LibGuides: Sports Research and Innovation Initiative: Sports Performance

Sports Performance

The UNLV SRII describes sports performance as "Athletes and teams are always looking for that edge that is going to catapult them over the competition. Due to this, sports performance encompasses many different areas of research and innovation. Some of the main areas of research are the biomechanics involved in sport, gender-based performance training and data, injury prevention and rehab, different physiological aspects of sport and performance, and wearable technology. While this is an extensive list, this by no means encompasses all of the different sports performance-based research endeavors that are currently in the works."

Recommended Resources

This list of recommended resources is intended to assist you with research related to sports performance.

AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AccessPhysiotherapy is an online collection of physical therapy and internal medicine titles, interactive imaging content, curricular management tracking tools and tests, more than 80 videos, neurology lectures and image banks.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1978-
Abstracts on social gerontology. Also includes health care, public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), this database includes citations with abstracts drawn from the literature in social gerontology -- the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. Health care, public policy, employment and consumer issues are particularly well-covered.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Index to agriculture literature with coverage of animal and plant science, nutrition, farming, and earth science.
Update frequency: daily
Indexes current acquisitions of the National Agricultural Library, including books, serials, pamphlets, government documents, research reports, FAO and USDA publications,conference proceedings, and translations, patents, audiovisuals and technical reports. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture (USDA) and distributed by the National Technical Information Service of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
F.A. Davis Physical Therapy Collection is a reference collection of full-text and fully-searchable physical therapy titles with over 400 videos on physical examination, evaluation, intervention, and rehabilitation.
Medline via OVID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 23 million article citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with company profiles and SWOT analyses.
The database also includes company profiles of the world’s 10,000 largest companies providing SWOT analysis for many companies.

Streaming Media Resources

The UNLV University Libraries subscribes to a wide range of streaming media sources that may aid you in your research related to sports performance. These resources listed below are intended to assist you with your research.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
HSTalks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection from Henry Stewart Talks (HS Talks) provides access to over 2,000 specially prepared, animated, seminar-style, online lectures narrated by leading experts. New lectures are added every month and all contents are regularly reviewed and updated.

Nutrition Resources

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Index to agriculture literature with coverage of animal and plant science, nutrition, farming, and earth science.
Update frequency: daily
Indexes current acquisitions of the National Agricultural Library, including books, serials, pamphlets, government documents, research reports, FAO and USDA publications,conference proceedings, and translations, patents, audiovisuals and technical reports. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture (USDA) and distributed by the National Technical Information Service of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.

General Reference Sources

These general reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries and other general resources that may aid in answering broad questions about sports performance.

Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, quotations, thesauri, and bilingual dictionaries.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.

Sports Research and Innovation Initiative

Sports Performance

Recommended Resources

Streaming Media Resources

Nutrition Resources

General Reference Sources

Locations

Contact