LibGuides: Geoscience: Getting Started

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

Melissa Bowles-Terry

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

melissa.bowles-terry@unlv.edu

702-895-2121

Subjects: Chemistry & Biochemistry, Geoscience, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Science

About this Guide

Welcome Geosciences students! This guide is a starting point for your information needs. Find articles, reports, books, and data.

STARTING POINTS

GeoRef
Good for: Finding scholarly literature in the earth sciences.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1785-present.
GeoScienceWorld
Good for: Researching earth sciences.
Contains: Earth sciences journals.
Dates covered: 2000-present.

Full-text access is available only when searching GeoScienceWorld independently. Searching GeoScienceWorld and GeoRef together does not allow for full-text access.
Google Scholar
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions

Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles.
Web of Science
Good for: Researching a wide range of topics in science, social science, arts, and humanities.
Contains: Citations to scholarly journal articles and conference papers.
Dates covered: 1900-present.

Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

Workshops offered by the University Libraries

The University Libraries offer a wide variety of workshops throughout the year to assist you. Topics range from Use of Citation Management Software, to Dataset Management, to Literature Review Techniques. Click on the link below to view and register for upcoming events.

Upcoming Library Workshops
Open to all campus members, these workshops are for faculty, staff, and students who would like to learn more about library tools, services, and techniques to enhance library research methods.

Geoscience

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

About this Guide

STARTING POINTS

Workshops offered by the University Libraries

Locations

Contact