates covered: 1600-1900.

Good for: Documents revealing the history of the book trade and printing/publishing community.

Contains: Primary sources from the Stationers Company in London.

Dates covered: 1554-2007.

Good for: Studying 19th-century London street culture. 

Contains: Primary sources like ballads, slang dictionaries, brothel guides, and posters. 

Dates covered: 1800-1910.

Good for: Records of British Prime Minister Harold Macmillan’s government and selected policy committees. 

Contains: Archival collection. 

Dates covered: 1957-1963.

Good for: Studying the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century. 

Contains: Market Research reports and other primary sources from the archives of Ernest Dichter and the Institute for Motivational Research. 

Dates covered: 1935-1965.

Good for: Learning about the everyday lives of ordinary British people who participated in social science research.

Contains: Personal diaries, surveys, questionnaires, photos, and printed research analysis.

Dates covered: 1937-1960.

Good for: Studying historical medical advances during warfare. 

Contains: Primary sources.

Dates covered: 1850s-1930s.

Good for: Reading letters about medieval family life, business, relationships, trade, politics, and community. 

Contains: Archive of correspondence. 

Dates covered: 1400-1500.

Good for: Studying journeys to central Asia and the Far East. 

Contains: Manuscripts from European travelers. 

Dates covered: 1200s-1500s.

Good for: Studying Japan and its relations with the West.

Contains: Publications, papers, journals, and diaries of Edward Sylvester Morse.

Dates covered: 1850s-1930s.

Good for: Primary sources about Mexican history.

Contains: Documents from the Latin Americana Collection at The Bancroft Library, including rare manuscripts and visual materials like maps, photographs, illustrations and graphic art.

Dates covered: 1500-1929

Good for: Studying Arab-Israeli relations through documents from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers.

Contains: Primary source documents.

Dates covered: 1917-1970.

Good for: Studying migration from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe, and Asia to the New World and Australasia. 

Contains: Personal accounts, correspondence, maps, plans, and photos. 

Dates covered: 1800-1924.

Good for: Studying the history of the NAACP, discrimination against African Americans, and the civil rights movement.

Contains: Selected primary source documents from the NAACP archives.

Dates covered: 1913-1965.

Good for: Evidence of the relationship between the U.S. government and Native American individuals and communities.

Contains: Treaties, correspondence, photos, census rolls, Dawes packets, and enrollment cards.

Dates covered: 1792-1940.

Good for: Finding primary sources about the development of urban centers and of the restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain.

Contains: Government and archival collections.

Dates covered: 1750-1916.

Good for: Finding primary source documentation related to the European “Scramble for Africa,” colonial conquest and the legacy of slavery, missionaries, explorers, economics, world politics, and international strategy.

Contains: Books, manuscripts, government records and newspaper accounts.

Dates covered: 1800-1906.
 

Good for: Researching the Nixon presidency and impeachment from the perspective of the British Foreign Office. 

Contains: Archival collection of British government records. 

Dates covered: 1969-1974.

Good for: Studying fringe political movements. 

Contains: Campaign materials, periodicals, propaganda, government records, oral histories, and ephemera. 

Dates covered: 1900-2000.

Good for: Studying popular culture in the US and Britain through music and alternative publications. 

Contains: Primary sources. 

Dates covered: 1950-1975.

Good for: Exploring the industry around 19th-century American commercial health products.

Contains: Advertising pamphlets, trade cards, posters, and promotional work.

Dates covered: 1800-1900.

Good for: Examining records of humanitarian aid for displaced persons and refugees after World War II. 

Contains: Records from the National Archives of the UK. 

Dates covered: 1945-1950.

Good for: Studying the fight for civil rights. 

Contains: Speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses. 

Dates covered: 1943-1970.

Good for: Studying signals intelligence reports and government policy and strategy from the British government.

Contains: Documents from The National Archives, U.K.

Dates covered: 1873-1953.

Good for: Exploring the story of World War II through newspapers for members of the armed forces.

Contains: Newspapers.

Dates covered: 1939-1948.

Good for: Researching the trade in enslaved people in America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba using material examining European, Islamic, and African involvement in the slave trade. 

Contains: Case studies and primary source documents. 

Dates covered: 1490-2007.

Good for: Viewing documentaries, newsreels, and feature films from a socialist perspective.

Contains: Films by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers.

Dates covered: 1918-1990.

Good for: Researching colonial and early post-colonial India. 

Contains: Journals, books, primary source documents, and film booklets.

Good for: Studying consumer advertising, marketing, and life in America.

Contains: Catalogs, price lists, and brochures.

Dates covered: 1850-1950.

Good for: Exploring travel writing and its history.

Contains: Manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, drawings, guidebooks, and photographs.

Dates covered: 1818-1974.

Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe. 

Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys. 

Dates covered: 1779-1930.

Good for: Primary sources recording details of agriculture, business and enslaved people in the Atlantic world and early Colonial period. 

Contains: Archival collection (Ferrar Papers). 

Dates covered: 1590-1790.

Good for: Studying witch hunts and related topics. 

Contains: Manuscripts, pamphlets, and books. 

Dates covered: 1500-1930.

Good for: Gaining an in-depth look at the women's suffrage movement in the US. 

Contains: Newspaper collections. 

Dates covered: 1849-1913.

Good for: Documents recording the experiences of colonized women.

Contains: Primary sources.

Dates covered: 1820-present.

Good for: Studying women's reform activities.

Contains: Books, images, historical documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.

Dates covered: 1600-2000.

Good for: Primary sources about woman suffrage and women’s roles in Britain and its territories.

Contains: Archival collection, finding aid for women’s studies in the National Archives U.K.

Dates covered: 1903-1962.

Good for: Primary sources collected from world's fairs, exhibitions, and expos.

Contains: Official records, monographs, publicity, artwork, and artifacts.

Dates covered: 1851-2000s.

Good for: Accessing historical books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in North America.

Contains: PDFs of monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, and ephemera.

Dates covered: 1639-1923.

Good for: Exploring printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems, and other ephemeral items from the past.

Contains: Printed ephemera.

Dates covered: 1749-1900.

Good for: Exploring 19th-century controversies through published advice and opinions.

Contains: Pamphlets.

Dates covered: 1820-1922.

Good for: Reading publications that document early American history and culture.

Contains: Books, pamphlets, and broadsides.

Dates covered: 1639-1800.

Good for: Searching or reading early American publications. 

Contains: Books, pamphlets, and broadsides. 

Dates covered: 1801-1819.

Good for: Researching early English literature and culture.

Contains: Most extant printed books in English published before 1700.

Dates covered: 1475-1700.

Good for: Researching 18th-century English literature and culture.

Contains: Most extant books published in English.

Dates covered: 1701-1800.

Good for: Reading primary sources that document the evolution of feminist consciousness and the women's rights movement.

Contains: Books and periodicals.

Dates covered: 1543-1945.

Good for: Access to nearly any public domain (pre-1929) book owned and scanned by a library.

Contains: Digitized books.

Good for: Researching historical legal materials. 

Contains: Treatises, primary sources, trials, and foreign, comparative, and international law. 

Dates covered: 1600-1926.

Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.

Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.

Dates covered: 1500-1926.

Good for: Researching colonial and early post-colonial India. 

Contains: Journals, books, primary source documents, and film booklets.

Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information. 

Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. 

Dates covered: 1789-present.

Good for: Researching U.S. legislative history. 

Contains: Searchable full text of U.S. bills and resolutions. 

Dates covered: 1789-present.

Good for: Researching legal topics.

Contains: Law journals and federal legal materials.

Good for: Searching a range of sources about government administration of the armed forces along with issues confronting the military on and off the battlefield. 

Contains: Government reports, laws, legislative histories, ebooks, and scholarly articles. 

Dates covered: 1751-present.

Good for: Primary sources recording the history of U.S. territories before statehood.

Contains: Archival records. 

Dates covered: 1764-1953.

Good for: Understanding Britain's role in political, social, economic, and foreign policy arenas through records of Parliament.

Contains: Bills, reports, correspondence, and command papers.

Dates covered: 1801-2000.

Good for: Searching a large collection of British government and agency records.

Contains: Government and agency records.

Dates covered: 1833-1981.

Good for: Primary sources documenting European colonization of the African continent from the British government’s perspective.

Contains: Government records from the British Colonial Office and Foreign Office.

Dates covered: 1834-1966.

Good for: Primary sources recording the British perspective on Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.

Contains: Government and agency records.

Dates covered: 1833-1969.

Good for: Primary sources about British involvement in the Levant, the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.

Contains: Government and agency records.

Dates covered: 1839-1969.

Good for: Primary sources generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices about events in the United States, Canada, and the English-speaking Caribbean.

Contains: Government and agency records.

Dates covered: 1824-1961.

Good for: Researching British trade and colonial rule in the Indian subcontinent.

Contains: British government records from the India Office.

Dates covered: 1599-1947.

Good for: Exploring colonial history, politics, culture and society from British and European perspectives.

Contains: Primary sources from archival collections.

Dates covered: 1492-1969.

Good for: Primary sources documenting British relations with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan.

Contains: British Foreign Office files.

Dates covered: 1919-1980.

Good for: Primary sources documenting the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan from the viewpoint of British officials.

Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office and Dominions Office.

Dates covered: 1947-1980.

Good for: Primary sources documenting Japanese imperialism, the War in the Pacific, the Occupation of Japan, and Japan's rise to great power status from the perspective of British diplomats.

Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office.

Dates covered: 1919-1952.

Good for: Understanding the events in the Middle East during the 1970s, such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution.

Contains: Archival collection from the British Foreign Office.

Dates covered: 1971-1981.

Good for: Studying the history of South Asia between the initial involvement of the East India Company and Indian and Pakistani independence.

Contains: Primary sources from colonial government and archival collections.

Dates covered: 1615-1947.

Good for: Researching historical legal materials. 

Contains: Treatises, primary sources, trials, and foreign, comparative, and international law. 

Dates covered: 1600-1926.

Good for: Studying Arab-Israeli relations through documents from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers.

Contains: Primary source documents.

Dates covered: 1917-1970.

Good for: Examining records of humanitarian aid for displaced persons and refugees after World War II. 

Contains: Records from the National Archives of the UK. 

Dates covered: 1945-1950.

Good for: Studying significant British historical documents. 

Contains: Primary sources like treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings, plus editorial commentary. 

Dates covered: 476-1914.

Good for: Researching colonial and early post-colonial India. 

Contains: Journals, books, primary source documents, and film booklets.

Good for: Exploring world events, British politics, and human interest stories through newsreel films.

Contains: Newsreel films.

Dates covered: 1911-1930.

Good for: Texts on the invention and early history of photography, collections of photographs, photograph albums, and early books illustrated with photos.

Contains: Books, photographs.

Dates covered: 1800s-early 1900s.

Good for: Finding and using digital images for research and teaching.

Contains: Art digital images and related data.

Good for: Finding images held by the Library of Congress. 

Contains: Images.

Good for: Searching across all primary source collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.

Contains: Archival collections.

Good for: Searching all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously. 

Contains: Newspapers. 

Dates covered: 1841-2014.

Good for: Searching historical periodicals.

Contains: Magazine and journal articles.

Dates covered: 1740-1940 with some more recent.

Good for: Searching across historical newspapers and books for primary sources about American life and culture.

Contains: American historical newspapers, printed books, pamphlets, and ephemera.

Dates covered: 1639-1922.

Good for: Searching across many collections of historical primary source documents.

Contains: Collections from government archives, libraries, museums, and cultural heritage organizations.

Good for: Searching across all primary source collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.

Contains: Archival collections.