Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
A WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, AND PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER - The newest official release of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition includes three different formats -- spiral and tabbed, paperback, and hardcover, all of which are full-color. It is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
The Chicago Manual of Style by
The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters. With the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice and a wealth of industry expertise from both Chicago's staff and an advisory board of publishing professionals, The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, is an invaluable resource in this rapidly changing world. If you work with words--no matter what the delivery medium--this is the one reference you simply must have.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by
Widely adopted by universities, colleges, and secondary schools, the MLA Handbook is the guide millions of writers have relied on for over half a century. The seventh edition, taken out of print by the MLA in spring 2016 upon publication of the eighth edition, provides the MLA's previous recommendations on documentation style for use in student writing. Please note that copies of the seventh edition of the MLA Handbook include a code for accessing an accompanying Web site. The Web site is no longer available.
Scientific Style and Format by
Scientific Style and Format is the most recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields. The seventh edition of this useful resource has been fully updated and expanded to reflect changes in recommendations from authoritative international bodies. New chapters cover the responsibilities of authors, editors, and peer reviewers in scientific publication and discuss copyright requirements and practices. The chapters on books and journals provide advice pertinent to both electronic and print publication, and authoritative online resources are listed where available. Both American and British styles are covered. Everyone involved in scientific publishing should have the seventh edition of Scientific Style and Format on hand.
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
For close to sixty years Kate L. Turabian's Manual for Writers has offered comprehensive and detailed guidance to authors of research papers—term papers, theses, and dissertations. Now the editors of The Chicago Manual of Style have revised Turabian's Manual to bring the details of style into conformity with the fourteenth edition of The Chicago Manual. This new edition of Turabian also reflects the way students work today, taking into account the role of personal computers in the preparation and presentation of their papers. The familiar organization of this popular book remains largely unchanged. Chapter 1 describes the parts of a long formal paper. Chapters 2-5 introduce the mechanics of writing style, from abbreviations to quotations. Chapters 6 and 7 show how to prepare and refer to tables and illustrations. The section on documentation, chapters 8-12, describes two of the most commonly used systems of citation; these chapters provide many examples including guidance on how to cite electronic documents. Chapter 13, on manuscript preparation, shows how to take advantage of word processing software to present the elements of a paper clearly and effectively. Chapter 14 offers more than two dozen sample pages illustrating ways of formatting some of the complex features found in many research papers. Authoritative, comprehensive, easy to use, and filled with good sense, this new edition will be the standard for yet another generation of students and their teachers. Kate Turabian (1893-1987) was dissertation secretary at the University of Chicago from 1930 to 1958. This manual and her Student's Guide for Writing College Papers made her name so well known that she has become "part of the folklore of American higher education" (Quill and Scroll).
When writing for a target journal, conference, or publishing house, find out what their style guidelines are for content, format, and how to cite. For instance, see these examples:
IEEE: https://www.ieee.org/publications_standards/publications/pubs_submit_manuscript.html
TRB: http://www.trb.org/annualmeeting/ampaperauthorresource.aspx
ASCE: http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784479018
Consider using a citation management tool to organize your sources and generate draft in-text citations and works cited/ bibliography lists for your papers. See the information at the bottom of this page for several citation management tools.
Consider using a citation management tool to organize your sources and generate draft in-text citations and works cited/ bibliography lists for your papers. See the information at the bottom of this page for several citation management tools.
If you would like help applying the style format requirements, please don't hesitate to ask the libraries for assistance. We can recommend online resources and tools, style guide books, and help to get you started on your assignment citations. http://ask.library.unlv.edu/
Check the assignment description and course syllabus for what style your instructor requires you to use. If you don't find the information, ask.
If you would like help applying the style format requirements, please don't hesitate to ask the libraries for assistance. We can recommend online resources and tools, style guide books, and help to get you started on your assignment citations. http://ask.library.unlv.edu/
Consider using a citation management tool to organize your sources and generate draft in-text citations and works cited/ bibliography lists for your papers. See the information at the bottom of this page for several citation management tools.
This link opens in a new windowA bibliography manager that saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This link opens in a new windowBibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.