It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This article describes the picture that underscores how systemic racism has calcified within many of America’s institutions, creating sharply disparate outcomes in housing, education, the economy, law enforcement and health care.
About this Guide
This guide is intended to help you look at resources that may be helpful for further understanding topics you will be discussed across the course of this panel series. You will find ebooks, statistics, reference books, and popular sources to help you further deepen your knowledge.
Our Learning Pact With You:
Clear, organized resources are available that help you dig deeper if you wish.
A variety of learning formats to ensure your learning needs are met.
Resources are meant to be a supportive way for you to share and discuss ideas, in class, at home, or wherever you are in the world.
Subject matter can be sensitive, but it will be treated with dignity and respect.
Your Learning Pact With Us:
Please consider these materials with open-mindedness, empathy, and curiosity.
Everyone is coming to these materials with their lived experience -- be aware that there are real people connected to these identities, so try very hard to not be immediately dismissive of things you disagree with.
Push through your discomfort at learning how unfair systems, institutions, etc. have actually been in the country, state, city, and sometimes neighborhood you may love and have never experienced similar treatment in.
Consider using your new localized knowledge to help improve things in Las Vegas or at UNLV!
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
This guide was originally created to focus a lens on the challenges faced by those in Las Vegas's historically African-American communities but has since evolved to encompass Las Vegas's myriad of diverse heritages and backgrounds! This guide is intended to open UNLV's collections to the community as well as to highlight the research, services, as well as the expertise of UNLV scholars, Las Vegas community fixtures, and students who are involved in sharing the lived experiences of those that make up our community! A multitude of resources are available to address different learning styles may also find these audio resources digestible in a different way than reading may be. If you have any suggestions for additional ways of learning or resources you might like to be added, please contact the guide creator at email@example.com
What's CODE SWITCH? It's the fearless conversations about race that you've been waiting for! Hosted by journalists of color, our podcast tackles the subject of race head-on. We explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between.
Where did the notion of “whiteness” come from? What does it mean? What is whiteness for? Scene on Radio host and producer John Biewen took a deep dive into these questions, along with an array of leading scholars and regular guests.
Latinos Who Lunch is a podcast hosted by artist FavyFav and art historian Babelito. Join them as they discuss everything from pop culture and art to issues of race, gender and class in Latinx communities. Tune in to these Las Vegas locals!
We will introduce you to a diverse mix of community members - some of whom you may know and others who you’ve yet to meet. Our goal is to share their stories, your stories, our stories, and we hope you will join us for each and every conversation because we’re all richer when we strive to understand one another.
Hosts and life-long best friends Angela Lin and Jesse Lin explore their identities as Asian-Americans through the lens of their first-generation upbringings and how those influences have shaped how they see the world and their place in it.
Native Opinion is a unique Indigenous culture education Radio show & podcast from an American Indian perspective on current affairs. The Hosts of this show are Michael Kickingbear, an enrolled member of the Mashantucket Pequot tribal nation of Connecticut and David GreyOwl, of the Echoda Eastern Band of Cherokee nation of Alabama.