SRII describes brain as "Making sure that athletes’ brains are safe during play and remain healthy throughout their lives is crucial to look into. Research and innovation in this field is far reaching, but some of the topics include brain injuries, long term effects of different sports on the brain, and different types of equipment for different sports."
Image source credit: www.amenclinics.com
Good for: Reliable, evidence-based medical information available at the point of care.
Contains: Clinical overviews, medical books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts.
Good for: Researching medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Contains: Index of scholarly articles.
Good for: Finding medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences articles.
Contains: Indexed citations and abstracts to journal articles.
Good for: Researching peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1960-present.
Good for: Researching a wide range of topics in science, social science, arts, and humanities.
Contains: Citations to scholarly journal articles and conference papers.
Dates covered: 1900-present.
Image source: Cleveland Clinic
Additional resources to support learning about brain health are available online.
Read more about the Cleveland Clinic and their 6 pillars of brain health. While brain health is an element of sports performance and sport health. The Cleveland Clinic offers 6 pillars of how one may maintain a healthy brain.
Las Vegas Cleveland Clinic offers a brain injury clinic for professional athletes.
Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health offers treatment and support for brain health.
The UNLV University Libraries subscribes to a wide range of streaming media sources that may aid you in your research related to brain health. These resources listed below are intended to assist you with your research.
Good for: Learning about various subjects through educational videos.
Contains: Documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, and other videos spanning a wide range of subject areas.
