LibGuides: Civil and Environmental Engineering and Construction: Finding Data & Statistics

Dataset News

US Dept. of Transportation - Vehicle Inventory and Use Survey
After nearly two decades, the Vehicle Inventory and Use Survey has returned. The 2021 survey data were posted in September 2023. Compiled by the USDOT's Bureau of Transportation Statistics, these data describe the physical and operational characteristics of the trucks on US roadways.

These links contain data and statistics about Engineers, Engineering Education, and Engineering Practice.

These links contain information about your potential clients, and the humans who will benefit from or use the products of your engineering practice.

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources. The platform’s powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. For more information on specific datasets and how to use Data-Planet, visit the Data-Planet LibGuide
SAGE Local & State Stats
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Local & State Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet

ASM Handbooks
Reference books about metals and other engineering materials, with information about properties, structure, and how the materials are made. Includes additive manufacturing techniques, including 3-D printing.

Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A research platform dedicated to information on materials, their properties, and uses.

MatWeb: Material Property Data
A public database of materials data sheets contributed by material supplier companies.

AccessEngineering handbooks on material properties
The AccessEngineering database includes searchable full text of many handbooks and manuals that include materials property data. Use the Subject button to browse items in the subject Materials Engineering.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Access Engineering database includes a Materials Property data visualization tool for several materials and properties: http://accessengineeringlibrary.com/datavis/material-properties#/
Instructors can also access Schaum's Outlines and curriculum materials to support course and assignment design.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference work containing tables of information on chemical properties, constants, conversion factors, and other chemistry- and physics-related topics.
Alternate name: Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to more than 177,000 known inorganic chemical crystal structures, synthesis data, and related literature. Searchable by chemical name, mineral name, and chemical formula and other characteristics, as well as article title or author.

Materials Handbook by John A. Vaccari
Call Number: online ebook
ISBN: 9780071360760
Publication Date: 2002-07-09

Data and Statistics
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Nov 29, 2023 262 views this year
Data Management Resources for UNLV
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Feb 12, 2024 312 views this year
Data Services
by Patrick Griffis Business Librarian Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 11 views this year
Data Visualization
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 582 views this year
Getting Started with ArcGIS Online
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Jan 22, 2024 52 views this year
Getting Started with ArcGIS StoryMaps
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 1259 views this year
Getting Started with Data Cleaning and OpenRefine
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 1465 views this year
Getting Started with Venngage (Infographics)
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 125 views this year
GIS
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 1968 views this year
Infographics
by David Ramos-Candelas Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 530 views this year
Introduction to Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 110 views this year
Non-Numeric (Qualitative) Data
by Xan Goodman, SON, IHS, SPH, SDM Health Sciences Librarian Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 55 views this year
Numeric (Quantitative) Data
by Patrick Griffis Business Librarian Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 735 views this year

DesignSafe-CI Data Depot - A Natural Hazards Engineering Research Infrastructure
Search public or published datasets related to natural hazards. Register with a user account to use simulation tools and upload your own datasets.
more...less...
User guides are found here: https://www.designsafe-ci.org/rw/user-guides/
US Department of Defense Data Resources
This library guide provides links to DOD information resources and unclassified government report repositories that are open to the public.