It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This article describes the picture that underscores how systemic racism has calcified within many of America’s institutions, creating sharply disparate outcomes in housing, education, the economy, law enforcement and health care.
About this Guide
This guide is intended to help you look at resources that may be helpful for further understanding topics you will come across in the course of this panel series. You will find ebooks, statistics, reference books, and popular sources to help you further deepen your knowledge.
What will be discussed in this Panel Series?
This virtual educational series will feature university and community experts discussing issues on race and seeking solutions for a more inclusive society.
Topics will include race-related media coverage, economics, health care, criminal justice, education, and how we move forward.
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
Basic facts about history, culture and lifestyles in 187 countries.
Cultural reports for 187 countries and territories each including 25 categories such as land and climate, history, personal appearance, greetings, gestures, family, diet, holidays, economy, education, health, and events and trends.
Alternate name: Culturegrams World Edition
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more.
Data is available at many common geographic entities (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, metro area) as well as unique geographies such as school districts and political boundaries. Data is accessible in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports; data is also downloadable as comma-separated value (.csv) files. The maps can be printed, emailed, or saved as image files.
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
This guide was created to focus a lens on Las Vegas's African-American community but understanding that Las Vegas is full of diverse heritages and backgrounds, here are some additional resources that acknowledge some of those other heritages as well. Audio resources can offer some meaningful takeaways that are perfect for those trying to learn more on the go. Those who have different learning styles may also find these audio resources digestible in a different way than reading may be. If you have any suggestions for additional ways of learning or resources you might like to be added, please contact the guide creator at firstname.lastname@example.org
What's CODE SWITCH? It's the fearless conversations about race that you've been waiting for! Hosted by journalists of color, our podcast tackles the subject of race head-on. We explore how it impacts every part of society — from politics and pop culture to history, sports and everything in between. This podcast makes ALL OF US part of the conversation — because we're all part of the story.
Latinos Who Lunch is a podcast hosted by artist FavyFav and art historian Babelito. Join them as they discuss everything from pop culture and art to issues of race, gender and class in Latinx communities. Tune in to these Las Vegas locals!
We will introduce you to a diverse mix of community members - some of whom you may know and others who you’ve yet to meet. Our goal is to share their stories, your stories, our stories, and we hope you will join us for each and every conversation because we’re all richer when we strive to understand one another.
Native Opinion is a unique Indigenous culture education Radio show & podcast from an American Indian perspective on current affairs. The Hosts of this show are Michael Kickingbear, an enrolled member of the Mashantucket Pequot tribal nation of Connecticut and David GreyOwl, of the Echoda Eastern Band of Cherokee nation of Alabama. Together they present Indigenous views on American history, politics, the environment, and culture. This show is open to all people, and its main focus is to provide education and insight about all things Native American.