Science and technology encyclopedia that also includes a collection of science news and student resources.
AccessScience is the electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. It also contains many paper-writing aids, such as science news headlines and a "student center" with study guides and suggestions for essay topics.
A good place to start your research journey begins by browsing the geoscience literature, namely the databases. The following databases, subscribed to by UNLV Libraries, are portals to research articles and geological information in the literature.
1785- Access is limited to 2-4 simultaneous users
Index to scholarly literature in the earth sciences.
Update frequency: Updated bimonthly
It includes books, maps, government publications, theses, dissertations, and conference proceedings. GeoRef's citations number nearly 3 million. Coverage of North American geology goes back to 1785; all other areas go back to 1933.
Index to agriculture literature with coverage of animal and plant science, nutrition, farming, and earth science.
Update frequency: daily
Indexes current acquisitions of the National Agricultural Library, including books, serials, pamphlets, government documents, research reports, FAO and USDA publications,conference proceedings, and translations, patents, audiovisuals and technical reports. Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture (USDA) and distributed by the National Technical Information Service of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce.
Index to literature on Antarctica and cold regions science and technology worldwide.
Update frequency: weekly
Both the Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology and the Antarctic Bibliography are housed within the Cold Regions Bibliography Project. They can be searched separately or combined. This database does not use the Get Text button but instead has a URL link to the appropriate content on the web when possible.
Alternate name: Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology & Antarctic Bibliography
An environmental current events database comprised of three pieces: Greenwire, a daily news service reporting on the latest environmental and energy action; Environment and Energy Daily, published every day Congress is in session, tracking environmental and energy issues in Congress; and Land Letter, a weekly in-depth look at regulation, litigation and legislation surrounding natural resources issues. Also included is an archive of key environmental policy documents, and detailed special reports.
A searchable catalog of paper and digital geologic maps.
Compiled by the USGS, this is a searchable catalog of paper and digital geologic maps. Search by Geologic Theme (General, Magnetics, Volcanoes, etc.), by Geographic Location, and by a number of other variables. Almost the entire collection of USGS geologic maps (in map and book series) has been entered, while information on maps published by States and other entities (Universities, for example) is being added as it becomes available.