LibGuides: Sports Research and Innovation Initiative: Sport &amp; Health

Sport and Health

The SRII describes sport and health as "Research in the area of health and it’s connection to sport is essential to advance our understanding of human potential and well-being. Broad areas of research include sport participations impact on chronic disease prevention and improved mental health and well-being; sport participation as a tool for improving health and promoting other healthy behaviors; the use of sport in social marketing to change behavior for the good of individual and community health."

Recommended Resources

This list of recommended resources is intended to assist you with research related to sports and health. These journal article databases cover a broad range of interdisciplinary topics related to sports and health. For assistance with delving deeper into these resources ask a librarian for assistance.

Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles about complementary and alternative medicine.
Update frequency: quarterly
Alt Health Watch offers abstracts or full text of nearly 50,000 articles from over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters about complementary and alternative medicine. Covers such areas of alternative medicine as acupuncture, chiropractic, aromatherapy, naturopathy, homeopathy, osteopathy, and numerous cross-cultural therapies.
Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Embase is an index to scholarly articles in medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 200 full text journals consisting of the Emerald Management 175 Collection and the Emerald Engineering Collection .
Subjects covered are management, marketing, human resources, production & economics, operations, library & information services, information management, training & education, and engineering.
Medline via OVID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 23 million article citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

Streaming Media Resources

The UNLV University Libraries subscribes to a wide range of streaming media sources that may aid you in your research related to sport and health. These resources listed below are intended to assist you with your research.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
HSTalks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection from Henry Stewart Talks (HS Talks) provides access to over 2,000 specially prepared, animated, seminar-style, online lectures narrated by leading experts. New lectures are added every month and all contents are regularly reviewed and updated.

Call Number Ranges

At UNLV Libraries, items are cataloged and shelved using Library of Congress classification. Here are the call number ranges for subject areas in sport and health. Use these call numbers to locate books in specific subject areas.

GV	201-555	Physical education and training
GV	557-1198.995	Sports of various types
GV	711	Coaching
R	855-855.5	Medical technology
R	856-859.7	Biomedical engineering. Electronics. Instrumentation. Computer applications to medicine.
R	864-920	Medical records. Medical physics. Medical radiology. Nuclear medicine
RC	71-78.7	Examination. Diagnosis including radiography.
RC	620-627	Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases.
RC	1200-1245	Sports medicine
RD	792-811	Physical rehabilitation
RJ	206-235	Nutrition and feeding of children and adolescents.
RM	182-190	Other therapeutic procedures, including acupuncture.
RM	214-258	Diet therapy. Dietary cookbooks.
RM	259	Vitamin therapy.
RM	695-893	Physical medicine. Physical therapy, including massage, exercise, occupational therapy, radiotherapy.
RM	930-950	Rehabilitation therapy, rehabilitation technology.

Sports Research and Innovation Initiative

Sport and Health

Recommended Resources

Streaming Media Resources

Call Number Ranges

Locations

Contact