Hathi Trust
For books and periodicals in the public domain (printed before 1928), the Hathi Trust is a reliable source for scanned copies. No login is required to read them onscreen, but if you want to download a PDF of the whole book, log in by selecting UNLV from the institutional access drop-down menu and you'll be redirected to use your ACE account.
Internet Archive
Some books still under copyright can be borrowed from the Internet Archive Open Library. These books cannot be downloaded but can be viewed on screen for one hour. Create a free Internet Archive account to borrow books for one hour viewing sessions. The controlled digital lending model only allows online viewing of corresponding print copies owned by the Open Library, so if the book you want can't be borrowed because it is in use, search to see if another copy has been scanned. Some publishers may require you to use Adobe Digital Editions instead of your browser to view a borrowed book.
WorldCat lets you search the holdings of libraries across the world.
Interlibrary Loans: To request a book that you find listed there, use the UNLV Find Text button and select Request from another library (interlibrary loan). When you log in with your ILLiad account, it will generate a filled-out request form.
Good for: Searching library holdings worldwide.
Contains: Catalog of library holdings.
Dates covered: 11th century-present.
Current academic titles
Good for: Academic books in all subject areas.
Contains: eBooks, reports, and other resources
Good for: eBooks on a wide range of subjects
Contains: Books and reports
Good for: Accessing online history books with extra linked content.
Contains: History books.
Books published before 1927
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926.
Good for: Researching early English literature and culture.
Contains: Most extant printed books in English published before 1700.
Dates covered: 1475-1700.
Good for: Researching 18th-century English literature and culture.
Contains: Most extant books published in English.
Dates covered: 1701-1800.
Good for: Reading publications that document early American history and culture.
Contains: Books, pamphlets, and broadsides.
Dates covered: 1639-1800.
Good for: Searching or reading early American publications.
Contains: Books, pamphlets, and broadsides.
Dates covered: 1801-1819.
Good for: Reading primary sources that document the evolution of feminist consciousness and the women's rights movement.
Contains: Books and periodicals.
Dates covered: 1543-1945.
