This guide provides instructions on how to use mobile health apps brought to you by the School of Medicine Library. It is recommended to set up personal accounts on the campus network either by being onsite or authenticating through the library's website with your ACE username and password and then download the appropriate mobile health app. Please check each resource for re-authentication requirements.
The following process will provide access to most of the apps, with app specific instructions below.
NOTE: When setting up an account, you will need to use UNLV.EDU or UNLV.NEVADA.EDU email domain. Non-UNLV email addresses cannot authenticate with our subscription.
Please email us at medlib@unlv.edu if you need assistance.
Less clicks! Whether on or off campus, quickly locate our library resources from the database list below to create a personal account before logging into their mobile apps.
Good for: Accessing medical reference texts and resources.
Contains: Key medical reference texts, multimedia library, case files, diagnostic tools, interactive self-assessment.
Good for: Reliable, evidence-based medical information available at the point of care.
Contains: Clinical overviews, medical books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts.
Good for: Accessing medical information at the point of care.
Contains: Customizable reference tool with medical information.
Good for: Accessing medical information.
Contains: Expert, peer-reviewed, physician-written health information.
Good for: Identifying and classifying visible patient symptoms.
Contains: High-quality images.
What is the AccessMedicine mobile app?
The AccessMedicine mobile app allows users to access ebook resources and features from AccessMedicine on the go including Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Differential Diagnosis Tool and Diagnostic Tests, from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests.
To maintain access, you must sign in to AccessMedicine every 90 days through the School of Medicine Library website, either on-site or through logging-in remotely using your UNLV ACE Account.
For more support, visit the McGraw-Hill Medical Support page.
What is the ClinicalKey mobile app?
The ClinicalKey mobile app allows users to access ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education, calculators while on the go. You can access ClinicalKey on your mobile device using their mobile-optimized website which includes all ClinicalKey content or their mobile app. For the website, we recommend selecting ClinicalKey from the Quick Links menu of the School of Medicine Library website.
Remote Access Instructions:
How do I activate remote access with my organizational email address?
What is The Medical Letter mobile app?
The Medical Letter mobile app allows users to access the library's subscription and take CME/CE anytime and anywhere. App features include: Current Issue and Archives, Advance Release Articles, Online Only Articles and Charts, Search and Save and CME.
What is uCentral by Unbound Medicine?
uCentral by Unbound Medicine offers a collection of reference text and tools that can be used at the point of care (or bedside) including the John Hopkins ABX Guide, Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics, Mosby's Drug Reference, clinical calculators, note-taking feature, and searching and locating journal articles.
How to download on campus:
How to download off campus:
1. Visit the School of Medicine Library website.
2. Select the Medical Databases link under the Quick Links menu.
3. Search for uCentral by Unbound Medicine from the list and enter your ACE username and password.
4. Create a personal account and then download the mobile app from your preferred app store.
There may be a bit of a wait time to allow for the app to download the latest updates.
| Reference Text | Reference Tools |
|---|---|
| 5-Minute Emergency Consult | Clinical Calculators |
| Gynecology and Obstetrics - Hopkins Manual | Conversion Calculators |
| John Hopkins ABX Guide | Dosage Calculators |
| John Hopkins Diabetes Guide | IV Calculators |
| John Hopkins HIV Guide | Message Center - Hopkins Guides |
| John Hopkins Psychiatry Guide | Notes |
| Menopause Guide | PRIME PubMed Search |
| Mosby's Drug Reference | Prime ForYou* (lets you discover relevant journal articles) |
| Pocket ICU | Prime Journals* (lets you follow medical journals) |
| Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics | *Connects to UNLV EZProxy for full-text access |
What is the UpToDate mobile app?
The UpToDate mobile app is a point-of-care reference tool that allows users to review current, accurate, and relevant health information. The mobile app includes a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.
You must verify your affiliation with UNLV by logging into UpToDate via a web browser at least once every 90 days (Please visit the School of Medicine Library website)
For more support, visit http://www.uptodate.com/home/uptodate-mobile-access.
What is the VisualDx mobile app?
The VisualDx mobile app allows users to use a point-of-care diagnostic tool that provides high-quality images to help identify and classify visible patient symptoms on the skin. This resource also toggles between different skin shades for more improved accuracy in diagnosis.
➡️ NEW! VisualDX has a new home screen experience - learn more here.
Image Attributions: This guide uses icons from:
