LibGuides: Architecture: Articles & Databases

Other Databases

Off-campus access to these resources requires UNLV students, faculty and staff to enter a valid library barcode number (located on the back of your RebelCard) or use their ACE account login.

All Indexes and Databases
This link takes you to a comprehensive list of all databases available through the UNLV Libraries. Use the drop-down menu above to narrow by subject.

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Good for: Researching architecture articles.
Contains: Index of architecture articles.
Art Full Text
Good for: Researching art publications.
Contains: Index with selected full text.
Dates covered: 1997-present.
Oxford Art Online
Good for: Researching art.
Contains: Art encyclopedia.
Art and Architecture Thesaurus
Good for: Finding terms and concepts used to describe art and architecture.
Contains: Thesaurus with over 131,000 terms.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Good for: Finding abstracts and citations for design and applied arts.
Contains: Abstracts and citations for articles, news items, and reviews.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Literature Index
Good for: Finding information on gardening, landscape, and horticulture.
Contains: Citations and abstracts of journal articles.
Dates covered: 1973-present.
Building Green
Good for: Researching sustainable building practices.
Contains: Articles, reviews, product information, and news.

This resource integrates product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database, and the Environmental Building News.
American Planning Association Planning Advisory Service Reports Index
Good for: Finding information on urban planning topics.
Contains: Subject index to APA reports.
Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984
Good for: Finding citations on art, architecture, and related fields.
Contains: Citations to articles and books.
Dates covered: 1929-1984.
CUMINCAD
Good for: Researching computer aided architectural design.
Contains: Citations and abstracts of articles.

To gain access, UNLV users create a username/password by clicking New User and filling out the form.
GreenFILE
Good for: Researching the impact of humans on the environment.
Contains: Coverage from government, general, and scholarly publications.

It contains over 300,000 records and over 200 cited references from the agriculture, education, law, health and technology fields.
National Register of Historic Places
Good for: Finding information about historic places in the United States.
Contains: Entries on historic places listing building name, location, date listed, and National Register number.

Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
JSTOR
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more. Also includes ARTSTOR collections from museums and collections of historical primary sources from libraries and cultural heritage organizations.
Project MUSE
Good for: Researching humanities and social sciences topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals and e-books.
Dates covered: 1995-present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Good for: Identifying how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to discover the most influential scholarship on a topic.
Contains: Bibliographic information and cited references.
Dates covered: 1975-one week ago.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Good for: Finding journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1802-1995.
Credo General Reference
Good for: Background information to start your research.
Contains: Dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, thesauri, and bilingual dictionaries.
Google Scholar
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions

Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles.

Nexis Uni
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.

The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
America's Historical Newspapers
Good for: Accounts of life, culture and historical events reported in newspapers from every U.S. state.
Contains: Historical newspapers.
Dates covered: 1690-1923.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1849-2015.
Chicago Tribune
Good for: Researching news and events in Chicago.
Contains: Full text of the Chicago Tribune.
Dates covered: 1985-present.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1881-2016.
Los Angeles Times, 1996 - current
Good for: Finding news articles from the Los Angeles Times.
Contains: Articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about national and international news and events.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1851-2021.
Newspaper Source Plus
Good for: Finding regional news articles and broadcast television transcripts.
Contains: Regional newspapers and transcripts.

Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.
U.S. Newsstream Collection
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
Good for: Finding articles from The Times (London).
Contains: The Times newspaper.
Dates covered: 1785-2019.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank)
Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Contains: Article text (no images).
Dates covered: 1996-present.

ARTstor
Good for: Finding and using digital images for research and teaching.
Contains: Art digital images and related data.
Getty Images
Good for: Finding images from the J. Paul Getty museum.
Contains: Images.

Library of Congress: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey
The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes, including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Good for: Finding images held by the Library of Congress.
Contains: Images.
National Gallery of Art images
Good for: Finding images from the National Gallery of Art.
Contains: Images.

American Library Association's Digital Images Collections Guide
A curated bibliography of quality digital image collections spanning approximately 85 subjects, including around 950 digital collections.
The Medieval Kingdom of Sicily Image Database
A Visual Resource of Historical Sites c. 1100 - c. 1450. This database is a collection of historic images that represents the medieval monuments and cities of the Kingdom of Sicily collected from museums, libraries, archives and publications.

Architecture

Other Databases

Databases

Locations

Contact