LibGuides: Mobile Health Apps: Mobile Health App Resources

How to Use this Guide

A yellow gear in the background with a wrench and screw in the foreground This guide provides instructions on how to use mobile health apps brought to you by the School of Medicine Library. It is recommended to set up personal accounts on the campus network either by being onsite or authenticating through the library's website with your ACE username and password and then download the appropriate mobile health app. Please check each resource for re-authentication requirements.

The following process will provide access to most of the apps, with app specific instructions below.

Typically, you will need to first create a personal account using the desktop version of the resource
Follow the directions given by either the app store of your choice OR the resource website itself
Renew your access periodically by either:
1. Logging into your personal account using the web browser while on campus or remotely by logging-in with your UNLV ACE account.
2. Using the app while connected to the UNLV Wireless network and the KSOM BYOD Wireless network.

Please email us at medlib@unlv.edu if you need assistance.

Quick Links for Library Resources with Mobile Health Apps:

Less clicks! Whether on or off campus, quickly locate our library resources from the database list below to create a personal account before logging into their mobile apps.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online collection of key medical reference texts, an extensive multimedia library, case files, diagnostic tools, interactive self-assessment, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical Key provides full text access to leading medical textbooks, including specialties in internal medicine, orthopedic surgery, neurology and more.
In addition, Clinical Key provides access to nearly one million images, including tables, graphics and illustrations, as well as to full text journals, an evidence-based, point of care tool, guidelines, multimedia and much more.
uCentral by Unbound Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
uCentral is Unbound Medicine’s customizable point of care solution for accessing high quality ready reference medical information at the bedside.
Exclusive titles available in mobile format include: John Hopkins ABX Guide, John Hopkins Diabetes Guide, John Hopkins HIV Guide, John Hopkins Psychiatry Guide, Nephrology Guide of the Massachusetts General Hospital, and more.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate includes expert, peer reviewed, physician written health information.
UpToDate content is reviewed and updated regularly to maintain the currency, accuracy, and relevance of information. It includes: a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is a point-of-care diagnostic tool providing high-quality images to help identify and classify visible patient symptoms.

AccessMedicine

What is the AccessMedicine mobile app?

The AccessMedicine mobile app allows users to access ebook resources and features from AccessMedicine on the go including Quick Medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Differential Diagnosis Tool and Diagnostic Tests, from Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests.

How to download on campus:
1. Go to AccessMedicine on your web browser.
2. Click the Login or Create Free Personal Account button on the top right.
3. Fill-out the registration form. (You should see "School of Medicine" pre-filled next to Institution.)
4. Download the AccessMedicine app from your preferred app store and use new username and password to log in.

How to download off campus:
1. Visit the School of Medicine Library website.
2. Select the Medical Databases link under the Quick Links menu.
3. Search for AccessMedicine from the list and enter your ACE username and password.
4. Create a personal account and then download the mobile app from your preferred app store.

To maintain access, you must sign in to AccessMedicine every 90 days through the School of Medicine Library website, either on-site or through logging-in remotely using your UNLV ACE Account.

For more support, visit the McGraw-Hill Medical Support page.

Browzine

What is the Browzine mobile app?

The Browzine mobile app allows users to access the School of Medicine Library's medical journal collections as well as create personalized book shelves and track and save articles of interest.

How to download on campus:
1. If on campus, to get started selecting this BrowZine Library link from your desktop or laptop computer and then create a personal account by going to either My Bookshelf or My Articles link at the top of the homepage.
2. Then select the Phone icon on the top-right side and follow instructions on how to download the mobile app from your preferred app store.

How to download off-campus access:
1. If off campus, visit the School of Medicine Library website.
2. select Medical Journals from the Quick Links menu.
3. Enter your ACE username and password.
4. Create a personal account by going to either My Bookshelf or My Articles link at the top of the homepage.Then select 5. Then select the Phone icon on the top-right side and follow instructions on how to download the mobile app from your preferred app store.

ClinicalKey

What is the ClinicalKey mobile app?

ClinicalKey mobile app icon The ClinicalKey mobile app allows users to access ebooks, journals, guidelines, patient education, calculators while on the go. You can access ClinicalKey on your mobile device using their mobile-optimized website which includes all ClinicalKey content or their mobile app. For the website, we recommend selecting ClinicalKey from the Quick Links menu of the School of Medicine Library website.

How to download on campus:
1. Visit ClinicalKey
2. At the top right of the ClinicalKey page, click Register to create a personal account
3. Download the ClinicalKey mobile app from your preferred app store.
6. After downloading the app, select the option ‘I use ClinicalKey and know my user name’ and enter your ClinicalKey user name and password to start using the ClinicalKey app.

How to download off campus:
1. Visit the School of Medicine Library website.
2. Select the ClinicalKey link under the Quick Links menu.
3. Enter your ACE username and password.
4. Create a personal account and then download the mobile app from your preferred app store.

Remote Access Instructions:

How do I activate remote access with my organizational email address?

The Medical Letter

What is The Medical Letter mobile app?

The Medical Letter mobile app allows users to access the library's subscription and take CME/CE anytime and anywhere. App features include: Current Issue and Archives, Advance Release Articles, Online Only Articles and Charts, Search and Save and CME.

How to download on campus:
1. Visit https://secure.medicalletter.org/slapp/ from the web browser
2. Create your personal account.
3. Download the mobile app from your preferred app store.
4. Login with your new username and password.

How to download off campus:
1. Visit the School of Medicine Library website
2. Select the Medical Journals link from the Quick Links menu
3. Select the magnifying glass and enter "The medical letter on drugs and therapeutics"
4. Choose the title link from the drop down menu
5. Select the full text link in the record
6. Select the Mobile App link on the journal's home page (left-hand side menu under, "About Us")
7. Create your personal account.
8. Download the mobile app from your preferred app store.
9. Login with your new username and password

uCentral by Unbound Medicine

What is uCentral by Unbound Medicine?

uCentral by Unbound Medicine offers a collection of reference text and tools that can be used at the point of care (or bedside) including the John Hopkins ABX Guide, Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics, Mosby's Drug Reference, clinical calculators, note-taking feature, and searching and locating journal articles.

How to download on campus:

Visit uCentral by Unbound Medicine and create your personal account.
Download the uCentral for Institutions mobile app on your preferred app store.
Sign in with your newly created username and password.

How to download off campus:
1. Visit the School of Medicine Library website.
2. Select the Medical Databases link under the Quick Links menu.
3. Search for uCentral by Unbound Medicine from the list and enter your ACE username and password.
4. Create a personal account and then download the mobile app from your preferred app store.

There may be a bit of a wait time to allow for the app to download the latest updates.

Reference Text	Reference Tools
5-Minute Emergency Consult	Clinical Calculators
Gynecology and Obstetrics - Hopkins Manual	Conversion Calculators
John Hopkins ABX Guide	Dosage Calculators
John Hopkins Diabetes Guide	IV Calculators
John Hopkins HIV Guide	Message Center - Hopkins Guides
John Hopkins Psychiatry Guide	Notes
Menopause Guide	PRIME PubMed Search
Mosby's Drug Reference	Prime ForYou* (lets you discover relevant journal articles)
Pocket ICU	Prime Journals* (lets you follow medical journals)
Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics	*Connects to UNLV EZProxy for full-text access

UpToDate

What is the UpToDate mobile app?

UpToDate mobile app icon. The UpToDate mobile app is a point-of-care reference tool that allows users to review current, accurate, and relevant health information. The mobile app includes a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.

How to download:
1. Visit the School of Medicine Library website and choose "UpToDate" from the Quick Links menu.
2. Click on the Log In/Register button on the upper right corner. Fill in the Register (New User) form and submit registration.
3. From your mobile device, go to your preferred app store and download the UpToDate app.
4. Use the login information you created to access the app from your mobile device.
5. Follow the steps to log into your account.

You must verify your affiliation with UNLV by logging into UpToDate via a web browser at least once every 90 days (Please visit the School of Medicine Library website)

For more support, visit http ://www.uptodate.com/home/uptodate-mobile-access.

VisualDx

What is the VisualDx mobile app?

The VisualDx mobile app allows users to use a point-of-care diagnostic tool that provides high-quality images to help identify and classify visible patient symptoms on the skin. This resource also toggles between different skin shades for more improved accuracy in diagnosis.

How to download on campus:
1. Visit https://www.visualdx.com/visualdx/7/ on your web browser
2. Create a personal account
3. Download the mobile app (see video tutorial links below).

How to download off campus:
1. Visit the School of Medicine Library website.
2. Select the Medical Databases link under the Quick Links menu.
3. Search for VisualDx from the list and enter your ACE username and password.
4. Create a personal account and then download the mobile app (see video tutorial links below).

For iOS devices view these tutorials.
For Android devices view these tutorials.

Guide Acknowledgements

Image Attributions: This guide uses icons from:

Mobile Health Apps