Skip to main content

History

Explore resources used by historians

Online Collections

These sites are excellent starting points for discovering the millions of historical resources available online.

Finding Collections

Congressional Records

The more you know about existing government records, the easier time you will have locating them.

You can search indexes of congressional documents online using Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) or FDsys (formerly GPO Access).

An alternate approach is to use the CQ Electronic Library to read summaries and legislative histories written by journalists in publications like Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly. Those summaries can lead you to particular reports and hearing transcripts that can be located either online or in the microfiche Serials Set collection.

Archives & Special Collections at UNLV

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews   Manuscripts   Photo Collections  

View manuscript collections by subject
 

Research Collections on Microform

Research Collections on microfilm & fiche

Browse or visit the web page to search brief descriptions of available microform research collections.

 

Time Period: Browse collections by date

 

All collections by Title | All collections by Subject

US Government docs - online sources

Reports of Explorations printed in the documents of the United States government microfilm

Reports of explorations printed in the documents of the United States government

Research Publications, 1971, MICROFILM
Collection Dates: 01/01/1540 - 12/31/1898
Location: UNLV Microforms, 2nd floor, Q115 .R74 1971 (72 reels)
 
This 72 reel microfilm collection contains information on many varied explorations throughout the United States and some world expeditions. A few countries include: South America, Japan, China, Mongolia, Tibet, and the Arctic and Antarctic regions. Reports were mainly published between the years 1803 - 1898. However, some world reports, such as Coronado's expedition, contain information dating back to 1540. Many of these reports are primary sources or contain primary source information. Findings include a diverse range of subjects: anthropology, botany, geology, topography, hydrology, ornithology, paleontology and zoology. Studies cover a broad range of topics such as routes of railroads and wagon roads, geological and geographical reports of many Western U.S. regions, Indian tribes and their cultures, i.e. The sacred formulas of the Cherokees, etc.

Finding Aids: Reports of explorations printed in the documents of the United States Government [A contribution toward a bibliography] (MICRO Z1236 .U68 1969). This guide is a reel index sorted alphabetical by main entry - the reel numbers are handwritten in the margins. This guide is not a subject index although some subject entries are included. The library has author, title and subject catalog cards for this collection located in the low card catalog drawers in the northeast corner of the microform cabinet area (as of 2017) - reel numbers are also penciled on these cards. A map of the Hydrographical basin of the Upper Mississippi River accompanies reel 35 no. 358 and is located with the microform finding aids (MICRO Q115 .R74 1971).

Finding Aid

Are any of these available in print?

UNLV Libraries Special Collections and Archives has original print copies or facsimiles of a few of these reports that describe early Nevada in their Reading Room - see a list of highlights or search the library catalog for a specific title.

Are any of these available online?

Some of the reports have been scanned. Try the Hathi Trust search first - to download the entire PDF of a report you'll need to authenticate using your ACE account. 

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**