It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FAB 341 - Sustainable Food Tourism: Tourism Resources
Resources to support research-based assignments related to tourism attractions that cater to people who travel to specific locations with a primary reason to learn about cuisine unique to the area, in order to gain a real sense of place.
ABI/INFORM CollectionThis link opens in a new window1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly Scope: International Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Current Geographical PublicationsThis link opens in a new windowIndex of books, periodical articles, pamphlets, government documents, maps and atlases in the American Geographical Society Collection of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
Contains tables of contents of books, periodical articles, pamphlets, government documents, maps and atlases in the American Geographical Society Collection of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. The four sections in each issue are: Topical, Regional, Maps, and Selected Books and Monographs.
Emerald LibraryThis link opens in a new windowIncludes over 200 full text journals consisting of the Emerald Management 175 Collection and the Emerald Engineering Collection .
Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
Hospitality & Tourism CompleteThis link opens in a new window1960-
Full text of articles about hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more
Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of TourismThis link opens in a new window1850-1980
Archival material from the travel agency Thomas Cook, a pioneer of package tourism. Includes periodicals such as the Excursionist magazine, personal accounts from travelers on early Cook’s tours, photographs, advertising brochures, guidebooks, posters and ephemeral items.
ScienceDirect JournalsThis link opens in a new windowNearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology with deep backfiles for more than 1600 journals.
SpringerLink is divided into the fields of life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics. The SpringerLink service contains approximately 1900 scholarly journals.
Books and E-Books
Search library holdings for print and online books about tourism . . .
Use the Browse by Subject search
Helpful search terms
Academic Video OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online provides access to almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on DemandThis link opens in a new windowContains over 14,000 full length educational videos from Films Media Group covering humanities & social sciences, science, business & economics, health, archival films & newsreels.
KanopyThis link opens in a new windowThis streaming video service provides access to thousands of titles in such areas of the arts, humanities, business, sciences, media/communications, education and more.
Source producers include Media Education Foundation, BBC, PBS, Kino Lorber, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, among others.
Reports and Internet Sources
Global Data Intelligence CenterThis link opens in a new windowIn order to access the content, click on the "Click Here" link next to the "If you have IP Access" to enter the database.
This database provides access to the Travel & Tourism Global Data Intelligence Center and contains market data and insights into the global travel and tourism market with travel and tourism market data and analysis, consumer surveys, along with industry information on key companies, markets, projects, and financial deals.
Mintel Market Research DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowInternational reports on consumer products and industries. All users who register and create a profile must use their university email address.
Mintel offers hundreds of market research reports covering the U.S. and International consumer marketplaces. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. The database covers cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.
PassportThis link opens in a new window5 years of forecasts 15 years of historic data
Market research reports with demographic and statistical information on consumer lifestyles, consumer products, countries, companies and industries.
This integrated online information system covers over 350 markets in 207 countries. Information is accessible in four modules: statistics (quantitative data and forecasts on consumer lifestyles, retailing, countries, consumer markets), analysis (in-depth market analysis report format), companies (profiles of leading FMCG companies along with financial data, market share and brand information) and sources (lists data providers by specific subject area.) Statistical data goes back as far as 1977 (but most series start in 1990) and is forecast out to 2015. Reports generally stay in the database for 5 years.
A wide range of market research handbooks that focus on various consumer-related markets (casinos, travel, entertainment, sports, etc.). Each report includes market forecasts, sector trends, and statistics. In addition to the in-depth analyses the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.