Data Discovery: Resources for Finding Data

Information about museums and museum related organizations in the 50 states and the District of
Columbia.

NADAC is one of several topical archives hosted by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the largest social science data archive in the world and part of the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research. NADAC is owned by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA). Because of NEA's commitment, users obtain data from NADAC at no charge.

ARDA is the premiere archive repository of research data on religion in the United States and abroad. For example, popular datasets include the US Religion Census, World Religion Dataset, and Spiritual Life Study of Chinese Residents.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. These surveys are focused on religion and public life. See Religion & Public Life Topics (http://www.pewforum.org/topics/).

Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 5.1 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections

Research dataset contains 159,776 records, representing all of the works that have been accessioned into MoMA’s collection and cataloged in our database. It includes basic metadata for each work, including title, artist, date made, medium, dimensions, and date acquired by the Museum.

The Digital Art History Directory (DAHD) is an open-access publication containing a database of digital art history projects and information on data sources, best practices in Digital Art History project construction, preservation, and web archiving.

Arts and cultural data from data.gov

Explore and download the Museum’s research and collections data.

Open-source, scholarly editions of historical texts, accessibly designed for students. Editions are offered to the public at no cost by a team of CUNY students and faculty.

A continuously updated collection of academic peer-reviewed books from over 50 publishers.

Offer reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts.

Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks from books in the public domain: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.

Provide a list of publicly accessible corpora on their website, including a corpus of 1,245 American novels published before 1923, and more can be accessed with permission.

JSTOR has digital tools that allow you to do various analyses (word frequencies, n-grams) and visualizations on JSTOR content, including scholarly journal literature and one set of primary resources (19th century British pamphlets).