Basic & Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to evaluate and apply statistics in medicine, medical research, and all health-related fields A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research. The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed. Features: * Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods * Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues * Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package * Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI * Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model * Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout
Clinical and Translational Science by
Clinical and Translational Science: Principles of Human Research, Second Edition, is the most authoritative and timely resource for the broad range of investigators taking on the challenge of clinical and translational science, a field that is devoted to investigating human health and disease, interventions, and outcomes for the purposes of developing new treatment approaches, devices, and modalities to improve health. This updated second edition has been prepared with an international perspective, beginning with fundamental principles, experimental design, epidemiology, traditional and new biostatistical approaches, and investigative tools. It presents complete instruction and guidance from fundamental principles, approaches, and infrastructure, especially for human genetics and genomics, human pharmacology, research in special populations, the societal context of human research, and the future of human research. The book moves on to discuss legal, social, and ethical issues, and concludes with a discussion of future prospects, providing readers with a comprehensive view of this rapidly developing area of science.
Essential Concepts in Clinical Research by
This practical guide speaks to two audiences: those who read and those who conduct research. Clinicians are medical detectives by training. For each patient, they assemble clinical clues to establish causes of signs and symptoms. The task involves both clinical acumen and knowledge of medical research. This book helps guide clinicians through this detective work, by enabling them to make sense of research and to review medical literature critically. It will also be invaluable to researchers who conduct clinical research, particularly randomized controlled trials. Building on previously published, peer-reviewed articles from The Lancet, this handbook is essential for busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods. Written by leaders in the field of clinical research who have published extensively with authorship of hundreds of articles in medical journals. The authorship includes one of the three authors of the CONSORT guidelines for the reporting of randomized controlled trials. The book presents the essential concepts to a wide array of topics including randomized control trials, descriptive studies, cohort studies, case-control studies, bias, and screening tests. The book utilises a readable and humorous prose style, lightening what can be a difficult area for clinical readers. Derived from decades of teaching clinical research in seminar settings the book will empower clinicians to make sense of, and critically appraise, current medical research and will enable researchers to enrich the quality of their work. For this Second Edition, the authors have revised and updated the original 16 chapters and added six new chapters. For busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods, this book provides helpful tools to derive satisfaction - indeed, fun - from clinical science.
Getting Your Research Paper Published by
A concise, user-friendly roadmap to successfully publishing surgical research papers Written from the perspective of experienced surgeons and veteran researchers, this succinct, how-to manual provides readers with everything they need to prepare, publish, and present a scientific research paper. The expert authors address every aspect of the publication process, including quality and ethics in academic writing, the rules of authorship, grammar, formatting, style, and much more. Each consistently organized chapter begins with a brief summary and introduction and ends with up-to-date references and carefully selected suggestions for further reading. Features: Numerous hints and tips appear throughout the text, such as advice on writing abstracts, and information on how to get one's paper accepted at an international meeting Valuable examples of good and bad introductions, recommendations for using statistical data, and common pitfalls in the reporting of surgical results Easy-to-reference text boxes present Key Concepts, Jargon Simplified, and Reality Checks Detailed diagrams help readers visualize complex points This must-have reference is essential reading for every surgeon, surgical resident and clinical researcher who wants to contribute to the scientific community through publication in academic journals. Getting Your Research Paper Published: A Surgical Perspective is the ideal companion to Clinical Research for Surgeons by the same authors.
How NOT to Write a Medical Paper by
It is witty from the opening paragraph....'Final Advice' is just two pages but, alone, justifies the price of the book. -- The Journal of Laryngology & Otology ...this booklet would be good to circulate around the housestaff (residents and fellows). -- American Journal of Neuroradiology Writing a medical paper, or any other scientific text, is full of pitfalls which make it difficult to get it accepted for publication. This unique book gives practical advice on how one can circumvent these dangers. It is richly filled with examples, predominantly negative ones. which exhibit how one should not write a medical paper. This book highlights the fallibilities that manuscripts are often susceptible to, and hence will help writers avoid committing those mistakes. Special Features: Abundant information about a complex subject condensed in a small format Numerous examples from bad manuscripts to drive home concepts Practical advice on mistakes to be avoided Explanation of the fate of a manuscript after its submission and, eventually, acceptance, to help writers understand expectations and responses Lucid language, and enjoyable read This book will be of value to anyone with an interest in scientific publishing. Junior medical scientists (independent of specialty), experienced scientists who wish to venture as authors, reviewers, and even editorial personnel can refer to the book time and again.
Studying a Study Testing a Test by
This complete package of textbook, interactive exercises, and real research articles is designed for use alongside Journal Clubs conducted in medical, nursing, and other health professions programs, as well as in evidence-based medicine courses. It employs the authors' proven, step-by-step framework, and strengthens students' and residents' ability to recognize a meaningful study, identify potential study flaws, and apply solid evidence in clinical decision making. Class tested by students in leading medical schools, Studying a Study and Testing a Test, Seventh Edition, features a suite of resources ideal for traditional learning, flipped-classroom approaches, and distance learning: Interactive online Journal Club review, available on thePoint, reinforces the fundamentals of critiquing research using simulated studies and flaw-catching exercises, which help you prepare for success on Step 2, Step 3, and other certifying examinations. M.A.A.R.I.E. framework provides a questions-to-ask approach for critical review of clinical research from observational and randomized studies to decision analyses and cost-effectiveness analyses. Reading the Research, available on thePoint, provides full-length articles and abstracts that prompt critical reading and interactive discussions of case-control studies, cohort studies, and randomized controlled trials. New flaw-catching exercises included at the end of each unit provide additional practice using the M.A.A.R.I.E. approach to recognize study flaws. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more.
Understanding Clinical Research by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A complete guide to understanding and applying clinical research results Ideal for both researchers and healthcare providers Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyze study results. This timely resource covers all aspects of clinical trials--from study design and statistics to regulatory oversight--and it delivers a detailed yet streamlined overview of must-know research topics. The text features an accessible three-part organization that traces the evolution of clinical research and explains the bedrock principles and unique challenges of clinical experimentation and observational research. Reinforcing this content are real-life case examples--drawn from the authors' broad experience--that put chapter concepts into action and contribute to a working knowledge of integral research techniques. FEATURES: The most definitive guide to promoting excellence in clinical research, designed to empower healthcare providers to assess a study's strengths and weaknesseswith confidence and apply this knowledge to optimize patient outcomes In-depth coverage of fundamental research methods and protocols from preeminent authorities provides readers with an instructive primer and a springboard for ongoing clinical research education Clear, comprehensive three-part organization: Section One: Evolution of Clinical Research offers a succinct history of clinical trials, drug regulations, and the role of the FDA while covering theimpact of information technology and academic research organizations Section Two: Principles of Clinical Experimentation takes you through the typical phases of clinical trials in the development of medical products,from initial human subject research to postapproval surveillance studies Section Three: Observational Research highlights the underlying principles, pitfalls, and methods for case-control studies, cohort studies, registries, and subgroup analyses within randomized trials
Advanced Concepts in Surgical Research by
A practical, all-inclusive roadmap to understanding and executing advanced surgical research Advanced Concepts in Surgical Research is a practical, reader-friendly guide to planning, conducting, and evaluating solid, evidence-based surgical research that leads to high-quality results. Geared to the investigator who has already mastered basic principles, this book focuses on more advanced topics such as randomized controlled trials, survey design, observational studies, meta analyses, statistical concepts, reporting of data, and much more. Special Features: Includes tips and insights from experienced surgical researchers on how to conduct an effective clinical study and avoid pitfalls Supplies hard-to-find information on current topics such as randomization systems and technology and publication bias Provides standardized, easy-to-reference text boxes with highlighted key concepts, on-the-spot definitions of terminology in Jargon Simplified sections, and real-world case examples from the literature Presents nearly 60 illustrations and tables to help in visualizing key concepts Filled with proven research methodologies, clinical data, examples, and strategies that can be applied across a wide range of disciplines, Advanced Concepts in Surgical Research illuminates the challenges and solutions of modern day surgical research. It is essential for any clinician undertaking a well-defined, systematic, clinically relevant, and ultimately successful surgical research study.
Clinical Research for Surgeons by
Clinical Research for Surgeons is a practical guide for understanding, planning, conducting, and evaluating surgical research. It covers the principles of evidence-based surgery and applies these principles to the design of suitable research studies. The reader will come to fully understand important concepts such as case-control study, prospective cohort study, randomized trial, and reliability study. The book provides valuable discussions of the critical appraisal of published clinical studies, allowing the reader to learn how to evaluate the quality of such studies with respect to measuring outcomes and to make effective use of all types of evidence in patient care. Highlights: Insights from experienced surgeons and veteran researchers Easy-to-reference text boxes with Key Concepts, Jargon Simplified, and Examples from the Literature Coverage of both open and minimally-invasive surgical procedures 50 illustrations demonstrating key points This book is a valuable reference for clinicians and residents in a range of disciplines, including general surgery, orthopedic surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, urology, neurosurgery, otolaryngology-head and neck surgery, interventional radiology, cardiac surgery.
This link opens in a new windowDimensions, developed by Digital Science, is an online database for searching and retrieving Open Access research papers. Open Access pdfs can be retrieved, but Datasets, Grants, Patents, Clinical Trials, and Policy Documents are not available.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window