Skip to main content

History

Explore resources used by historians

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian's picture
Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

priscilla.finley@unlv.edu
Contact:
Lied Library LLB1187
(702) 570-1338

Special Collections

Publishing

Thinking about grad school?

History Day resources

Recommended Resources

America: History & Life with Full Text

Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada).

History reviews - Oxford Handbooks Online

Scholarly research reviews and historiographical essays published in the Oxford Handbooks series. Use these to get an overview of how historians have approached a topic.

JSTOR

An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago

Social Explorer

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information.

Find a database or journal

Getting Set Up

 

  1. Get a RebelCard at the student union and bring it to the Lied circulation desk to have your library barcode activated so that you can check out books and set up an ILL account.
  2. To access library journal and database subscriptions from off campus, you will need your ACE account. Links from the library web site to subscription-only articles, journals and databases will prompt you to log in with your ACE. 
  3. Set up an interlibrary loan (ILLiad) account so that you can receive articles not owned by the library in PDF form in 1-3 days.  Do this at http://unlv.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html - you create your own username and password for this account. Remember that ILL articles only remain in your account for 30 days, so archive anything you need to keep longer on your computer.
  4. Set up your Google Scholar preferences to direct you to UNLV journal subscriptions so you can get full text access without paying if UNLV subscribes.  Google Scholar library links preferencesNow you will see a UNLV Find Text link in your search results for citations that UNLV can provide online access to.
  5. If you want to save your documents and citation info in one place, pick a system that works for you. UNLV Libraries pays for and supports RefWorks and Mendeley; a free, open source option, Zotero, is preferred by many historians because it can automatically format citations for a wide variety of source types and integrates well with Google Docs. Once you create a free account using any of these services, you can save citations, PDFs and links there and automatically generate bibliographies in Chicago, MLA or any style you choose. 

 

Grants and other funding

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**